We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot just off the Mag Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flint, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect spot just off the Mag Mile”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went for the weekend shopping. This hotel is just 3 miles north of the Mag Mile and affordable and Bus stop is right in front of hotel. Cab fare to Mag Mile $9.50 Hotel was very clean and extremely friendly helpful staff. Would absolutely stay there again. Rooms were a little small but didn't need anything more. Upscale neighborhood and Original Pancake house 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    544
    174
    66
    26
See reviews for
625
675
126
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel Lincoln is a boutique hotel located on the north side, one of Chicago's upscale neighborhoods. It overlooks Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan; a perfect location with small shops, restaurants, and Second City a short distance. If you are inclined to walking, which I am, you can walk the promenade by the lake or down the street into downtown Chicago. it is quite a walk but it can be invigorating! The hotel has been refurbished with an eclectic style. The very attentive staff is dressed in 50's fashion. The rooms are on the small side. The coffee pot table is in the closet and has to be moved out to use. The bathroom has a very limited amount of space, especially if have lots of toiletries! Because it is an older hotel electrical outlets are hard to reach. Keep in mind that it does offer free wifi and is pet friendly! The rooms are a little pricey so you should look for specials.
Hotel Lindoln has a rooftop bar, The Parker, that is considered on of the 'hottest spots.'. You can sit inside or outside. There is a fire pit, couches and and a bar outdoors. The menu consists of small plates that can be mixed and matched with an interesting wine list.

Room Tip: Think about how close you want to be to downtown Chicago. If it doesn't matter it is a great lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl_987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Opened just a few months ago; the hotel is located in affluent Lincoln Park neighborhood and very close to down town with a magnificent view of the lake and the park. The rooftop bar is great and the food and service are excellent. The rooms is clean and the bed is cozy and comfortable. Although my room was on the 10th floor, I still could hear the street noise especially on Friday and Saturday nights, but expected if you are staying in and busy city center like Chicago so bring you ear plugs. I enjoyed the stay but I feel it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My Family visited Chicago this past June. I grew up near Chicago, but had not visited for many years. To be honest, I was shocked at the cost of a hotel room. Somehow we happened upon the Hotel Lincoln and booked the room. The price was not cheap, but the price was fair and the hotel was young, fun, perfectly located, and we will be back. The front desk and manager could not have made us feel more welcome. We did not have a chance to eat in the restaurant on the ground floor, but I have heard nothing but praise for the food and service. Bottom line, give this place a try, save some money and treat yourself to a great time and have a few dollars left in your wallet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelQQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel mainly because of the price. It turned out to be the best thing about our trip. The staff was great and helpful. They were always willing to help us out no matter how busy they were. Glen and all of the staff were great going us ideas on where to eat how to get there, nd due to there weather giving us umbrellas to borrow. The room was nice, we didn't have a view but it was still nice. We would like to go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, but if they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visit our daughter in Lincoln Park frequently and have not been able to find a comfortable place to stay nearby. This is it. The staff could not be nicer. Our room was small but clean, newly renovated and comfortable. We could have upgraded to a larger room but no reason to. There is a very popular restaurant, (make reservations in advance!)a great roof top bar with excellent views of the city, and a small coffee shop in the lobby. This is a great choice if you want to stay in a residential neighborhood but close to the city.

Room Tip: Because this is a city, higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merylsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is always great to find a new place to explore in Chicago. We made a reservation for the Hotel Lincoln just based on their website. Being right across from Lincoln Park, it is a great location. You get to see a more residental side of Chicago, while still being able to walk to the Magnificiant Mile, should you chose.

The hotel itself is beautiful. It has such great character and the staff was AWESOME.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,826 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 190 in Chicago
911 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing