We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I tend to like newer hotels but this one was very charming. We were upgraded to a family suite so we had two bathrooms, which was very cool. The rooms were large, fresh, clean, and fun. Staff was great.

The location was good because it was a few blocks from the highest-volume Starbucks in the country and numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Check in went well. Valet took the car to the back to be parked we got our ticket. Our luggage was brought upsatirs by a bellman and unloaded. There was a cute check in bar made of drawers from all kind of bureaus and had funny knobs on them .......pull a few and in one you will find candy for the kids in another dog treats for the dogs that are allowed to stay there.which was a huge bonus for us, The Lincoln Park , which is clean and safe, was right across the street great for dogs. Also on the day we were there ...the park had a fruit and vegatable market that was wonderful. . Very courteous and kimd staff. Gorgeous nightlife on the top of the hotel bar with beautiful views of all the city skyscrapers lit up. Rooms were modern enough space, tv,phone, shower and tub adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last winter and were so impressed that we wanted to return in the summer, and it was wonderful again! Glenn checked us in with a great welcome smile and it set the mood for our whole stay:) Check-in was fast and simple, our room was clean, and the view of the park was lovely. We took advantage of all of the amenities at the hotel....we had coffee at Elaine's, cocktails on the rooftop at the J. Parker, and brunch at the restaurant before we left for home (delicious!). Thanks everyone for another wonderful stay....we're telling all our friends about Hotel Lincoln!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent service. Fabulous rooftop bar. Will definitely come back. Front desk personnel with Glenn and Edgar were awesome. Nice lobby bar with great service. Easy getting a cab to downtown. Right across the street is Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DThomas891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here last February and it was exceptional, especially at winter discount rates. A funky boutique hotel, with staff to match, right between Old Town and Lincoln Park. Put on your best comfy shoes and walk everywhere! This time it was mid-July and the stay was just as great as the first time. Walking through the zoo and park across the street every morning with a cup of dark roast from Elaine's (the coffee shop in the lobby) was the icing on the cake. Grab a pre-evening cocktail on the rooftop bar and enjoy people watching a mix of after workers, stylish travelers and young hipsters. Later on it becomes a lounge bar for amateur drinkers, so I wouldn't recommend a nightcap there. My only beef is that the two year old renos are already starting to show wear and tear. The sliding bathroom door was uncooperative and the aircon was a little noisy. Small stuff, but at premium rates this should be sorted out pronto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatibusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a really nice experience staying at Hotel Lincoln. The location was perfect for our visit to the northern Chicago area. The lake shore beach and a beautiful park area are right across the street. The neighborhood is filled with lovely brownstone apartments on tree lined streets. There are a variety of eating establishments and shops within walking distance.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were very clean and pleasant. We slept great! We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor park side. We had a lovely view and very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Watsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We knew our check-in would be weird because we had two separate reservations for two days total for the same room type and were completely prepared to check out and back in half way through. However, Fabian put us at ease, and took care of everything. The room was awesome, we had a queen jr. suite. The food & service at the restaurant was great (Perennial Virant). My boyfriend wishes the crab leg was bigger, but it was on the apps menu, so I think its size is acceptable. Even the bouncer guy was nice when he told me I needed an ID to go up to the rooftop bar (J. Parker) and I didn't have it on me. It's okay though cause we got up there and felt way too old and went straight back to our room and did old people fuddy duddy things instead. The location is perfect. We walked to a number of old haunts (The Alley, Dave's Records, The Weiners Circle) plus some new places (Rotofuji). We were too exhausted for J. Parker anyway.

Room Tip: The queen jr suite was cheaper than the King suite and the ones with the lake view, you don't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,955 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing