We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Chicago Style' to take home”

Garrett Popcorn Shops
Ranked #2 of 181 Dessert in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“'Chicago Style' to take home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ask for the Chicago Style which comes with a mix of Caramel and Cheese Popcorn. It is yummy and you have the option to buy tin boxes as well so it can last longer if you have to travel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,846
    462
    150
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Popcorn, Insanely Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I'm not a huge popcorn fan but my wife insisted this was the BEST. I agree it's the best popcorn I've probably ever had, but a small bag of cheese and gallon tin of caramel was $40. I'll never complain about the cost of movie theater popcorn after being here.

If you're ok with paying anything for good popcorn this is for you. If you'd rather not suffer a huge hit to your wallet over popcorn, I'd stay away from here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank firemanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spicy Cheese Popcorn misses the boat!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Whenever my husband and I drive through Chicago we make an effort to stop and a bag of Garrett Chicago Mix popcorn. Today we also tried the spicy cheese popcorn and I might say that we were very disappointed. It didn't have a cheese taste at all just popcorn with a lot of cayenne pepper on it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSTING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Light and fluffy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Purchased a bag at Union Station. This was some of the best popcorn I have had. Ask for the plain with extra butter. They don't put that on too much, it was just right without being greasy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GC50MH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,265 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Love this popcorn...we always get it when stopping through O'hare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

One would think that popcorn is just popcorn but that is only true if you haven't had famous Chicago popcorn from Garrett. The caramel corn, cheese corn and regular are awesome and if you mix it, it's like a party in your mouth. It is perfectly crunchy, salty and delicious every time. We usually only get it when connecting through O'Hare which is always a nice treat on a long trip! Don't just walk by these shops, stop in for a taste and you will never thing of popcorn again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrett Popcorn Shops also viewed

 

Been to Garrett Popcorn Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing