We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We just returned from two nights in Chicago with a stay at this hotel. We've been to Chicago numerous times, but these accomodations were, by far, the best yet. We had booked on Priceline.com and when I called the hotel to inquire about additional sleeping accomodations because there were four of us...they upgraded us (for just an additional $30 each night) to a suite. The suite was room 410 and room 411 combined. We had two beds, a flip out chair/couch, two refrigerators, two bathrooms, two desks a microwave and PLENTY of room. Although this hotel caters to business travelers, the location and awesome arrangement made for a great family weekend. The room was newly remodeled, and everything was top-notch. The decor was very modern and tasteful. This location, on the corner of Michigan and Wacker really cannot be beat. You are within blocks of the Mag. Mile, a 2 minute walk to the subway, about 10 min. from Navy Pier, a couple of minutes from State Street shopping!!! We arrived early on July 3rd, and were allowed to check-in before noon. On the day we left, they held our luggage so we could walk around and enjoy some shopping before we had to catch the train. Now I feel spoiled, and really won't want to stay any other place when we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed an the 31st floor over the weekend and were treated to outstanding views of the Chicago River and surrounding buildings. The room was very clean and seemed newly renovated. We had originally planned to share my in-laws "mini-suite" on the 26th floor. That plan was scrapped when they saw how small the suite actually was. The suite is more like a small alcove studio. The couch folded out into a single bed. We were pleased to move upstairs to a reasonably priced room of our own. The first strange thing that we noticed about the room was that the queen bed was actually two twins pushed together. We would expect this in Europe, but in Chicago it seemed odd. The bump in the middle of the bed was not too imposing and the beds did not slide apart in the middle of the night (which has happened to us in this situation before). The windows in the room let in an enormous amount of light, which was wonderful. Each window had an ominous sticker on it that said 'to operate this window contact the front desk". The windows seemed to work just fine and we opened them anyway and nothing catastrophic happened. The room had a dorm size refrigerator and a microwave which was awesome for storing left overs from dinner and chilling wine. The desk was roomy and seemed like it would be a perfect work space. The bathroom was very clean and new but it had the most bizarre shower I have ever seen in an American hotel. There was no tub (which did not bother me too much). The shower head was the kind with the hose attached. This was mounted on the long wall of the shower rather than the short end as it would normally be. The floor of the shower was the tile floor of the bathroom, separated into a "shower section" with a short rubber tube. The shower curtain was not long enough to reach the floor and so when you turned on the shower, the entire room was flooded with water. We quickly exhausted our ration of two bath towels, on hand towel, one wash cloth and one fabric floor mat. This made it dangerous to use a hair dryer in the room because you would likely be standing in a puddle. The only way that we could prevent this was to take team showers, one spraying the other (much like bathing a dog) being careful to direct the water into the drain. This sounds horrible, but it was so funny that we didn't care too much. The counters in the bathroom were very small which was unfortunate because that was the only spot in the room for make up and hair prep. The desk was a big space but it had no nearby mirror and the full length mirror near the closet had no nearby surface to hold primping supplies. We both commented that it seemed that the designer had not thought about what would be needed if you were actually going to be getting ready for something in this room. All in all, it seemed like this room was meant for one male business traveler who didn't use a lot of hair products. I would still recommend this hotel for couples (so long as you are not too persnickety) because the building is extraordinary and the views from the spire are romantic. The restaurant on the first floor has good food (though the service is as slow as a slug in molasses) and was fairly priced. There are laundry facilities in the hotel (that appear to be free) and cute bottled water dispensers on a few floors. There is a free computer lab on the first floor which we used quite a bit for information and for checking into our flight. The staff was extremely friendly and they removed a mistaken charge from our bill at my first request. We would definitely stay here again but we don't think that this hotel is for everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlmassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Ive stayed in many hotels in Chicago, and this was a delightful find. Conveniently located on Wacker Dr, right on the river, this hotel is both eco-friendly and business savvy. It's got hookups for my laptop to the LCD tv, late checkout, comfortable beds, mini-fridge and microwave, dark wood furniture, and modern feel. For the money, this was a steal. Rooms and bathrooms were well appointed and immaculately clean. All rooms are newly renovated, so check this one out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamwineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

River Hotel is priced like most Chicago hotels - expensive - almost 200/night, but doesn't deliver anywhere near the service expected for that service. Most disappointing was the room - it was barely could fit in the queen bed that was in there. Its almost as if they cut the rooms in half some time ago to maximize occupancy. It was evident this is what they did as the the dividers between rooms were paper thin - I could here everything happening in the next room including people talking.

Most motel chains like Best Westerns etc. have better room size so go there for a 1/3 of the money. Or spend the 200/night and go somewhere else.

Further the maid service people knocked at my door around noon - I asked them to come back - they never did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambiancdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Club Quarters for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon. I realize that some say the hotel is not suitable for more than one person, but we found that we were EXTREMELY comfortable. The hallways were quiet and peaceful, there was very secure access to our room, and the staff was overly hospitable. They were cordial, understanding, and cheerful.
This is definitely a business class hotel, but this shouldn't deter anyone else from staying. The location is superb--walk out of the lobby, and right onto Wacker Drive, overlooking the beautiful Chicago River and the new Trump International Tower. Everything worth looking at (which is plenty!) is within a very comfortable walking distance.
The value was great too. We booked it on Priceline, and were not sure what to expect. We are very satisfied, and would for sure stay again.
The one problem we had was kind of funny...we woke up after our first night to a distant marching band playing on Michigan Avenue...it was the unexpected (for us!) Memorial Day Parade.
I highly recommend Club Quarters--Michigan at Wacker!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustin1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

location - can't do better than this - just off Michigan Ave and straddling the Loop and Magnificent Mile plus there is a fabulous Italian Restaurant on site
Price - very competitive
Rooms - fine - some great views
history - one of Chicago's really interesting and historic buildings - stay in the tower overlooking the river
for business - great board rooms and plenty of computer stations (never a line up) and free printing
staff - very good
beds - not the same comfort that you'd get at the Hilton

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abboydLondonOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The floors have not seen a vacuum cleaner for years, the garbage bin is overfull and the coffee machine still had the filter of the previous guest in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#98 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $72 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing