We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly Chicago Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #44 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Relaxing and Friendly Chicago Option”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Lincoln in late October 2013 and our suite was perfect. We enjoyed our upgrade to a park view room where we could watch the farmer’s market open on Saturday morning, and the walkers and runners throughout the day. The location was great. Easy to get to using the hotel's directions for mass transit from the airport, and once we were there the neighborhood was safe and walk-able to restaurants, the park, the zoo, and the family who we were there to visit. The staff was friendly and remembered to ask about our day when we returned after our outings - a nice touch. We did not eat in the restaurants, but did have some fries at the rooftop bar - I think we offended them by asking for ketchup rather that the "chef's special dipping sauce". Apparently they do not have ketchup up there. Really, fries need ketchup - would have been good to at least have the option. Hotel Lincoln was on the spendy side - typical for Chicago - but since we enjoyed the location and the accommodations so much we were OK with the price.

Room Tip: Suite with a park view is nice if you plan to spend some time hanging out in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittiwampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    514
    151
    53
    20
See reviews for
566
628
116
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose the Hotel Lincoln, while the rest of our group stayed at the Public Hotel. We could not have been happier. We found the Hotel Lincoln to be warm and inviting. To a staff member, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the staff in the coffee bar, each individual was pleasant, went out of their way to help and appeared to be genuinely glad to have us there. The valet staff made sure to put our GPS away when they parked our car. I mean everyone was great.

The room was well-appointed with comfortable furnishings, great (Lather) amenities, nice lighting, great towels and nice linens. We needed a refrigerator for our formula as we had a small baby with us. They brought it immediately.

I could go on, but I think it is enough to say that I own an inn in Mendocino, I plan to use some of the pracctices that I observed at the Lincoln at my Inn. Great job!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have a room on the 7th floor that afforded a nice view of the park and Lake Mic...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in the rooms, notices on water conservation vis a vis linens,
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendocinoInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear MendocinoInnkeeper,

Your words are the greatest form of flattery for our team. We appreciate your comments, especially meaningful given you are in the hospitality business. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of everyone. We look forward to your return.

Please come back...soon and often.

All the best from all of us at Hotel Lincoln,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I have travelled the US extensively and usually stay in Marriott or Hilton (Best western if we're slumming it!) we were looking for Hotel that was central to the city but had soul. This hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of Lincoln park overlooking the lake, the rooms are spacious, clean, beds are comfortable - the kind reception staff alyssa & spencer upgraded us to a suite, with wine and a card as it was our anniversary (lovely touch). If your looking for somewhere that has boutique shops and artisan bakers with a beautiful park to picnic, as well as a few friendly bars, within walking distance then this hotel is perfect! We always have a hire car when we go stateside - parking spots right outside the hotel for just $2 per hour and free from 10pm - 8am! We enjoyed our stay so much we're going back at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrkaushalandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mrkaushalandwife,

A hotel with Soul! Thank you searching for a hotel that brings more than just what is expected. Saying your stay was "Perfect" was wonderful enough, but knowing that Alyssa and Spencer added to that experience is fabulous to hear. I hope you enjoyed your visit in the States and look forward to your return.

Please return soon and often, and perhaps for a longer visit next time.

All best wishes.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My small family loved this hotel. It has lots of old style charm while still being very modern. Lots of wonderful places within walking distance including great Chicago style pizza! The room was very clean and had plenty of room for all three of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KACYLYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As on the previous visits, Glenn at the front desk was there to make sure our every need was fulfilled, and as on previous visits, we were greeted warmly by everyone at the Lincoln. Due to a conflict, we were unable to have our "usual" corner Lake View Junior Suite. Well, the fresh flowers, bottle of wine and luscious treats from DeLightful confectionary certainly made us enjoy the two nights in our city view suite until we were moved to our Lake View Suite for the final two nights. Every person at the Lincoln makes certain that you are comfortable, safe, and made to feel special. Everything that we have stated in our prior reviews still holds, and then some. The location is right on the bus to anyplace anyone would wish to visit, and if you need a taxi, the valet guys are right there to help. Dining options are plentiful, and there's a Walgreen's a few blocks away so you can stock the in-room refrigerator. If you haven't given the Lincoln a try you are missing out on a wonderful experience. Go for the Lake View Junior Suite on the corner......the view of Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan are terrific.

Room Tip: Get one of the "15" Lake View Junior Suites for a view of the park and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Located immediately across from the actual Lincoln Park (to be more precise, just across the street from the Saturday morning farmer's market in Lincoln Park), this hotel is just ten minutes' walk from Second City and the Old Town I general. I spent the whole afternoon walking up the street from the hotel, visiting bakeries, record stores, clothing shops, antique boutiques and a variety of shops, restaurants and services too numerous to mention. The room I was in overlooked the park as well, but felt a bit small: decent enough for a single traveller like myself, but I could see the Twister game that could have resulted from having two guests share the room. But it was well groomed (with interesting decor and tastefully unique washroom architecture). But any shortcomings I could have felt due to the size of my room (as well as the somewhat narrow hallways) were completely overcome by the friendly, courteous and professional nature of the staff: over and over, I felt I was visiting friends I, in reality, had only just met. And if one is curious enough to explore outside their hotel room, one may find even more than I did: I hardly had time to hit the restaurant on site, but knew about the Wall of Bad Art ahead of time, and stumbled across complimentary rickshaw rides offered to hotel guests (well, a bicycle-propelled rickshaw), with a driver who was even more personable, professional and friendly than the already excellent front desk staff! They also never cracked the slightest sneer at my choice of Saturday night attired, but even complimented me on it! (Who wears black work boots with a white jumpsuit and ball cap? Me. ;) )

If you're looking for a hotel which makes you feel good about being there, located just across the street from Lincoln Park and its excellent Zoo, and (depending on the room) possibly giving you clear view of sailboats travelling about in the harbour, all wrapped up in boutique hotel chic and coziness, then this is the place for you. Warmly recommended. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting family who live in the Lincoln Park area. Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel's location was very convenient. Our room was small but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant, coffee shop and top-floor bar were excellent. We'll stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the lake - 912 - very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing