We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was visiting a friend in Chicago, and needed to find a hotel near Lincoln Park. Hotel Lincoln seemed to be the logical choice. Although check-in isn't until 3PM, they allowed me to check in at 12:30. The staff is very friendly and made me feel right at home. The hotel is small, but interesting in a quirky sort of way. My room was small, but not remarkably so. It was plenty big enough for me, and could have accommodated two people easily, unless they brought a lot of luggage. The bathroom was also small, and there isn't much room for toilet articles, etc. The heater in the room worked perfectly. There seemed to be very few people staying at the hotel while I was there, so I can't really address the problems others have reported with the elevators and hot water; all I can say is they weren't a problem for me. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the room (and the rest of the hotel) was very clean. I was on the fifth floor, and was not bothered by street noise at all. There is a nice coffee shop just off the lobby, and a fun bar on the 12th floor; you have to take a special elevator to reach it. Drinks are on the expensive side, but it has an excellent view. I would make one suggestion. Chicago is the least smoker-friendly city in the country, and Hotel Lincoln is "smoke-free." I don't mind going outside to smoke, but the management might consider investing in an ashtray outside the lobby for guests who smoke, so their sidewalk isn't littered with cigarette butts. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here, and would definitely come back again. This isn't a luxury hotel, but it is more than adequate in every way, and the location can't be beat. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    400
    116
    38
    14
See reviews for
407
493
87
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The service was impeccable. The young hipsters were very sweet.
They upgraded us to a room with a better view, but it didn't have a king bed as we had orginally requested. The front desk moved us to a different room immediately, and came up on the elevator with a key right away. And we still had a little view of Lincoln Park.
If you don't mind a queen bed, ask for a room with a lake view on the 9th floor.

You can tell the hotel has been there for some time, and the rooms are on the small end. But the boutique updates made it very nice and we found the room to be very comfortable for us.

Don't skip the restaurant or coffee shop. Both are excellent. Sadly, we never made it to the roof top bar, but it looks like it would be very fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyattearp220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was a delight! Sure, it's quirky, but that's one of the reasons we liked it. Funky decor and art make it truly unique. The location can't be beat. The Lincoln has its own coffee spot, bar and farm to table restaurants, but its walking distance to more bars, eateries and shops. The FREE Lincoln Park Zoo is across the street, the FREE Conservatory a bit farther down. The best part is the staff, friendly, accommodating, helpful and they LOVE dogs!!! Our dog was happy there and we were easily able to walk him across the street through the park. We'd definitely stay at the Hotel Lincoln again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina11oh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all , location , friendliness , charm and cleanliness !! Great Rooftop bar , with views!! Will defiantly be coming back ! Excellent price ! The staff was there to help at all hours ! Good security.... Easy to get a taxi right outside front door !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumby45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Old hotels often transform into charming, quaint boutiques. But sometimes a lot of the old hotel clings. The Lincoln is a mix. Interesting decor reminiscent of some of the Kimptons, but oh so tiny are the rooms. Built-in shelving over the sink makes it nearly impossible to wash your face without hitting your head or soaking yourself trying to stand back. The itty-bitty desk is large enough for a laptop, but don't plan on laying papers or reference materials nearby. The light filtering shade is nice when you want light filtering in, but there's no curtains to pull when you don't.

That said, the hotel is in a great location directly across from Lincoln Park and the zoo, close to Old Town, Steppenwolf and other interesting theatres and restaurants, including the Perennial Virant nestled into the street level corner of the hotel. Staff are very pleasant and the rooms are quite clean.

Room Tip: Requesting a room with two beds probably opens up a little space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southbound2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I took a little 'staycation' here after New Years and found it very relaxing. We found a great price on Priceline, and probably in part because it's off-season, it was nice and quiet. Our dog came along as well; the hotel has a great pet policy--a one time fee of 35$. I know the city well, so I don't find the parking a problem There are actually several options for on-street parking, some of it free. You just have to be persistent and look on surrounding streets (though make sure to read the signs to avoid residential parking restrictions!)

The decor is generally fun; perhaps a little overly tchotckied, but I appreciate the attempt at an aesthetic that is unique. The wall art is the best I've ever seen in a hotel. We had no issues with cleanliness, and the rooms are a perfectly appropriate size for a city hotel. The linens are perfection and the bed is amazingly comfortable. The only complaint I have about the room is the heat/AC units are quite loud.

This is a great choice if you want to get away from the overly commercial hustle and bustle of the standard Michigan Avenue hotel; it's close to public transportation, a stone's throw from the lake (and the park, and the zoo, and the conservatory, and the nature center--making it an especially great choice for summer visits) and good restaurants. You can enjoy downtown, if that's what you want, yet stay in a more laidback area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillian646
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I LOVE this hotel! My husband and I have stayed here twice in the past 5 months.. you can't beat the price for this sort of location in Chicago. During the summer they have free bike rentals, and be sure to have a drink up on their rooftop bar! If you are familiar with parking, then you can easily find street parking to avoid their costly valet service.

I wouldn't even bother researching other hotels in the area because Hotel Lincoln is the best! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillian646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#59 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#36 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,872 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#31 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing