We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DePaul college weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #46 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staten Island, New York, USA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“DePaul college weekend”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend it was a great hotel for the location. The staff treated us great and we loved the dogs around and inside the hotel. We were not crazy about the rooftop lounge but everything else involving the decor of this hotel was excellent and the lot of fun.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    524
    159
    57
    21
See reviews for
582
642
118
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Location is fantastic. I walked to the free zoo. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a suit, for free. I was then delivered a bottle of wine from the front desk for being a club member. Great price. Great staff. Great coffee shop. The barista was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I recently threw a party for my wife and had a number of out of town guests come to Chicago. I chose to have everyone stay at the Hotel Lincoln. We stayed there ourselves for the night of the party. We partly chose it because of its great location -- 2 blocks walk from Second City. But, I found the hotel to be very user-friendly. I had to call the reservations people several times because I had 6 rooms booked. They were very easy to deal with and were on top of everything. The rooms are quaint. The restaurant was great for Sunday brunch for a group of 14. We did not have a reservation, but they managed to accommodate us. All in all a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jsteinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a great hotel to consider in Lincoln Park Area. The rooms are very nice, well appointed with nice views, good baths, very good in-room coffee, and very comfortable beds. Hotel ambiance is great and personnel are very nice, helpful. Location is close to Michigan Ave and Lake Shore Dr action. Nice mini vacation choice and good value. Lots of great dining choices in area around hotel. We will stay here again and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite, really nice with two bathrooms, his and hers.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycling receptacles in the rooms, nice touch. This hotel stresses environmental awareness without being overbearing.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatLakesAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days in March at Hotel Lincoln. Drove to hotel and was pleased that valet suggested that we could self park right across street and save a few bucks. Lobby was really cool and connected to Elaine's cafe. Staff very friendly. Stayed in junior suite overlooking Lincoln Park. Two bathrooms was a nice plus. Location was great. Right around corner from Nookies and Second City. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Creston206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is our new go to hotel in Chicago. Went to opening day of the Cubs and had a blast. Staff was amazing and the location couldn't have been more perfect. Great places to eat and Old Town has some wonderful bars and Second City. Will be back this summer!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanderali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place is wonderful! We were greeted with a smile, checked in promptly & asked if we needed a map of the area. We stayed in a Jr. Suite and it was a nice size. Eclectic deco which I loved. Not your usual boring hotel room! King size bed, 1.5 baths, comfy chairs and a couch, desk, and a nice flat screen TV. The rooftop bar is definitely a hotspot! It was packed! Of course it being one of the first nice days of spring contributed to that. We came just to hangout for a day/night of fun and that was accomplished. There are a ton of bars and restaurants in the area within walking distance not to mention the park and Zoo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 189 in Chicago
1,587 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 189 in Chicago
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing