We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

First stay in Chicago, and can't wait to return to Hotel Lincoln. Location is superb, and staff is friendly not phony. Food served for our meetings was incredibly fresh and authentic, so much so it reminded me more of Northern California that midwest. It was a refreshing change from the barbecue/homestyle cooking that dominated the area. Room was a little small, not unsual for an older hotel, but with a great view of the lake. I am a very light sleeper and did not find it noisy at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    514
    148
    53
    20
See reviews for
565
626
116
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Well, Lincoln Park is a great Chicago nabe to spend time in and Hotel Lincoln is a solid place for such an outing. They have done a great job creating a totally new boutique experience here (I remember the predecessor, a Days Inn)

Great touches in the room (B&W photos of Chicago, etc), outstanding lake views and just nice people working the front desk. Don't miss the Green City Market right outside in Lincoln Park and the rooftop bar is a must!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I tend to like newer hotels but this one was very charming. We were upgraded to a family suite so we had two bathrooms, which was very cool. The rooms were large, fresh, clean, and fun. Staff was great.

The location was good because it was a few blocks from the highest-volume Starbucks in the country and numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Check in went well. Valet took the car to the back to be parked we got our ticket. Our luggage was brought upsatirs by a bellman and unloaded. There was a cute check in bar made of drawers from all kind of bureaus and had funny knobs on them .......pull a few and in one you will find candy for the kids in another dog treats for the dogs that are allowed to stay there.which was a huge bonus for us, The Lincoln Park , which is clean and safe, was right across the street great for dogs. Also on the day we were there ...the park had a fruit and vegatable market that was wonderful. . Very courteous and kimd staff. Gorgeous nightlife on the top of the hotel bar with beautiful views of all the city skyscrapers lit up. Rooms were modern enough space, tv,phone, shower and tub adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last winter and were so impressed that we wanted to return in the summer, and it was wonderful again! Glenn checked us in with a great welcome smile and it set the mood for our whole stay:) Check-in was fast and simple, our room was clean, and the view of the park was lovely. We took advantage of all of the amenities at the hotel....we had coffee at Elaine's, cocktails on the rooftop at the J. Parker, and brunch at the restaurant before we left for home (delicious!). Thanks everyone for another wonderful stay....we're telling all our friends about Hotel Lincoln!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent service. Fabulous rooftop bar. Will definitely come back. Front desk personnel with Glenn and Edgar were awesome. Nice lobby bar with great service. Easy getting a cab to downtown. Right across the street is Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DThomas891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here last February and it was exceptional, especially at winter discount rates. A funky boutique hotel, with staff to match, right between Old Town and Lincoln Park. Put on your best comfy shoes and walk everywhere! This time it was mid-July and the stay was just as great as the first time. Walking through the zoo and park across the street every morning with a cup of dark roast from Elaine's (the coffee shop in the lobby) was the icing on the cake. Grab a pre-evening cocktail on the rooftop bar and enjoy people watching a mix of after workers, stylish travelers and young hipsters. Later on it becomes a lounge bar for amateur drinkers, so I wouldn't recommend a nightcap there. My only beef is that the two year old renos are already starting to show wear and tear. The sliding bathroom door was uncooperative and the aircon was a little noisy. Small stuff, but at premium rates this should be sorted out pronto.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatibusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#72 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#91 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing