We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I have travelled the US extensively and usually stay in Marriott or Hilton (Best western if we're slumming it!) we were looking for Hotel that was central to the city but had soul. This hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of Lincoln park overlooking the lake, the rooms are spacious, clean, beds are comfortable - the kind reception staff alyssa & spencer upgraded us to a suite, with wine and a card as it was our anniversary (lovely touch). If your looking for somewhere that has boutique shops and artisan bakers with a beautiful park to picnic, as well as a few friendly bars, within walking distance then this hotel is perfect! We always have a hire car when we go stateside - parking spots right outside the hotel for just $2 per hour and free from 10pm - 8am! We enjoyed our stay so much we're going back at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrkaushalandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Mrkaushalandwife,

A hotel with Soul! Thank you searching for a hotel that brings more than just what is expected. Saying your stay was "Perfect" was wonderful enough, but knowing that Alyssa and Spencer added to that experience is fabulous to hear. I hope you enjoyed your visit in the States and look forward to your return.

Please return soon and often, and perhaps for a longer visit next time.

All best wishes.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,261 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My small family loved this hotel. It has lots of old style charm while still being very modern. Lots of wonderful places within walking distance including great Chicago style pizza! The room was very clean and had plenty of room for all three of us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KACYLYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As on the previous visits, Glenn at the front desk was there to make sure our every need was fulfilled, and as on previous visits, we were greeted warmly by everyone at the Lincoln. Due to a conflict, we were unable to have our "usual" corner Lake View Junior Suite. Well, the fresh flowers, bottle of wine and luscious treats from DeLightful confectionary certainly made us enjoy the two nights in our city view suite until we were moved to our Lake View Suite for the final two nights. Every person at the Lincoln makes certain that you are comfortable, safe, and made to feel special. Everything that we have stated in our prior reviews still holds, and then some. The location is right on the bus to anyplace anyone would wish to visit, and if you need a taxi, the valet guys are right there to help. Dining options are plentiful, and there's a Walgreen's a few blocks away so you can stock the in-room refrigerator. If you haven't given the Lincoln a try you are missing out on a wonderful experience. Go for the Lake View Junior Suite on the corner......the view of Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan are terrific.

Room Tip: Get one of the "15" Lake View Junior Suites for a view of the park and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Located immediately across from the actual Lincoln Park (to be more precise, just across the street from the Saturday morning farmer's market in Lincoln Park), this hotel is just ten minutes' walk from Second City and the Old Town I general. I spent the whole afternoon walking up the street from the hotel, visiting bakeries, record stores, clothing shops, antique boutiques and a variety of shops, restaurants and services too numerous to mention. The room I was in overlooked the park as well, but felt a bit small: decent enough for a single traveller like myself, but I could see the Twister game that could have resulted from having two guests share the room. But it was well groomed (with interesting decor and tastefully unique washroom architecture). But any shortcomings I could have felt due to the size of my room (as well as the somewhat narrow hallways) were completely overcome by the friendly, courteous and professional nature of the staff: over and over, I felt I was visiting friends I, in reality, had only just met. And if one is curious enough to explore outside their hotel room, one may find even more than I did: I hardly had time to hit the restaurant on site, but knew about the Wall of Bad Art ahead of time, and stumbled across complimentary rickshaw rides offered to hotel guests (well, a bicycle-propelled rickshaw), with a driver who was even more personable, professional and friendly than the already excellent front desk staff! They also never cracked the slightest sneer at my choice of Saturday night attired, but even complimented me on it! (Who wears black work boots with a white jumpsuit and ball cap? Me. ;) )

If you're looking for a hotel which makes you feel good about being there, located just across the street from Lincoln Park and its excellent Zoo, and (depending on the room) possibly giving you clear view of sailboats travelling about in the harbour, all wrapped up in boutique hotel chic and coziness, then this is the place for you. Warmly recommended. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burgmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting family who live in the Lincoln Park area. Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel's location was very convenient. Our room was small but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant, coffee shop and top-floor bar were excellent. We'll stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the lake - 912 - very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Yes, I've reviewed this hotel before, but it never ceases to amaze me what a great and well run property it is! The service is warm and professional (I'm looking at you, Glenn and Alyssa,and Isaiah, and well, everyone!), the rooms comfortable and well maintained, and the coffee shop, restaurant and roof top bar cannot be beat anywhere in the city. The location is convenient to Lincoln Park, Old Town, Downtown and many great bars and restaurants. Go, and tell them Nancy sent you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Based on TripAdvisor recommendations we chose the Lincoln Hotel for our visit to Chicago. It was terrific! We chose the junior suite to extra space which was well worth the extra cost. The bed was excellent, too. We loved looking out at the view of the park after a busy day of touristing. The downstairs restaurant, Perennial Vivant was excellent for all our breakfasts and one dinner. Although the hotel is not in the Loop area, it's easy to get anywhere via public transit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
2,951 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing