We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chicago!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you are looking for a unique property with friendly employees and an amazing location, look no further! We recently stayed at this property for four nights while visiting our son who plays for the Chicago Cubs. The location of Hotel Lincoln is unbeatable for exploring Lincoln Park, going to the beach, eating at unique restaurants in Old Town and going to Wrigley Field for a game.
We used the complimentary bikes every day to ride along the Lakefront and through the park. The front desk employees were friendly and fun. We booked a room with a king sized bed and a fold out couch, which also had two bathrooms - perfect for a family traveling together. I would not stay anywhere else in Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momkaren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    524
    159
    58
    21
See reviews for
583
644
118
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Lincoln last year and the service was perfect, and we were not let down again this year. We have stayed at various hotels and paid a similar dollar and even more, but the service is genuine at Hotel Lincoln, from the time you enter the door. The hotel has great rooms with fabulous Chicago views. The accommodations and amenities include a fabulous cafe, bicycles, restaurants, workout facility and absolutely beautiful rooftop. The location of Hotel Lincoln is perfect, easy walking distance to anywhere downtown. This Hotel aligns with my great expectations of a boutique hotel and it will yours too. We appreciate everything Lincoln Hotel has to offer....great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerMilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel! Even extended our stay because of the beautiful view of the lake our room offered. The front desk employees (especially Spencer) were amazing and accommodating. They called to check that our room was good minutes after we checked in!! They booked a tour, Sox game and everything else for us!! We were given vouchers for a free appetizer at Lou Melnati's deep dish which we loved! Taxis were available right outside our hotel! We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked The Hotel Lincoln based on reviews on this site and was not disappointed. Traveled to Chicago for the first time with my daughter, 10 and son, 14 and hubbie for a few days. The kids thought the hotel was super cool, as did their dad and I. I was initially irritated when our room wasn't ready until thirty mins after the designated check in due to a delay in cleaning the room. But once we were given our keys, I realized we were upgraded to the family suite we originally wanted but didn't book bc of our budget. The room was awesome, very clean and spacious, with THE MOST comfy bed we've ever slept in. The kids had their own room w a bunk bed and private bath. Staff was gracious, helpful, personable and endearing (special thx to Eric and Fabian). We didnt have any issues with loud noise in the hotel, toiletries provided were awesome, didn't make it to the rooftop bar bc of the kids, but really wanted to. We didnt find the elevators to be slow like other reviewers. I literally CANNOT FIND ONE NEGATIVE. GREAT EXPERIENCE. THANKS HOTEL LINCOLN ... WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestMegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Street, MI
Level Contributor
205 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

During frequent spring trips to Chicago, we had always stayed at downtown hotels, either chains or one particular boutique hotel that had issues. This trip, we needed to stay further north. We decided on Hotel Lincoln because of the reviews on various rating sites, but also for its proximity to Lincoln Park and the zoo (right across the street). I felt as though we were transported to a hotel in Pleasantville! As we drove up, we were eagerly greeted by bellhops in plaid shirts and khakis. The females at the front desk, equally pleasant, wore blue polka-dot dresses. What could be more festive than that! The desk is fronted with dresser drawers. Rooms are small, but clean, adequate and have modern amenities. None of the staff appear to be over thirty! All were pleasant and enthusiastic. Even the pedi-cab driver jumped up to help manage luggage on our way out. This was also our first intro to a very walkable Old Town, with fun shops and restaurants to explore, many with outdoor seating. Next trip to Chicago,we definitey will stay here again!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a king room with a park view. It was nice, though you get a view of the busy stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 206JanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Lincoln for business in mid-July. The location was perfect and the staff was incredibly help. I have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and the Hotel Lincoln marks my best experience to date. Check out the rooftop bar! Elaine's, the coffee shop, is a great place for breakfast and for getting work done between meetings. I just found my go-to Chicago hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kortni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Some of the staff was so [--], I thought they might be heirs to the Massingill fortune.

I do not like to rip staff unless the experience really was that bad. It is a hard job and if a staff even tries, I want to give them credit. Not the case here. The attitude was almost at a cartoonish level. What was supposed to be a nice relaxing vacation with my wife became a completely frustrating experience. It is interesting because in the reviews here, you will see this sentiment echoed by more than one reviewer, and all I can say is: It's true.

I would add info on the quality of the rooms or the hotel itself, but I think that would be pointless, that is how turned off I was.

Chicago is a wonderful city with so many fantastic hotels, especially more boutique type hotels, there is really no reason to stay here.

Also be warned, the website mentions guest parking, but they have no dedicated parking lot. They share a lot with Lincoln Park and the zoo and it fills up fast. That parking is 28/night with no in/out privileges. Next is a lot on North, again not their own, that is 34/night. The valet costs 50/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear BP

Thank you for providing your feedback. We are very disappointed and concerned your experience with the hotel was anything but amazing. Please contact me directly so we may further review ways to continue to improve.

Sincerely,

Robert Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,720 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#93 of 189 in Chicago
1,589 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 189 in Chicago
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing