We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already made reservations for another stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #34 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Normal, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Already made reservations for another stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriends and I had so much fun at this wonderful hotel that we made reservations to have another girls weekend in 2 months for St Patty's Day. The staff were all very accommodating and the food at J Parker was excellent! We didn't try to the attached restaurant but we will next time we visit. We had 2 junior suites and they were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMH_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    484
    134
    46
    17
See reviews for
525
601
109
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great place to headquarter for a Chicago/Lincoln Park getaway. I love the contemporary flair to the decor. Comfy bed and excellent pillows. All of the staff were very gracious. The lobby coffee bar is great. And next time I'm going to try the fine-dining, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had wonderful service thanks to Glenn at the front desk. He was able to accomodate our 8:30 a.m. arrival with a smile! We thought we would only check our bags. Instead we received our room and had a little time to relax before our busy visit. The decor is FUN! Very clean. Comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. Location was fabulous for our DePaul college visit. We were able to walk easily between the campus and public transit. I highly recommend both the coffee shop and restaurant. Also recommend a run through Lincoln Park Zoo to the Lakefront bike path down to Navy Pier. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was visiting a friend in Chicago, and needed to find a hotel near Lincoln Park. Hotel Lincoln seemed to be the logical choice. Although check-in isn't until 3PM, they allowed me to check in at 12:30. The staff is very friendly and made me feel right at home. The hotel is small, but interesting in a quirky sort of way. My room was small, but not remarkably so. It was plenty big enough for me, and could have accommodated two people easily, unless they brought a lot of luggage. The bathroom was also small, and there isn't much room for toilet articles, etc. The heater in the room worked perfectly. There seemed to be very few people staying at the hotel while I was there, so I can't really address the problems others have reported with the elevators and hot water; all I can say is they weren't a problem for me. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the room (and the rest of the hotel) was very clean. I was on the fifth floor, and was not bothered by street noise at all. There is a nice coffee shop just off the lobby, and a fun bar on the 12th floor; you have to take a special elevator to reach it. Drinks are on the expensive side, but it has an excellent view. I would make one suggestion. Chicago is the least smoker-friendly city in the country, and Hotel Lincoln is "smoke-free." I don't mind going outside to smoke, but the management might consider investing in an ashtray outside the lobby for guests who smoke, so their sidewalk isn't littered with cigarette butts. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here, and would definitely come back again. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it is more than adequate in every way, and the location can't be beat. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The service was impeccable. The young hipsters were very sweet.
They upgraded us to a room with a better view, but it didn't have a king bed as we had orginally requested. The front desk moved us to a different room immediately, and came up on the elevator with a key right away. And we still had a little view of Lincoln Park.
If you don't mind a queen bed, ask for a room with a lake view on the 9th floor.

You can tell the hotel has been there for some time, and the rooms are on the small end. But the boutique updates made it very nice and we found the room to be very comfortable for us.

Don't skip the restaurant or coffee shop. Both are excellent. Sadly, we never made it to the roof top bar, but it looks like it would be very fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was a delight! Sure, it's quirky, but that's one of the reasons we liked it. Funky decor and art make it truly unique. The location can't be beat. The Lincoln has its own coffee spot, bar and farm to table restaurants, but its walking distance to more bars, eateries and shops. The FREE Lincoln Park Zoo is across the street, the FREE Conservatory a bit farther down. The best part is the staff, friendly, accommodating, helpful and they LOVE dogs!!! Our dog was happy there and we were easily able to walk him across the street through the park. We'd definitely stay at the Hotel Lincoln again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina11oh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all , location , friendliness , charm and cleanliness !! Great Rooftop bar , with views!! Will defiantly be coming back ! Excellent price ! The staff was there to help at all hours ! Good security.... Easy to get a taxi right outside front door !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumby45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#68 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing