We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Lincoln has lost its way since opening its rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #54 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was once a quaint boutique property. Now you are greeting by arrogant, pretentious staff. The coffee shop's glass shelves displaying antique phones are lined with dust and grease. The front desk staff is useless as they are constantly distracted with private conversation and catering to their favorite guests while ignoring others. When we called for valet for our car, on several occasions we were told that the front desk staff did not notify valet that we needed our car (despite us calling 30 minutes previously). The rooms are old. The bedside lamps hung sideways (broken) for the full 3 days that we were there. In addition, one day we returned to our room at 3 pm and it still hadn't been cleaned. Day two, we asked the front desk to have it cleaned while we were out for a few hours. We returned and it hadn't been cleaned. The vending machine is the only way to get water after the coffee shop closes each day. We had to search multiple floors to find a machine that would vend water and we also found it irritating that we could not use cash in the machines and we had to swipe the credit card multiple times to get each bottle of water. I'm sure the machines overcharged us. The room service food was terrible. And while the view on the rooftop is lovely, the small plate food was a poor excuse for $15. The bellhops were clueless and lacked professionalism overall. They wear the same shirt, but it doesn't look like a proper bellhop uniform and since there are never more than one bellhop outside, you would not know that they work for the hotel. One other thing - we've stayed at this property 4 times in the past year and each time, the experience has been progressively worse. We think management and owners should be aware. What a shame because it is a true gem in terms of historical value and location in the city. Also we were disappointed that we were given a room with a view of an alley when we booked the room 4 months in advance.

Room Tip: Insist on a lake front view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluedogNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,795 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The décor was perfectly eclectic. The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast in the tiny café was no hassle. The rooftop bar was beautiful and extremely popular, even on a Thursday night. On Friday night, there was a waiting list to go up.

The location was amazing. The Second City was about four blocks. The brown line/Sedgewick station was about 6 blocks. Crate and Barrel etc. was about 10-12 blocks. The main street of Old Town, where there are many restaurants, bars, etc. was five blocks.

You MUST go to breakfast or brunch at Nookies on Wells on the weekend. The trio of French toast was incredible.

The only thing that kept this from being a 5 was that it wasn't perfectly clean; very few hotels are, and it was no better or worse than hundreds of hotels I stay in. It was also somewhat worn, but completely serviceable.

Room Tip: My adult son and I were in junior suite #1007. There was one queen or king sized (can't remembe...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great hotel with amazing staff. Definitely recommend. Hotel has great location and the cafe in the lobby had wonderful breakfast crepes. Cannot say enough about the fantastic staff. Roof top bar defintely worth a visit and always nice to stay in Lincoln Park...close to downtown with much more charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel could not get rooms ready in time for check in. Makes for a very bad start to a vacation after a very long and early flight to get here. If check in is at 3, then have the rooms ready by 3. The hotel was at least kind enough to store our luggage while we waited on a room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location between Old Town and Lincoln Park. Cute and artsy. Staff wonderful. Rooms have been remodeled. Walking distant to many restaurants, bars in Old Town. Fabulous roof top bar with breathtaking lake views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawksFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

For those of you that know Chicago, it has been impossible to find a quality hotel on the north side of the city. People who do not want to stay on Michigan Avenue have been hard pressed for another option....until Hotel LIncoln. This boutique hotel is located in Lincoln Park with great access to all the north side of the city has to offer. It is easy to get a cab and also access public transportation. We were traveling with our two children, 11 and 7, and despite its cool image and hot rooftop bar, we were not made to feel unwelcome. Skip the overpriced Michigan Avenue hotels and stay in a better location. You are just steps from fabulous boutique shopping on Armitage Avenue.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, request the "family suite." You will have access to a set...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel Lincoln and it felt like I was coming back home. The desk staff said they remembered me, and even if they didn't actually remember me from 10 months ago, it was a sincere welcome. I asked for a last minute upgrade so I could have a nicer visit with my 9 year old daughter and my older children who live and work in Chicago. I got that, and also a lovely welcome gift and a phone call to see if everything was to satisfactory once I settled in my room. I did join the Joie de Vivre Club after my first stay because I knew I'd be back, and I think that's a good idea as it lets them know you are looking to be a repeat customer. The rooftop bar is a popular spot and the restaurant downstairs has a great farm to table menu. This location is excellent for everything, including the Lincoln Park Zoo, bikes to borrow to ride all the way downtown, a beach for swimming, mini golf, great restaurants, a farmer's market, street fairs...The price is higher than economy hotels, but it's well worth it!

Room Tip: Only stayed there twice but each room was great facing different directions.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,867 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 191 in Chicago
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#148 of 191 in Chicago
231 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $126 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing