We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Lincoln is a perfectly charming hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotel Lincoln has been my hotel of choice at least the last 4 times I have been in Chicago. The Hotel is charming, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms, while not large, are very comfortable and clean. Lastly, the rooftop bar has the most incredible view of Lincoln Park and the Lake that I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,937 - 1,943 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Porters were there to greet us promptly, and advised us on cheaper parking instead of using valet. Even watched the car for us at the curb while we checked in and dropped our bags off. Our room was ready upon arrival, and staff was very fast and efficient. She made sure to tell us all the features of the hotel, the roof top lounge, the resturant, and the coffee shop. I loved the quirky feel of the lobby, and decor. She also helped me with a little phone charging issue, it turns out all the rooms had an iPhone docking station! The rooms are rather small, however the bed is comfy, and the room was clean! I think the windows could use a good cleaning from the outside. The only negative I have was that the walls are rather thin.... And I will leave it at that. The roof top lounge had a fantastic view, great place to start an evening. The coffee shop was fantastic, and the resturant was a nice place to have a Nightcap! The entire staff was fantastic, and I really, really appreciate that!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated on a beautiful corner -- close to old town restaurants, the park and even the loop. Its eclectic decor and personable staff made this our new go to hotel when visiting our daughter who lives in Chicago. Be sure to check out the view (and a specialty drink) from the roof top bar!
Oh, and they get extra kudos for being dog friendly!

Room Tip: The junior suite has a king bed and a separate room with bunk beds and its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with your daughter while staying at Hotel Lincoln! Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. The first room they put us in was too small. We changed to a double bed room and it was much better. One major thing in the bathroom, there is absolutely no vanity. For example when you dry your hair you have to put a towel in the sink because there is no where to put the hair dryer. When you enter the hotel, the furnishings look worn and we felt the lobby has an overall shabby appearance. The staff was great and very accomodating. More attention to detail, like the power went out in our room on one side; the toilet paper holder fell off the wall; the hair dryer was broken; and there was a very, very loud screeching noise on the other side of the wall due to the ice machine. They did stop the noise and repaired and replaced everything else. Also the one mattress in our room had a hole in the middle, the other mattress was good. The fan in the room went on and off constantly. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the vegan muffin & the buttermilk muffin in the coffee shop are absolutely amazing.We would stay there again when they have specials.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A hidden gem of a hotel tucked in near Old Town and Lincoln Park area! We found the staff very friendly and helpful; rooms were comfortable and clean; food and drinks at restaurants amazing! On Saturday they had a market set up on the 2nd floor, complete with a President Lincoln look alike that was realistic! Valet staff did an outstanding job getting guests in and out of a very congested area. Will repeat an adventure at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathiMeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for coming to our Pop Up Market over Presidents Day Weekend! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your interractions with our staff - we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The size of a hotel room can't be criticized if it's not a feature that the hotel promotes as an attraction. It was a shoebox with a lake view. Opening the door to the room I halted as I took it in, feeling as some do when they stay in my hometown of Manhattan and they're shocked by how small the rooms are.

Nevertheless, Perennial Virant restaurant off the lobby is a fine farm-to-table option, adjoining Elaine's Coffee Shop serves delectable coffee and steel cut oatmeal in the morning, and the rooftop bar, even during winter, offers a view of the lake that's without compare.

I don't like heat vents that blow air because of the noise they make. This is the kind of heating system // radiator in this old building. It diminishes the upgrade of the hotel but doesn't erase its charms.

Room Tip: Ask when you reserve if you have to trade space for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UptownScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed one night and the Hotel Lincoln and loved it! The hotel was very stylish and modern; the rooms were cheery with extra little details that set it apart from other hotels. The view from the roof top bar was marvelous and the food at the restaurant was amazing!! Everyone in our group raved about their dinners. And every staff member we encountered was friendly (always smiling) and helpful. We can’t wait to come stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#79 of 192 in Chicago
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $118 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing