We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and roof top bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #55 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed with a ten and 12 year old in a room with a queen bed, pullout sofa bed, and 2 bathrooms. The room was a bit small with bed down, but there was a TV in the bedroom and the living room. The hotel has more amenities for people without children, but you can leave older kids in the room and check out the roof top bar which had good cocktails and where you can pretend to be cool again. We did not try the restaurant as it wasn't really a place for our kids, but it looked nice. There was a great breakfast place around the corner from the hotel where you can get a big hot breakfast and plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance for dinner. There is a coffee shop in the lobby with muffins, pastries and a barista that makes good lattes etc. Lincoln park across the street has a small zoo and farm/petting zoo that young kids would enjoy. It's a short cab to the main city attractions (mag mile, millennium park, wrigley field, etc). The hotel has character and the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the downside the free wireless was not good and I had an issue with the paid wireless, but the provider cleared it up when I called. Also, only one device in the room could be connected at a time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Katharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,161)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,753 - 1,759 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here last month (July) for events in Lincoln Park Zoo (Jammin in the Zoo) and Taste of Lincoln Ave.The best thing this place has going is location and the Bellmen that were friendly and over the top accommodating. 2nd. best thing is the roof top bar. They try to pass it off as a club at night but it's really just a bar. Nice views up there. Next time we will stay a little further away and commute to these events. Our room was small, outdated with mattresses on wood foundation. Not as uncomfortable as it sounds. Perfect view of the fire escape. Noisy wall air conditioner that had two options. On or off. Ran all night long. Staff unwilling to accommodate us for a room change 2nd. night. $50.00 per day to park. Overpriced. Much better options not to far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper room facing the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us in regard to your stay with us. Please accept my personal apology for the items you noted. Our beds and guest rooms have been in use just over a year and disappointed that we were unable to find you a room more suitable. Thank you for noting the bellman and the service they provide. I will also pass your comments along to the team at the rooftop. LIncoln Park had some great events when you stayed with us. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to regain your trust next year.

Sincerely,

Robert Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a great stay here. The staff is super nice, from the front desk staff to housekeeping. We had a fantastic talk with our housekeeper, Letisa, she was really helpful with where to go and what to eat that was worth our time. She was an added perk to our stay. Our room looked out to Lincoln Park, great view. Quick walk to Lincoln park zoo, the conservatory and Lake Michigan. The room was nicely decorated, clean and really quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snappie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent four nights on a sisters outing. Location, amenities, staff were all wonderful. Rode all 18 miles of the lakeshore trail on the available bikes. Bikes included baskets, locks and helmets. The rooftop lounge offered exhilarating views and gourmet dishes. The staff was personable, helpful and seemed to take a genuine interest in all the guests. The rooms were immaculate and we had a beautiful view of the lake. Great coffee shop attached.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Lincoln and we will definitely be back. Having lived in the neighborhood for many years, we wanted to find a place to stay "close to home" when we are back in Chicago - and this has become a new "home away from home" for us. The staff is beyond helpful, friendly, happy and accommodating. We stayed at HL last week while we were stopping over in Chicago on my daughter's 10th birthday. The staff (Glen at the front desk deserves a special shout out) went out of their way to make her feel special - delivering cupcakes secretly to our room while we were off on an outing. We stayed in the family suite - and it was perfect. The kids loved the bunk beds - and having their own space. I loved having then close. comfortable, and happy. The tootsie rolls in a secret drawer of the lobby are a fun treat the kids love. And the pedi-cab... such a great touch. This has become our favorite place to stop when we're back home in Sweet Home Chicago. We will be back for sure!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank 500amyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Lincoln has an excellent staff. They cheerfully responded to every request we had. All the newspapers were gone one morning. The fellow on duty immediately located one for me. There was a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived- apparently for a different guest. I called the desk, and was told to keep it.
Our room was small, but sufficient for our needs- even had an umbrella.
The front lobby is often full of people waiting to get into the rooftop bar (beautiful view of the lake at night) or checking in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for just shy of a week, based on the recommendation of a Chicago native. We were very happy with our stay. First, the staff is wonderful. Ariel got us situated and couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We originally thought we'd be arriving earlier and the staff told us they'd arrange for us to have a check-in as early as possible or store our luggage for us. Our flight was delayed, so upon arriving later, everything was ready for us...Great!

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's an easy walk to get to eating spots, The Second City and public transportation. We didn't use a car while we were there, so nearby bus stops were important to us.

Yes, the rooms are small, but you're in an amazing city so why worry about room size? Go out and enjoy what Chicago has to offer...don't sit in your room. That said, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the TV was big, and the decor was fun. If you're looking for generic hotel room furniture, you won't find it here and I enjoyed that.

I'd certainly stay at The Hotel Lincoln again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 191 in Chicago
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#148 of 191 in Chicago
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $126 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing