We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$525
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$215
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$279
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
523
440
124
59
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
440
124
59
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub quartersgreat locationtrump towerpurified waterchicago riverview of the riverrooms are smallstay there againthe loopthe magnificent milebigger roomrestaurant downstairsfree coffeemichigan avenuewithin walking distancethe beanmillennium park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Ive stayed in many hotels in Chicago, and this was a delightful find. Conveniently located on Wacker Dr, right on the river, this hotel is both eco-friendly and business savvy. It's got hookups for my laptop to the LCD tv, late checkout, comfortable beds, mini-fridge and microwave, dark wood furniture, and modern feel. For the money, this was a steal. Rooms and bathrooms were well appointed and immaculately clean. All rooms are newly renovated, so check this one out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamwineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

River Hotel is priced like most Chicago hotels - expensive - almost 200/night, but doesn't deliver anywhere near the service expected for that service. Most disappointing was the room - it was barely could fit in the queen bed that was in there. Its almost as if they cut the rooms in half some time ago to maximize occupancy. It was evident this is what they did as the the dividers between rooms were paper thin - I could here everything happening in the next room including people talking.

Most motel chains like Best Westerns etc. have better room size so go there for a 1/3 of the money. Or spend the 200/night and go somewhere else.

Further the maid service people knocked at my door around noon - I asked them to come back - they never did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambiancdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Club Quarters for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon. I realize that some say the hotel is not suitable for more than one person, but we found that we were EXTREMELY comfortable. The hallways were quiet and peaceful, there was very secure access to our room, and the staff was overly hospitable. They were cordial, understanding, and cheerful.
This is definitely a business class hotel, but this shouldn't deter anyone else from staying. The location is superb--walk out of the lobby, and right onto Wacker Drive, overlooking the beautiful Chicago River and the new Trump International Tower. Everything worth looking at (which is plenty!) is within a very comfortable walking distance.
The value was great too. We booked it on Priceline, and were not sure what to expect. We are very satisfied, and would for sure stay again.
The one problem we had was kind of funny...we woke up after our first night to a distant marching band playing on Michigan Avenue...it was the unexpected (for us!) Memorial Day Parade.
I highly recommend Club Quarters--Michigan at Wacker!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustin1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

location - can't do better than this - just off Michigan Ave and straddling the Loop and Magnificent Mile plus there is a fabulous Italian Restaurant on site
Price - very competitive
Rooms - fine - some great views
history - one of Chicago's really interesting and historic buildings - stay in the tower overlooking the river
for business - great board rooms and plenty of computer stations (never a line up) and free printing
staff - very good
beds - not the same comfort that you'd get at the Hilton

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abboydLondonOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The floors have not seen a vacuum cleaner for years, the garbage bin is overfull and the coffee machine still had the filter of the previous guest in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews