We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally Good Moroccan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shokran

Shokran
Ranked #1,100 of 9,499 Restaurants in Chicago
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
609 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Good Moroccan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This little storefront, just before you get to the freeway on Irving Park, with metered parking in front,, is just a little gem of a place. It is BYOB, but we survived quite well on Mint Tea! Service was friendly and fast, and the water glass was filled without ever asking.
We started with Harissa soup, which was like granny used to make, and was accompanied by bread and an outstanding Harissa laced tomato salsa, unbelievably good. Next we both had the salmon tagine, which was just excellent.
The atmosphere is kind of granny kitchen, but the food truly worth a visit. Wonderful place.
ZB

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
182 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Moroccan feast in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A family party with six of us (age range 19 to 76) all had fun last Saturday night. The atmosphere is warm and lively, and the food was fun and delicious. We shared three appetizers- cooked veg platter, beet salad and meat balls, which came with pita bread , olives and hot harissa sauce. My favorite was the spinach (lightly spiced) and the eggplant (like ratatouile but more flavorful). For mains the best was lamb fez - a shank on bed of sweet prunes and nuts. YUMMY! the kebabs were popular but more American. The sweet chicken breast with couscous had raisins, and rich aromatic spices. generous portions and doggy bags, no room for dessert! We were in the back party room and got a bonus to watch a belly dancer hired for another table. Very entertaining. Try the sweet mint tea, too much sugar for me but different. they have a loose tea selection but were out of most. BYOB - we were charged $5 corkage for wine with screw cap. Bill with tip was about $25/per person. Local street parking was a pain, area zoned fro home owners and few meter spots.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EsmeBennion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was like I was in Morocco but not.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

When we walked into this little gem from a last minute google voice search that resulted in getting off the CTA blue line at Irving Park just 150 yards, and boom I'm in Morocco "Shokran Morroccan Grill"
Aimad served Soula and I and from the soup to lamb on couscous all was impeccable as well as the Morroccan mint tea. Another great reason to find the gems of Chicago in places that you wouldn't even consider.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrDanPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
267 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere; somewhat pricey, average food.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went to Shokran for my sister's birthday based on very positive reviews. When i arrived, i loved the decor. The 3 of us ordered appetizers and our entrees. The waitstaff was very nice and service was definitely above average. When the appetizers arrived, they seemed skimpy, but fairly tasty.

Of the 3 entrees, one was very good (mine--sweet chicken dish) and the other 2 (lamb dish and a medley dish--can't remember the names) were decent enough, but below what we had expected in terms of taste and quality. Overall, we felt we paid a bit much for what we received. It's worth mentioning they charged only a $5 corking fee, which ain't too bad.....

So, in conclusion, i would marginally recommend Shokran. If you're visiting from a city that's short on Middle Eastern/Mediterranean restaurant choices, then Shokran will probably seem pretty good to you.... But in Chicago, there are better better choices around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in Irving Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I love this place! The service is wonderful and the food is great! Try the chicken bastilla! It has unique flavors and it's wonderful! Shokran is also convenient to the metra and blue line.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shokran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing