We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Ranked #63 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Nice place. Had an issue with the bathroom not being quite clean upon arrival. Great reaction from Morgan at Front Desk, got us changed immediately and validated our parking for the inconvenience. Jim (shuttle bus driver) was also Awesome!! Gave us dining recommendations and took us to a great Italian restaurant. Also gave us options for things to do the following day because of rain. Had a wonderful brunch in the hotel restaurant on Sunday. Great staff!! Super close to the "L" train, about a block. Great for getting into the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There is no excuse for a guestroom bathroom that has not been thoroughly cleaned. This is not indicative of our hotel and I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping manager. On the other hand, we are very lucky to have a superb location and a great staff at the hotel and I am glad it showed throughout your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    336
    110
    31
    22
See reviews for
201
191
72
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was not our favorite. Best thing going for it is the fact it is a 2 minute walk to the L train station which takes you anywhere in Chicago. No where to eat at the hotel except for a Starbucks and an expensive restaurant where we spent $39 for breakfast and that was me getting oatmeal. Wi-fi in the room will cost you $12.95 and if you park a car, it is $24/night. Use the train. Room was freezing and the thermostat was either freezing or too hot. No way to control it properly. Somebody's room service tray stayed in our hall for 2 days by their door. Staff very courteous that we spoke to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredandhappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for writing and bringing your concerns to my attention. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. We understand the need to have access to the Internet during your stay, we do provide options for in room connectivity for a fee, as well as, complimentary internet to all of our guests in the social spaces in our Lobby. For your dining pleasure, our hotel provides a breakfast buffet with many options to choose from or one of our Navigators will be delighted to provide local area discoveries for dining. Hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Washington, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is AMAZING! From the moment I arrived, to the moment I left...this was the best hotel experience I have ever had. Morgan at the front desk was AWESOME! He has such a positive energy. Always so pleasant to every guest, and took care of anything we needed. Rooms were clean, spacious, and the hotels bar and restaurant had delicious food. The service in the restaurant was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate your review and recognition of the excellent service delivered during your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. Morgan is a fundamental part of our team and truly strives to connect with every guest he encounters. Your kind comments will make his day and I look forward to sharing your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Station, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was fine with an excellent breakfast buffet, but the best thing was the manager. I had in a rush left my tablet in the business center just before I checked out. I called that evening from Cleveland, and Morgan M. (one of the managers there) dropped what he was doing, went and found the tablet which was amazingly still there, called me back immediately, kept the tablet secure over the weekend, and had it sent to me at the first opportunity. It was great having such great service in a don't care world. Thanks to Morgan and Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pioneer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suties Hotel. Morgan is fantastic, we are very fortunate to have him on our team. We’ll be sure to share your review with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

It was our first time staying in Chicago and it was for the 4th of July weekend. Our check-in was by Morgan at front desk and he was stellar! Very welcoming & offered helpful advice as to how to get around in the city or the places to go. We were also very impressed with our room in how spacious it was and the bed was out of this world comfortable! The train is within walking distance to take you wherever you need to go and the airport is only 10mins by shuttle.

The only disappoint was the driver of the shuttle. We waited 30mins upon our arrival around noon at the airport by the shuttle with the driver no where to be found till after 30mins. Then we had the same driver to take us to the airport Sunday morning,he made us and a group of other people wait outside for at least 45mins by the shuttle before appearing. We were nervous about missing our flight and almost called a Taxi. He never apologized both times and was never kind. Hope this gets fixed.

Other than that,highly recommend this hotel & we will be staying there again when we return to Chicago!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the detailed review on Trip Advisor! I am pleased to see that you had so many great things to say about our hotel and staff. We’re very fortunate to have an associate like Morgan on our team! I will definitely share your review with my team, as your kind words are much appreciated. On the other hand, I apologize that you did not receive the same outstanding service from our shuttle driver. I regret we missed the mark during your stay and your comments have been addressed with our staff. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great experience.

Hotel rooms and lobby feel fresh and updated. Easy check-in. Friendly and professional staff at both front desk and restaurant. Great breakfast buffet. The chef for breakfast, Rudy, made it a great dining experience through his great food preparation (omelets, etc) and his winning personality.

Very close, less than 5 minute walk, to Blue Line (Chicago Public Transit System train). From here, you can get about anywhere. CTA has a 24 hour pass for $10 to use all trains and busses.

Hotel room is large, has black out shades, and HUGE shower.

Swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, and sauna are all provided on premises. They are all clean and well maintained. When I was there, a movie was being projected on the walls of the swimming pool to entertain families during their swim.

The only negative is that no other dining options are within easy walking distance. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple times during our stay and were pleased with food and service. As already mentioned, the breakfast buffet is particularly good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Robert B.,

Thank you for your comments on our friendly and helpful staff, we’re very fortunate to have such a great team. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our staff, as your kind words are much appreciated. We look forward to many more stays to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose the hotel based on proximity to the airport due to an early morning departure. The room was very nice, the check in experience was terrible. We travel fairly frequently, and this is the only time it has ever taken an hour to get checked in. We arrived around 10:20 pm and were in our room around 11:30. I expect more from Marriott brands.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, and providing us with your comments in regards to your previous stay. Your feedback has been reviewed with our Front Office manager and be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#128 of 185 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#102 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Address: 8500 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL 60631-3203
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Fresh, our restaurant serving American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing