We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oberarnbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was initially leery of staying here based on reviews indicating it had a dorm and hostel-like feel. Fortunately, those must have been misinterpretations of a younger, hipper vibe. My room (not a suite) was clean and quiet. The room may be small by US standards, but there was adequate space. It would be a squeeze for a couple with a child over 4. The only real negative is the closet space was completely occupied by the coffee service. The location is ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at Perennial Virant was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chdbndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    514
    151
    53
    20
See reviews for
567
628
116
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights and wished we could have extended our stay. This is in a great location, across the street from an expansive (and free) Lincoln Park and Zoo - it takes you away from the urban sprawl in seconds. The neighborhood is low rise, lots of food choices, Second City, real residential zones and just a quick bus ride to downtown and all the sights. We are east coasters, more than familiar with New York and Boston, but Chicago hands down has a welcoming gracious feel. The Lincoln is casual but more than capable, funky and fun but serious when it comes to service. The staff great from check in to check out. Requests for extras were accepted and fulfilled without complaint. We will return again.

Room Tip: Be nice and don't get huffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Jr suite was nice but zero counter space in bathroom. Rooms with view of Lincoln Park can be a bit noisy. Was told to leave card on pillow to get room cleaned - did so but room was not cleaned. There is an active yuppie rooftop bar. They give you a bottle of wine on arrrival. Was charged $49 for valet parking when i had no car - had to call twice to get it removed. Beds are comfortable . Staff is great. I would probably try something else next time - closer to shopping, etc. Rooms were fairly reasonable though but the area is out of the way (no shopping, have to walk a couple blocks to restaurants). Elevators pretty slow. Room service at breakfast and dinner only. Had breakfast: out of potatoes, no tabasco or ketchup on tray, bacon was burnt and 1 small piece of toast.

Room Tip: Ask for counter space in the bathroom if you're a woman! Bring earplugs if room faces Clark St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

All I can say is wow! Rooms are very comfortable, I believe this is a mostly suite property. The hotel is super convenient to everything, and the lobby bistro is excellent. A great staff, a great city, a great location, a great hotel - you really can ask for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My Family (Wife & 2 young boys 7,9) and I Just finished a 10 Day loop of the Midwest visiting relatives along the way. We started in Atanta to St Louis-Iowa-Chicago-Indiana-Louisville back home. We stayed in several hotels during the adventure, Our stay at the Hotel Lincoln in Chicago was by far the best of the trip. The staff was incredibly friendly, which took me by surprise given the hipster vibe of the place. They were super cool, especially Katherine the young lady who helped with our reservation.

Our departure from Chicago was a bit hectic and we ended up leaving our Camera behind but didn't notice until Louisville 3 days later. I called the Hotel and Ariel was great. She found the camera and arranged to have it shipped back to us in Atlanta when we get home. I got a call from Tim today who was at the shipping store with my Camera asking if I wanted to buy insurance and how much etc.

Blown Away...

Amazing customer service
Fun Hotel (Make sure to really look at the wall of bad art, spectacular.

MG

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Driving up to Hotel Lincoln I was expecting a grand portico entrance but was surprised to pull up to what looked like the entrance to an apartment building. This is not a bad thing. On the edge of Lincoln Park is this gem of a hotel that fits right into its neighborhood with a hip vibe and funky feel. The lobby is small but inviting with groups of big comfortable chairs. I was early for check in and had to wait for my room but was not upset as there is a great coffee shop off of the lobby and the people watching was a relaxing experience.

Room was adequate for our needs - nice decor, comfy bed. We had the Junior Suite with a pull out sofa and 2 bathrooms which was perfect for 3 people. I did have a small issue with the first room that I checked into, but this problem was courteously resolved by a front desk staff that was eager to meet my needs.

The rooftop bar is a must-do. Fabulous views of the lake and park. Looking for a little wine and conversation though, you need to go there in the afternoon. Atmosphere really heats up late night as this is a popular spot for the 20-something's.

If you're lucky enough to be there on a Saturday, the farmer's market is right across the street! So forget breakfast in a restaurant - grab a coffee and go across the street for some terrific fresh-baked products, pull up a piece of turf and have a picnic!

I gave this rating an "average" on cleanliness - not for the condition of our room, but for the sticky floors in the elevator and the lobby floor just by the elevators.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Took this on a punt as it was opposite Lincoln Park. Fantastic location, close to the park, the zoo, the Old Town on Wells and bus and "L" stops.

Staff were lovely and very attentive. Room was perhaps a little small, but very clean and individually decorated. The rooftop bar is a must, but it gets very busy.

Free wifi is slow (paid upgrade), lifts a little tired, otherwise hard to fault.

Walk straight out to the zoo or relax at the great cafe for breakfast on the patio along the boardwalk nature trail. Head left, left and the right for 50 metres to Bricks for genuinely the best pizza for ages!

Overall a wonderful stay and would definitely come again if you want some peace and only 15 minutes by bus to the magnificent mile.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing