We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #58 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A stay at the Hotel Lincoln was the centerpiece of our one night stay in Chicago. With just 2 days to spend there and one night in a hotel, we decided to splurge a little on a boutique hotel experience - and the Hotel Lincoln did not disappoint. The location is great - right across from Lincoln Park and the beautiful Northshore Beach, and just a half hour walk to attractions like the legendary Kingston Mines blues club and many of the theatres. But it was the beautiful details inside the hotel and exceptional customer service that truly made this stay memorable for us. Checking in, Glen at the front desk suggested a modest upgrade that provided us a 12th floor room with an unmatched view of Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan. He gave us an overview of the highlights of the hotel and, learning of our plans to visit Kingston Mines, provided discount coupons for the attraction. He also called up to the room to ensure that everything was in order. Beautiful decore in the room as well as in the lobby and business areas were simply icing on the cake for a wonderful stay. Other staff were also very friendly, and many asked how we were enjoying our stay when we passed in the hall or at the elevator. This kind of attention to detail and especially the personal service makes all the difference for us. We'll definitely return for a repeat visit - and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Thanks to Glen and the other staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hiker-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,809 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location is great for doing all Lincoln Park has to offer but still within easy range of downtown. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff service was outstanding and provided a very helpful guidance and was very accommodating.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was initially leery of staying here based on reviews indicating it had a dorm and hostel-like feel. Fortunately, those must have been misinterpretations of a younger, hipper vibe. My room (not a suite) was clean and quiet. The room may be small by US standards, but there was adequate space. It would be a squeeze for a couple with a child over 4. The only real negative is the closet space was completely occupied by the coffee service. The location is ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at Perennial Virant was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chdbndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights and wished we could have extended our stay. This is in a great location, across the street from an expansive (and free) Lincoln Park and Zoo - it takes you away from the urban sprawl in seconds. The neighborhood is low rise, lots of food choices, Second City, real residential zones and just a quick bus ride to downtown and all the sights. We are east coasters, more than familiar with New York and Boston, but Chicago hands down has a welcoming gracious feel. The Lincoln is casual but more than capable, funky and fun but serious when it comes to service. The staff great from check in to check out. Requests for extras were accepted and fulfilled without complaint. We will return again.

Room Tip: Be nice and don't get huffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Jr suite was nice but zero counter space in bathroom. Rooms with view of Lincoln Park can be a bit noisy. Was told to leave card on pillow to get room cleaned - did so but room was not cleaned. There is an active yuppie rooftop bar. They give you a bottle of wine on arrrival. Was charged $49 for valet parking when i had no car - had to call twice to get it removed. Beds are comfortable . Staff is great. I would probably try something else next time - closer to shopping, etc. Rooms were fairly reasonable though but the area is out of the way (no shopping, have to walk a couple blocks to restaurants). Elevators pretty slow. Room service at breakfast and dinner only. Had breakfast: out of potatoes, no tabasco or ketchup on tray, bacon was burnt and 1 small piece of toast.

Room Tip: Ask for counter space in the bathroom if you're a woman! Bring earplugs if room faces Clark St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

All I can say is wow! Rooms are very comfortable, I believe this is a mostly suite property. The hotel is super convenient to everything, and the lobby bistro is excellent. A great staff, a great city, a great location, a great hotel - you really can ask for more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My Family (Wife & 2 young boys 7,9) and I Just finished a 10 Day loop of the Midwest visiting relatives along the way. We started in Atanta to St Louis-Iowa-Chicago-Indiana-Louisville back home. We stayed in several hotels during the adventure, Our stay at the Hotel Lincoln in Chicago was by far the best of the trip. The staff was incredibly friendly, which took me by surprise given the hipster vibe of the place. They were super cool, especially Katherine the young lady who helped with our reservation.

Our departure from Chicago was a bit hectic and we ended up leaving our Camera behind but didn't notice until Louisville 3 days later. I called the Hotel and Ariel was great. She found the camera and arranged to have it shipped back to us in Atlanta when we get home. I got a call from Tim today who was at the shipping store with my Camera asking if I wanted to buy insurance and how much etc.

Blown Away...

Amazing customer service
Fun Hotel (Make sure to really look at the wall of bad art, spectacular.

MG

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,901 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 192 in Chicago
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing