We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Hidden Treasure"”
Review of Tavernita - CLOSED

Tavernita
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: LaSalle St
Transit: 156 Bus CTA Train: Chicago-Brown Line Grand-Red Line
TORONTO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"The Hidden Treasure"”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was just past lunch time, tired of shopping on the Magnificent Mile on Michigan, so we decided to find Tavernita that came to us highly recommended. We walked west from Michigan onto Erie and must have gone about ten blocks. There it was finally on the corner, a cute little bar, restaurant but when you went inside it stretched a lot bigger than what it looked like from the outside. I order a Spanish draft beer, and my wife was going to order a pinot grigio, when the waitress says have you ever had our sangria's. My wife said no, but I think that sounds great and she ordered one. Off-course my beer is cold and smooth and goes down just fine, but her sangria looked even better than mine. We begin to order some tapas, a variety of items to munch on. Meanwhile the waitress comes back and asked how my wife liked her sangria. My wife said it's great better than the ones I had in Spain a few years back. She then said we make about five varieties and flavors and would you like to sample a few. She said sure, and a few minutes later there they were. She could not pick the best one, they all tasted amazing to her. So the tapas the drinks, the atmosphere sitting out in the patio, and the service was absolutely breath taking. Next time we will visit Tavernita for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
652 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good things going on here”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent! This place was a major surprise. The food is outstanding (more on that later), but the wines and drinks were also terrific. I usually avoid "house" cocktails, but am very glad I tried the "Dirty Pig on Fire"--caution, I like spice, and this drink has it. Our server was great. I am glad we tried his recommendations. The salmon crudo was tasty, as was the Escalivada. The real stars, though, were the tomato/watermelon/shrimp salad and the lamb sausage. We also enjoyed dessert, a dulce de leche concoction. One small nit; this spot is quite noisy. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of Tasty Small Plate Options”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Went here on a Saturday night with some friends. We got there and it was very busy and loud. It had a fun young atmosphere. They had an extensive drink menu but I didn't like my wine on tap as much as out of the bottle. There had a large selection of options. Two of my favorites were the ravioli and scallops.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GundTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went here with a few friends on a Friday night, got seated immediately, which was a pleasant surprise. The waiters were more than kind. With each dish they brought to the table, they explained exactly what it was, what it was made of, etc. Delicious doesn't even begin to explain the way the food tasted. I left stuffed and very satisfied. Reasonable prices for the ridiculously great food. Definitely will go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went on a Saturday night, place was very busy. Very cool atmosphere. Yes, it is loud, but my husband and I were able to carry on a conversation easily. Not like some restaurants. Food was very good. Loved, loved, loved the beet and artichoke salad. My husband wanted to order another one because it was so good! I had to be the voice of reason and said there were too many other things to try. The mushroom flatbread was very tasty, as were the meatballs. Loved the corn pudding with shrimp too! Decadent and savory! Scallops were the only dish I wasn't crazy about. The scallops were cooked perfectly, but the sauce tasted like a Waldorf salad, which isn't my favorite. Portion sizes I thought were very fair for the price. I had some of the kegged cocktails, which I thought were tasty. The SOS cherry and the Booty Collins were yummy, but my favorite was the Turista. I liked that you could try 2 different cocktails in half sizes for the price of one full size. The only reason I did not give a 5 rating was the food came out way too fast and we felt rushed. It could have been spaced out more evenly for a more enjoyable meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing