We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property, World Class Service!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Amazing Property, World Class Service!!!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I unfortunately had only 1 night at this amazing hotel...but the 24 hours I spent there were incredible. Friendly staff, beautiful updated rooms, excellent food and menu! Awesome view too! I'll be back again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the lake side...the junior suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    524
    159
    58
    21
See reviews for
583
644
118
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed on Friday January 3, 2014 with some friends for a wedding across the street. Our room was fair sized with 2 queen sized beds. The Room was clean, prim, pressed, and quiet. The hotel decor is typical of a big city hotel, with many ornate interesting things to look at. The rooftop bar was cool, but I would love to comeback in the summer to be able to sit outside. The factor that raised my experience from very good to excellent was the night shift concierge Ben and Inn Keeper Saul. After a night of hitting the town, I had mentioned through conversation with Ben that myself and a few of my friends weren't ready to call it a night. So he offered a bottle of wine and we simply lounged in the lobby and bounced through conversation after conversation. As a winter storm was approaching the city, Ben made sure to send Saul to our room with extra pillows and blankets to ensure we were comfortable. The little things like that keep this hotel in the back of my mind for the next time I stay in the city. I have a background in the hospitality and service industry and it makes me proud that there are people who know how to do it right.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessabaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed for three nights whilst in Chicago for meetings. It's a little bit further north than the bulk of the city hotels but the location is good: opposite Lincoln Park zoo and all the amenities of the park/lakeshore and I had a delightful walk due south through the monied piles of the Gold Coast. I had a very nicely thought out corner room - got a great rate through Expedia and really enjoyed my stay here. It's a renovated older property. The Perennial Virant restaurant is particularly good, with an interesting menu. It's also easy to grab coffee in the lobby. The rooftop bar is pretty lively - not really a place for a quiet drink, more a bit of a scene-y spot. But all good fun and the staff were excellent, attentive, helpful. Will stay again. Nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Lakeview or corner rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I, along with our dog, stayed in a room on the 4th floor on December 23rd and 24th. As mentioned in a previous review, we were awoken around 7 a.m. by the smell of cigarette smoke and loud voices directly outside our door. A couple of Chicago Police Officers had arrested two drunken, vulgar, obnoxious hotel guests. The Officers called for the booking "wagon" and the problem was resolved with the arrest and removal of the two men.

This was CLEARLY not a SWAT operation by the Chicago PD or remotely newsworthy!

I mentioned the disturbance to the front desk clerk who acknowledged that there had been a problem. He offered a discount or an upgrade to a suite, to which we declined. He then offered a free breakfast at the hotel's coffee shop. We accepted and enjoyed a tastefully created breakfast.

Later, we recieved a phone message from the hotel's manager apologizing for the disturbance and offering any further assistance.

We strongly feel that this incident could have taken place in any hotel, and the management's response was appropriate and sincere.

We look forward to staying at the Hotel Lincoln during our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was a frigid winter in Chicago, my apartment was cold, and I'm a writer here in Chicago. I needed a warm, quiet place where I could get some work done — fast. Well, the Hotel Lincoln is about five blocks from me and it came through with flying colors. A cozy, warm immaculate room, great Internet connection (free Wi-Fi) for my trusty MacBook Air, and the friendliest, most helpful service staff imaginable. Many thanks to Glenn, Joe, Alyssa, Fabian, Terrance, Isaiah and all the other Hotel Lincoln staff people who helped make my stay truly memorable BTW: the breakfasts in the first-floor restaurant were super — perfectly executed omelets and creamy oatmeal (with brown sugar and fruit compote), wonderful whole-grain toast with the most incredible homemade blueberry preserves imaginable.

Room Tip: The rooms without park views are just fine -- they are quiet and have great views toO and are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in July during peak summer hours. Great Hotel with nice restaurant and cool rooftop bar. Free bike rental to see the city. Walking /biking distance from the lake and mini beach. Great Location right next to the park and Zoo. Great Staff, especially Fabian, he was the absolute essence of 5 star service, he made accommodations for my wife and I on short notice. I asked him to set the room up with some Champagne and chocolate strawberries and he went above and beyond in making my wife and I feel welcome and special after a terrible experience staying at one of my wife's 'friends'.

*Warning- Some lengthy background to how we ended up booking this hotel day-of check in:

My wife and I were taking our 2nd honeymoon to a few of the major cities we hadn't visited around the world. Chicago and Miami were two of the big ones on our list. We had planned to stay in hotels for the duration of about a week in each city but my wife, who is from Brazil, had a friend living in the suburbs of Chicago who invited us to come stay with her instead and said that she would show us around. I at first hesitated as I'm always one to prefer hotel stay over a room, but as any smart man would, I of course caved in to the wife and was willing to meet her friend whom she hadn't seen for many years and save the money.

As i knew it, said 'Friend' wasn't really that cool. I get there, and after a day I can just tell she doesn't like me and she wasn't digging having us there after about two days. She would take us places but she would stay in the car with her dog (lmfao) instead of going in or leaving her dog at home. She's one of those 30+ single for 5 years with little dog that is actually 'baby' if you know what I mean, and she hadn't had anyone stay over in quite some time. Well as expected the 'friend' said she had to go back to work and fly to london the next day. (WOW) So at least my misery would end and I could find us a good hotel in DT Chicago area. I'm happy bc it gave us the chance to find HOTEL LINCOLN...

As aforementioned FABIAN at the front desk was a pleasure. He was kind and took care of us for our entire stay. As well as the taller, hispanic gentlemen at the front door with the shorter hair from California, who would recognize us off the street and open the door before we got to the door. At one point, he even ran up the stairs to get me a towel bc I was sweating like a true chubster in the chicago humidity while waiting for the wife.

The rooms are cool, I can remember some cool artsy furniture, and a sense of chicago old and new with the decor. The room was reasonably sized with a comfy queen bed. REALLy we were in Chicago to take in the town. We saw the "Book of Mormon" play which was amazing, we went to every museum and there were a few centrally located near the hotel. We saw comedy shows, we did boat tours, we spent a day at the lake and zoo. We ate so much delicious pizza and chicago dogs and drank some great beer. All in all it was a successful trip thanks to Hotel Lincoln, Fabian and the other joyful, friendly staff. We can't wait to get back to Chicago. Thanks so much guys!

-Lex & Marcela Fargo

Room Tip: Ask for lake view, corner, or just ask Fabian or one of the other staff to advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLexFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I wish I had stayed at a nicer hotel for the price. The lobby was nice, but the room was small and the hotel was doing maintenance too early in the morning which woke us up. Also there were no perks included (no robes, no fridge, no refreshments etc). Decent, but not great.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,720 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#93 of 189 in Chicago
1,589 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing