We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Lincoln”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #37 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Lincoln”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to the city of Chicago for our son's Naval Boot Camp graduation and stayed in the city at the Hotel Lincoln. We traveled late on a Thursday night and didn't arrive to the hotel until nearly 2:00am. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly ( and chilly) valet. Happy to see us and helped us with our bags graciously. Once in the hotel, we met Terrance ( I do believe that is his name) He was a sight for sore and tired eyes...such a friendly person and again, so happy to see us and get us to our room quickly. The hotel was decorated in a kicky style and immediately made us feel welcomed. We got to our room and it was WONDERFUL! It was cozy, warm and very charming. We loved everything about it...the bed, the tv, the shower and the customer service was out of this world. We checked in and realized that a queen bed was cutting it close for us, as we each like a lot of sleep space and we asked for a king. Within seconds Terrance rang our room and had us moved immediately to another room...now THAT is customer service! We were in the city of Chicago for only 3 days ...and each time we would come in and out of the hotel, we were greeted with warm and friendly "hellos" and " have a great trip" " what can I do for you?" "Where are you going and would you like directions?" Paying attention to the customer is what matters. Our needs were met!

Room Tip: We believe any room at any hotel would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    501
    143
    49
    17
See reviews for
546
613
114
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel Lincoln is absolutely one of the very best hotels I've ever stayed at! Everything about the place is superb: the funky, ever-fascinating interior design; the comfortable, attractive rooms; the excellent coffee shop; the elegant and fun rooftop bar; the lakeside location, new downtown; and most of all, the genuinely warm and friendly staff. I also understand that the restaurant in the hotel is also first-class, but we didn't have a chance to go on this visit ... but there will be many happy returns, I can assure you!

Book immediately!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is unique and cozy. The room we had was pretty small but we all seemed to fit perfectly. The location is excellent, you can walk to the zoo within minutes and enjoy the nightlife of lincoln park. The staff was welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay there another time.

Room Tip: Looking towards the Zoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My Boyfriend and I really enjoyed out stay at Hotel Lincoln. Great Front Desk Associates, Bell Men, and Valet! Everyone was very helpful and always had a smile on their face! We will deifintely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Lincoln. The location near Lincoln Park Zoo, Lake Michigan and the nature trails was perfect for the whole family. The hotel is a little dated, but the renovations make the best of it. Also, several decent restaurants are withing walking distance, and the hotel is on a major bus route so you can get anywhere in the city!

Room Tip: there is a connected room with separate baths for a big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent only one night here, but would love to return. The location is great, the staff was friendly, the room, although smallish, was very clean and charming. Nice view of the Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan. Loved the decor - eclectic; funky. Kudos to the parking valets as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtroads15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with my family & had nothing less than an excellent experience. There were 3 adults & 1 child in our suite, room 1002. We had a living room with fold out sofa (comfortable), 2 full bathrooms, 2 closets, a hall with full length mirror, & a bedroom with king sized bed with a good view of Lincoln Park & Lake Michigan. Entire suite was very, very clean. The deal closer is the staff; every interaction we had with each employee in this building (bell staff, front desk, house keeping, maintenance guys in elevator, elevator lounge escort, Elaine's Coffee Call baristas, & Perennial Virant hostesses/waiters) was an absolute pleasure. These folks were helpful, efficient, & seemed sincere in their friendliness.

Room Tip: the rooms ending in 02 are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1970Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing