We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Ranked #68 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
munkie79
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed October 2, 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Renaissance Sept 12th-15th. I loved the room with separate bedroom and huge bathroom. We wanted a tub and were accomodated.

Some notables:
I agree with another reviewer that the beds were really firm. We had a room w/two double beds and both were pretty hard. Aside from that, very clean & soft linens.

Flat panel tv in the "living room", that was nice. The big desk /mini fridge was great, too.

You have to pay $10/day for in-room internet, although there is free wifi in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet at Fresh is really good. For $12, you get all you can eat: fresh fruit, oatmeal, made-to-order omelettes/pancakes/french toast, bagels, muffins, bacon, sausage...endless. We really enjoyed this and ate there the mornings that we had time.

The only odd thing that happened was that the entire hotel lost power our last night there. This was after two days of horrible rain. We managed to get warm showers before leaving, which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel staff was very nice about the power-outage and apologized for the inconvenience.

Even with the power outage, our bill was still shoved under our room door for easy check-out. We obviously couldn't use the video check-out as there was no power, but checking out took no more than two minutes at the front desk.

The hotel did a great job of accomodating our needs, i.e. bringing us a bottle opener and robes when requested.

  • Liked — Size of room versus price.
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank munkie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    355
    115
    34
    24
See reviews for
220
199
77
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed here with the park-and-fly rate booked through a third party Web site and loved the experience. The only part I did not like was driving through Chicago to get there. Once there, the parking is INDOORS. The area felt safe. The shuttle was 24 hours and perfect in both taking us and picking us up at the airport. PLUS the hotel is right beside the EL train if you want/need to go other places and don't want to drive. The service was exceptional in all areas we used. The rooms were way cool and suites. No free breakfast? True but overall a good deal for the price. If you don't believe me, price the parking for your trip as if you'd park at the airport, then price the room at this hotel with the park-and-fly rate. You'll get the idea quick.

  • Liked — Location, rate, quailty service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RueCler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Rooms are nice, clean and large. Only complaints on rooms is that beds are unusually hard. (Not a fan of Hard beds)
Excellent Excersize room, with OK pool in the basement.
Excellent Bar, Good Restaruant (Fresh?), and Starbucks in the lobby. Parking is expensive, but close and safe.
I have stayed here multiple times, and it's my son's favorite hotel.
Soundproofing is quite impressive considering it's proximity to O'Hare.
We'll most likely be back here.

  • Liked — Convieience.
  • Disliked — Hard Beds.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dsnarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,277 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I've stayed in several of the hotels at O'Hare, and this is one of the best (even better, if often has very reasonable rates).

--Efficient check-in.
--Great staff overall--everyone I interacted with, from the shuttle driver to housekeeping, was polite and helpful.
--Huge, big rooms. The suites have a large desk that allowed me to spread out and get a lot of work done. The bathrooms are also very large.
--Great bedding! I had a great night's sleep. The rooms also have room-darkening shades, which was a lot better than typical hotel curtains that gap open and let in light.
--Timely, tasty room service.
--I liked that they sold buy-to-go meals in the lobby. I grabbed one on my way to the airport.
--Decent fitness center. Would like it better if it wasn't in the basement, but it had good cardio and weight equipment, free water, etc.

A couple of the surfaces in the room were showing some signs of age (some chipped wood, some worn fabric on a chair) but not enough to be a problem.

Overall, an excellent stay -- a very solid choice if you have to overnight at O'Hare. It is a little farther from the airport than some of the other hotels, but the shuttle ride is still only about 15 minutes, and it's right next to the train if you want to ride it downtown.

  • Liked — Huge rooms, great working space
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

After staying in a few other hotels by the airport, my expectations were not that high. However, I have finally found my hotel of choice when attending meetings by O'Hare.
The room was very welcoming with its bright colors. And despite the planes taking off and landing, the sound -proofing was excellent. The room was spacious with comfortable and yet very functional furniture. The bathroom is definitely large and the walk-in shower wonderful. The bed provided a very restful night of sleep.
Service throughout the entire stay was superb and the staff always friendly and accommodating. Having Starbucks downstairs and a tiny convenience store was a bonus.
Parking was reasonable and it was great to be able to self-park without having to go so far.
Great hotel for business travelers, as once you are in your room - it is very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deardiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I don't normally stay in full service hotels and consider myself a value based traveler. I stayed here to do work travel and a special coupon.

This hotel was "nice" but with small rooms and extra $$ for everything. Internet was $10 per day; using a computer cost $$ per MINUTE and so did printing. There was no "free" breakfast of any kind, just overpriced resturants. The pool and workout room were nice and well equipped. I wouldn't stay here again on my own but for those that like "full service" it's at least a pretty hotel and the staff was more than accomodating. They even had a cell phone charger service, where if you left your charger at home, they go through the ones unclaimed by previous guests, try to find a match and charge your phone/laptop; that was pretty cool.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank newbutterfly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Excellent hotel.
Great rooms, clean, restaurant/ Starbuck's in lobby.
Close to O'Hare, gas stations to fill rentals near by.
Excellent staff.
Parking not included.

  • Liked — room, location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbikerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#108 of 189 in Chicago
583 reviews
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#137 of 189 in Chicago
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Address: 8500 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL 60631-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Asado Urban Grill, our restaurant serving contemporary American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing