We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #33 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel in April. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The rooftop bar was fun. The room itself was adequate but not quite worth the amount of money it cost. The view was not that spectacular. During the night the bathroom above me sprang a leak and was leaking through the ceiling into my bedroom as well as my bathroom. It also was accompanied by a loud banging sound. After i called it was fixed immediately. Which I truely do appreciate. But shouldnt I have been offerred a complimentary drink or something? The dining downstairs was phenomenal as well as the staff. They ordered for me...I was not diappointed. The Pork was to die for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joythompson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    381
    112
    38
    14
See reviews for
396
473
84
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Decided to stay overnight to attend a friend's birthday party and scored a great deal on the Hotel Tonight app. Hotel staff was friendly during check in, even though we had received a discounted rate (some staff in some places will give you "discount" Friendliness depending on your discounted rate). Since the initial rate was so good, we did wind up paying about $20 more for an upgrade to a Jr. Suite which was well worth it if I am to believe the incredibly small sizes of the "Regular" rooms from some other reviews we have read.

Lots of space in our room, huge and comfortable bed ( I seriously want to know where they got the platform bed frame with the storage, I would like to have one for my home). The suite included 2 bathrooms which wound up being a nice touch since we could both get ready at the same time without having to wait turns. And trying to put on makeup in a foggy bathroom is never fun.

The heater was EXTREMELY loud though. Free Wifi is a plus!

After the birthday party we went up to the J Parker for a last call nightcap. It was cold out at the time so the patio was not open. We were lucky enough to get a seat and the staff was very nice to us (contrary to a lot of the J. Parker reviews here) I plan on going back now that the weather to see if that is any different--I imagine it gets kind of competitive when all the young and beautiful people come out to enjoy the rooftop patio. We will see.

Had breakfast at the next morning at the Perennial Virant which is a whole other review unto itself, but the food was excellent as was the service. So definitely worth it if you stay at the Hotel Lincoln. Even though we are locals, we will be back!

Room Tip: upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business meeting. Was not recognized as a JDV Club member at check in. Rooms are very small with the bathroom not having a shelf big enough to put much on it. Staff is very nice and the rooftop bar is a vibrant place (mostly for young locals.

Location is residential and the park is across the street. No shopping in the area but some fine local restaurants.

Room Tip: not sure if there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hotel Lincoln. I sincerely apologize you were not recognized as a Joy of Life Club Member upon arrival but am happy to hear you found the staff to be nice and enjoyed our rooftop. We truly value your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Nebraska
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a great find for my wife and I as we visited Chicago. The location adjacent to Lincoln Park was great but unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for morning strolls with dense fog off the lake during our stay. Nonetheless, this is a great hotel and I highly recommend it, The rooms are a little smaller than normal, but not too bad, The room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerFan1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lincoln for two nights in June, this was the first leg of our trip down Route 66. The staff at Hotel Lincoln made sure this would be a holiday to remember, and went above and beyond to look after us. I was retiring from the military after a long career in service, and having mentioned this to Jessica she went out of her way to help with any queries or questions we had. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere in the hotel was homely and friendly. I really can't rate this highly enough, and Jessica and all the team at the hotel should be commended for their outstanding customer service. i will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Lincoln Park offer a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved this hotel! It is fun, fresh, and vibrant. The Rooftop during the day is spectacular. At night, very crowded, but fun. Every staff member was personable and friendly. Loved receiving a phone call from the front desk as we settled into our room, just checking to see if everything was to our liking. Hotel Lincoln's location is perfect. We walked everywhere and there is a Divy Bike Station right across the street. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alm1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall, the Hotel Lincoln was the perfect gathering place for family, out of town guests, and friends for an early June wedding. The J. Parker rooftop restaurant & bar was a favorite place for everyone. Our lakeview junior suite provided a wonderful view of the lake and plenty of space and comfort - loved having the two separate bath areas for getting ready. The food for our Sunday post-wedding hospitality in the Clark Room was outstanding! Only glitch - the elevator(s) can be rather slow during certain times of the day. Not a big deal - just don't be surprised.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upper level (floors 10 and higher) for the best lake views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked the Hotel Lincoln's eco-friendly practices and the encouragement they provided to clientele to participate in those efforts.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#60 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
The James Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing