We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this popcorn...we always get it when stopping through O'hare”

Garrett Popcorn Shops
Ranked #3 of 181 Dessert in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Love this popcorn...we always get it when stopping through O'hare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

One would think that popcorn is just popcorn but that is only true if you haven't had famous Chicago popcorn from Garrett. The caramel corn, cheese corn and regular are awesome and if you mix it, it's like a party in your mouth. It is perfectly crunchy, salty and delicious every time. We usually only get it when connecting through O'Hare which is always a nice treat on a long trip! Don't just walk by these shops, stop in for a taste and you will never thing of popcorn again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,847
    463
    151
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckneyville IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mini Vacation January 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We heard if you are in Chicago you have to get to one of these stores! So we hunted it down in the middle of a snow storm in January! Which we didn't mind! We finally found it a little off of Michigan Ave and they where standing in line out the door in 20 degree temps with snow falling quickly! We stood in line and ordered what we wanted and the popcorn in good the customer service is horrible! They are ruud and felt like they really didn't care if they would take your order or not! Plus it felt like we where a little rushed to get through the line! But it is a very neat place to check out! So good luck!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wright0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must have!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Garrett popcorn is something my sister discovered and I am glad she did!
They have a great selection of deliciously flavored gourmet popcorn!
They flavors are rich and specials are introduced periodically they are always good.
Service is fast and the product is fresh, outstanding!
If you can't get to them no worries, they ship!

Get snackin
JP

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can't go to Chicago and not have Garrett Popcorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is, by far, the best popcorn I have ever had. The Chicago Mix is wonderful and you can't go wrong with plain buttery popcorn either. While it's tempting to stand in the queue and wait for your popcorn outside of the shop, I ALWAYS buy some at O'hare (It's in 2 of the main terminals) and there is almost never anyone waiting. Perfect little treat for me on the plane, and always have to bring back a few bags for my family as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wait in line and you will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You will wait in line but it is worth it be sure to get the Chicago Mix. The bigger the bag the better , you will not be disappointed. Downtown or at the airport.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrett Popcorn Shops also viewed

 

Been to Garrett Popcorn Shops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing