We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nickels, dimes, and noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Ranked #72 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“nickels, dimes, and noise”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

They probably don't deserve a "poor" rating, but the hotel didn't live up to expectations. First they hit you with a $24 per day parking fee and then the internet is $12.95 a day. The place itself, the suite, and the staff were nice. The bar is ok as is the shuttle service to O'Hara. (My wait at the shuttle pick up area was ~20 minutes and it seemed like other hotels circulated more regularly.) My room looked west and had had a lot of traffic noise coming off of the Kennedy expressway. Jet noise was not a problem. Again, I'm not sure if these complaints warrant a poor, but I'm certainly in no rush to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    351
    115
    34
    24
See reviews for
217
198
76
367
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the night before I had to fly out of O'Hare airport. The Renaissance has a complimentary shuttle to the airport that runs 24/7 every 30 minutes. Very convenient. The hotel itself is worth the name Renaissance. Clearly the flagship of the Marriott brand. The rooms are big for an airport hotel and you can even get a good deal right around $100 at times.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nordie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

On a recent business trip to Chicago, I decided to continue with my recent patronage of the Marriott chain, having been very pleased with two of their hotels over the past few months. Renaissance O'Hare was an excellent choice and my stay there renewed my enthusiasm for the brand.

A 15 minute shuttle ride away from O'Hare (Terminal 5), hotel reception staff were attentive, friendly and efficient, exactly what you need after a trans-Atlantic flight. The hotel had an air of activity (there was a wedding reception on that evening) but never felt crowded. My 9th floor room was wonderfully acquitted with a reception / work area, bedroom and a luxurious en-suite with one of the best wet room / rain forest showers I've seen in this price range.

The proximity of the hotel to the Cumberland Blue-line CTA stop (5 minute walk across a dedicated foot-bridge) made accessing the heart of the city effortless, even with jetlag. The immediate surroundings of the hotel's neighbourhood were modern, well-lit and secure, making a late-night return stress-free.

One definite perk of the Marriott family are the easy-access fitness facilities. In this instance, a 7am swim the next morning in an empty but warm pool did wonders to clear travel weariness. Add to this the Starbucks in the lobby (not to everyone's taste but one of my preferred breakfast choices when travelling) and an easy-to-use business centre for printing, and you are left with an extremely well thought out and appointed airport hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. They treated us very well. We had a corner suite which had a tremendous amount of space. I knew about being charged for parking before I arrived so I expected it. We really didn't mind. The location is so close to the Blue Line Cumberland station that we took the train for 2 days to go where we needed to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Its been a while since I was last here so I thought it would be worth confirming that this hotel remains a great choice for travellers between flights at ORD but also for visitors to downtown Chicago.

I was particularly pleased since I managed to book 4 nights at $99 per night on the Marriott website which as a gold member also included breakfast in Fresh over the weekend. easy access to downtown on the Blue line which is two minutes walk away from hotel.

The suite concept is great with a separate living and bedrooms. The living are had a comfortable sofa and also a well designed desk. The Flatscreen tv had a box that allowed you to attach your laptop to the tv to watch movies etc on a big screen. As usual with Marriott's the King sized bed was really comfortable and I slept really well. Overall the room was well furnished and felt fresh apart from wear upon one the cubes that make up a coffee table in the living area which was badly worn.

I ate a very nice meal in the restaurant and also ate in the bar area. Although they have opened the bar area out somewhat, it still remains very dark and not too inviting. Food menu in the bar is extremely limited but the quality is great.

Very friendly and timely shuttle service to and from ORD.

Great hotel and definitely high on my list when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My mother taught me to always say something positive first. Hotel was in a good location and staff nice. The room left a lot to be desired. We found someone's flip flop and tootsie pop wrapper under a chair. There were three women in the room. One slept in the sofa bed but we needed to make it up but found no sheets. It was late, we were tired...sheets came fairly quickly but annoyed we had to call. Room did not have a mirror in the bedroom, light in bath were too dim to apply makeup, no available free outlet next to bed to charge phone, couldn't figure out how to set alarm clock, frig was not cold, room was cramped and couldn't get in closet without closing bedroom door, fan in bath was not on a separate switch so always was on when bathroom light was on. Annoying inconveniences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siti115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your previous stay. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully you will give us another chance to prove we are the choice hotel in the O’Hare area and let us exceed your expectations. Please call me directly if I can assist you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I frequent the ORD area and have stayed at many hotels in the area including Marriott, Hyatt and Hilton properties. Now I think this Renaissance hotel is becoming my new favorite one.
I recently stayed here twice. The stay in April was just perfect - everything worked great and everyone was very friendly and helpful (even their airport shuttle driver was just amazing!).
But I had some issues during the stay last wee - first the airport shuttle is supposed to be every half hour from the airport but somehow the one at 10:30pm never came which led me a waiting at the airport for ~50 minutes. Also the toilet water tank kept refilling by itself which required the Engineer to fix it. But the 2nd day, the manager Karen called me and appologized for the inconvenience and also offered me some compensation which resolved the issues satisfactorily.
Bottom line - my experience at this hotel convinced me that the service here is consistent with the Marriott standard so I would recommend it to anyone I know of. (Actually I just booked myself
some upcoming stays at this hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmxpek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#106 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#135 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Address: 8500 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL 60631-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Asado Urban Grill, our restaurant serving contemporary American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing