We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #33 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I tend to like newer hotels but this one was very charming. We were upgraded to a family suite so we had two bathrooms, which was very cool. The rooms were large, fresh, clean, and fun. Staff was great.

The location was good because it was a few blocks from the highest-volume Starbucks in the country and numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    381
    111
    38
    14
See reviews for
396
472
84
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Check in went well. Valet took the car to the back to be parked we got our ticket. Our luggage was brought upsatirs by a bellman and unloaded. There was a cute check in bar made of drawers from all kind of bureaus and had funny knobs on them .......pull a few and in one you will find candy for the kids in another dog treats for the dogs that are allowed to stay there.which was a huge bonus for us, The Lincoln Park , which is clean and safe, was right across the street great for dogs. Also on the day we were there ...the park had a fruit and vegatable market that was wonderful. . Very courteous and kimd staff. Gorgeous nightlife on the top of the hotel bar with beautiful views of all the city skyscrapers lit up. Rooms were modern enough space, tv,phone, shower and tub adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last winter and were so impressed that we wanted to return in the summer, and it was wonderful again! Glenn checked us in with a great welcome smile and it set the mood for our whole stay:) Check-in was fast and simple, our room was clean, and the view of the park was lovely. We took advantage of all of the amenities at the hotel....we had coffee at Elaine's, cocktails on the rooftop at the J. Parker, and brunch at the restaurant before we left for home (delicious!). Thanks everyone for another wonderful stay....we're telling all our friends about Hotel Lincoln!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent service. Fabulous rooftop bar. Will definitely come back. Front desk personnel with Glenn and Edgar were awesome. Nice lobby bar with great service. Easy getting a cab to downtown. Right across the street is Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DThomas891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here last February and it was exceptional, especially at winter discount rates. A funky boutique hotel, with staff to match, right between Old Town and Lincoln Park. Put on your best comfy shoes and walk everywhere! This time it was mid-July and the stay was just as great as the first time. Walking through the zoo and park across the street every morning with a cup of dark roast from Elaine's (the coffee shop in the lobby) was the icing on the cake. Grab a pre-evening cocktail on the rooftop bar and enjoy people watching a mix of after workers, stylish travelers and young hipsters. Later on it becomes a lounge bar for amateur drinkers, so I wouldn't recommend a nightcap there. My only beef is that the two year old renos are already starting to show wear and tear. The sliding bathroom door was uncooperative and the aircon was a little noisy. Small stuff, but at premium rates this should be sorted out pronto.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatibusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a really nice experience staying at Hotel Lincoln. The location was perfect for our visit to the northern Chicago area. The lake shore beach and a beautiful park area are right across the street. The neighborhood is filled with lovely brownstone apartments on tree lined streets. There are a variety of eating establishments and shops within walking distance.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were very clean and pleasant. We slept great! We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor park side. We had a lovely view and very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Watsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We knew our check-in would be weird because we had two separate reservations for two days total for the same room type and were completely prepared to check out and back in half way through. However, Fabian put us at ease, and took care of everything. The room was awesome, we had a queen jr. suite. The food & service at the restaurant was great (Perennial Virant). My boyfriend wishes the crab leg was bigger, but it was on the apps menu, so I think its size is acceptable. Even the bouncer guy was nice when he told me I needed an ID to go up to the rooftop bar (J. Parker) and I didn't have it on me. It's okay though cause we got up there and felt way too old and went straight back to our room and did old people fuddy duddy things instead. The location is perfect. We walked to a number of old haunts (The Alley, Dave's Records, The Weiners Circle) plus some new places (Rotofuji). We were too exhausted for J. Parker anyway.

Room Tip: The queen jr suite was cheaper than the King suite and the ones with the lake view, you don't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#62 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,440 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
The James Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing