We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, lacking in so many other ways...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #37 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views, lacking in so many other ways...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent two nights at the newly opened Hotel Lincoln last weekend. Fantastic location. Splendid views of Lake Michigan. Outstanding staff. Mediocre rooms in a terrible building. The renovation tries, but sadly fails. The rooms are teeny (cannot imagine two people trying to spend more than a night or two there), the bathrooms are border line unusable (no place to set anything down and no towel hooks - we hung wet towels on the flat screen TV). Worst is there is no insulation between the rooms (was an old apt building). We were awakened by our neighbors TV at 2 am one night (called front desk and they asked the poor person to turn down the volume) and a baby screaming the second morning. By the time we left we were EXHAUSTED. For the price point I would not choose this hotel again. We have stayed at many hotels in Chicago area and it makes no sense to settle on Hotel Lincoln.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    501
    143
    49
    17
See reviews for
546
613
114
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed in hotels around the world at about the same price point that combine the cool location factor and hip vibe promised by the Hotel Lincoln. Alas, Hotel Lincoln takes the prize for being the very worst. What are they thinking: tiny and outdated room and bath, poor water pressure and not enough hot, no mini-bar or even water glasses, only one task light, and zero art program coupled with totally depressing decor. We should have known from the receptionist's pok-a-dot frock and the plaid carpet in the hall before we even entered the room. The only passing grade is on the linens: dense white towels and reasonable sheet thread count. Count this one off our list. Come on Chicago, you can do better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at the wonderful Lincoln Hotel, a jdv property on Clark St. in Chicago. Newly remodeled, clean, great in-house restaurant, great walking area. We were in room 815-great room, views of Lake view Michigan and L.P. Zoo.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Found on an internet search and attracted by the pictures of the decoration, this recently renovated spot in "Old Town" Chicago turned out to be the perfect place to stay and enjoy the city. Hotel Lincoln is located just a few steps from Lincoln Park and Zoo and The North Avenue Beach and features a "super-cool" space design where Todd Oldham meets Tommy Hilfiger (too bad that the executor of the decoration did not care of some details of the set up).
The staff is friendly, knowledgable and will do what the can to help you enjoy your stay with great recommendations and advice, including a bike ride on brand new bikes free for guests.
This is a deal, not only for the price but for the location, service and overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagofan2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear ChicagoFan -

Thank you for your lovely comments in regard to Hotel Lincoln, the staff and the décor. We are so fortunate to be in this neighborhood and have those amenities literally outside our front door. We are glad you enjoyed the bikes, they are made here in Chicago! Upon your next visit, we will have the Hotel Lincoln pedi-Cab rolling through the streets adding to more adventures for you.

Comments have been shared with the team – We look forward to welcoming you back.

Bob Shelley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Lincoln for a recent trip to Chicago for a wedding. It was a fantastic location, even though it's not super close to the el. There are buses with stops very close by. The vibe of the hotel is very fun, and the decor makes up for the smaller room and bathroom size. I would definitely sacrifice space for both price and location (which were excellent). I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotellincoln, General Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear KMS-
There are many options when staying to Chicago and I am thrilled you found us. The “vibe” is fun but more important, we have a wonderful team that enjoys creating it. The location, no creating needed, we lucked out on that one.....

We look forward to you and your husband’s return.

Bob Shelley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was tickled by how creative interior designers can be with a small space. These rooms are small, but they have everything one needs for a comfortable and reasonably priced stay in Chicago. Location is very good. Our room was on the street side, and it was noisy, to be sure. But it's a city, what else can one expect? Staff was courteous and friendly. One could have wished for more noise insulation from the antics next door, however entertaining. I would suggest that travelers keep this in mind! Overall, nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, choose a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is another Joie de Vivre refurb, taking an old property and making it fresh again. This place has only been reopened a short time. It's young, hip and nicely eclectic in decor. Because it's old, the rooms are tiny. They maximize space with a minimum of furniture -- the desk is tiny, as is the chair, and they've mounted the flat screen TV on the wall. Still, it's well appointed. The bath is also small, but water pressure is good, the shower head one of those newer large rainshower numbers. Not a lot of counter space in the bathroom -- none actually -- but you can manage to use the little shelves attached to the large mirror.

Parking is expensive -- $44 for overnight -- but I actually found street parking directly across the street that suited me fine, as long as I got up at 8am to feed the meter. I wound up paying a total of $28 for two days on the street instead of $88 for two days of valet. I hear the restaurant is good, but I didn't try it.

I paid $79 a night on Hotwire, so I don't know what their rack rate is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing