We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #46 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
glendale, ca
2 reviews
“first trip to Chicago”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

great location in the heart of "old town" Lincoln Park.close to public transportation. very friendly and helpful staff .nice room with a view of the lake. great restaurants within walking distance. and close it a "must see" Chicago tradition Second City.

Room Tip: select a mini suite with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripkevinadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    524
    159
    57
    21
See reviews for
582
642
118
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had used Hotel Lincoln last year as the spot for my wedding guests - they were organized, helpful and fabulous to work with throughout the whole process. My guests all raved about the hotel and their experience there. So, I decided to stay myself when I visited Chicago this past week - I was blown away. The rooms have a fun and unique style; the hotel staff was very kind and quick to help; the rooftop bar was a perfect way to spend the afternoon; and, the waterfront/park location was incredible. We had a blast exploring Lincoln Park.

I would recommend Hotel Lincoln to anyone headed to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
736 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First time we had stayed at Hotel Lincoln, since we usually stay in the River North area. However, we were visiting family for Easter on the north side, so decided to give Hotel Lincoln a try after reading TA reviews. Not disappointed in the least bit. Hotel is older, but has been remodeled. Our room was spacious (king bed) and it had 2 bathrooms, which my wife thought was a great benefit. We had a view west of the city. Staff was very friendly. If you're going to Lincoln Park Zoo, you can't beat the location of this hotel....right across the street. We also enjoyed walking the neighborhood and exploring new places.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you go to Chicago, Hotel Lincoln should be your hotel choice! Matthew at the front desk is a fountain of knowledge. Our room was beautiful, clean and the view was awesome. This hotel made us feel like we were ultra VIP's. Join the Joie de Vivre loyalty program. Matthew personally delivered a welcome card and complementary bottled water to our room and thanked us for choosing Hotel Lincoln and for being a part of Joie de Vivre.
The hotel restaurant where we had breakfast had really good food and fast courteous service. Hotel Lincoln is close to downtown and Lincoln Park. It will be our only choice when we are in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for the park view. It is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel Lincoln will be our FIRST choice for accommodations when visiting Chicago from here forward. Kimberly in Reservations was paramount in making our visit stress-free -- she went above and beyond in helping us with our reservations when we had to call to reschedule due to the death of my husband's mother. She took care of everything for us.... we'll be going back to the HL primarily because of Kimberly. Then we met Fabian at check-in... I think he makes EVERY guest feel like a very special VIP -- he sure made us feel that way. We asked for a refrigerator in the room and it was there very quickly. Every employee treated us like we were the most important guests in the hotel -- amazing -- they probably treat every guest like that! The décor, the room, the bed, the bathroom, the lobby, the café far exceeded our expectations. The only disappointment was that we simply ran out of time to visit the roof top bar and restaurant.... but we're planning to do that on our next trip to Chicago.... we'll be staying at the Hotel Lincoln. I don't think you'll be disappointed in anything there.... we sure were not.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite -- it was spacious, quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtoast50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Lincoln while visiting DePaul University. It's a short walk to Old Towne where there are lots of cool shops and nice restaurants. A longer walk to Lincoln Park but this is the best hotel in the area. Our room was very spacious and clean. Service was excellent. Nothing bad to say - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went to meet all of my high school friends there o Saturday, April 27th. It started out okay until large crowds began to come in that looked like regulars. We were having a great time in the beginning and the space was reserved way in advance. Everything started going downhill when a hostess asked two of my friends who were sitting on a couch to move without alternate accomodations to accomodate customer who were arriving. How RUDE! who does that? We are paying customers and have a right to sit anywhere we want. That put a damper on the rest of the evening. How dare the staff ask my friends to move to another seat. We all left after that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madonna83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#93 of 189 in Chicago
1,587 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 189 in Chicago
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing