We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #63 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Base”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is so central and near everything you would wish to see. We had what I think was called a small double but it was plenty big enough for us. There were 6 in our party in 3 rooms and we all enjoyed our stay over Memorial Day weekend. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    364
    105
    55
    29
See reviews for
143
351
108
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for a mom and dad's night out. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. It was just a little on the small side. Our view however was amazing overlooking the Chicago River.

The rest of the hotel was nice and clean as well. The staff was all very friendly and helpful.

Bonus point for the free bottle water machine.

Room Tip: Get one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great experience !!! First time in Chicago in a number of years, fun get away with friends. Pedro was helpful in getting us checked in -- great room with view of the river. Roman was most accommodating in locating a great Sunday buffet and setting us up with tickets to a fantastic boat tour. Our stay was most memorable just way too short -- We'll be back

Room Tip: 7th floor view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We made reservations at the River Hotel for our first visit in June.
We had been to Chicago for nearly 40 years attending an industry show and decided it was time for a change from our two previous favorite hotels.
We were not prepared for the excellent care extended to us by the hotel personnel from our very friendly and efficient check in to our check out 5 days later.
We had requested a river view room and couldn't have been happier with the superb view. The furnishings were quite nice and the room was extremely quiet. We really liked having a bottled water dispenser, feee, on our floor. The staff responded quickly to any requests and always in a friendly manner.
We have already decided that this well located gem will be our new home when visiting Chicago on future trips.

Room Tip: Room 803 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Check in was great, thanks to Tania who was very helpful. Used the valet parking throughout stay and enjoyed the perfect location for the parks, Michigan ave shopping and walking. We took the architectural boat tour, that was practically outside our front door. Can't beat the window views.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlBenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My trip to Chicago started out as personal with a small bit of business. As such I made all my own travel arrangements and really only needed "somewhere to sleep" as I had a jam packed itinerary. The only requirement was that I be downtown. I booked this hotel and was a tad skeptical as the rate was super affordable compared to the other downtown hotels. Long story short I booked it and didn't look back. I arrived Thursday afternoon and check-in was a breeze. I reserved the "small room, w/full size bed" so walking in I really didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The room is exactly what they described, it is small, but don't let that deter you. It has everything you would have in a big room just compact size. (e.g. 12 inch tv, stand up shower, bathroom separates by sliding door etc) And for the rate you will not find a better deal. It's also super convenient and
located only blocks away from State street and Mag Mile for shopping. I also was in town for the annual taste and that was just a short walk to Millennium Park. It's close to all the trains so if you're coming from the airport, for $5 you can take any of the trains down to the Loop. There's a plethora of bars and restaurants right over there including one in the hotel. I didn't eat there so I can't say how it is, but it was packed every time I left so I imagine it was good. One night after a long day I canceled my evening plans and vegetated in my room. In all of it's cozy glory it became my sanctuary. So in summary, I can't wait
to stay here again. Excellent visit!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for the weekend of July 25th and literally had to cancel it minutes later because of an extremely rude phone conversation with the, supposed, Guest Services Manager (Pedro G., though I doubt that was his name) . This imbecile (and I'm mean that in the most complimentary way) refused to stop over talking . Refused to transfer me to his superior, while also refusing even a minor attempt at being accommodating to my request . If this is the quality of service Club Quarters/River Hotel provides over the phone I can only imagine how unbearable my stay would've been . I'm a Chicago native/NYC transplant ... paying $200+ a night for an oversized closet is nothing new to me BUT a complete lack of service etiquette not to mention being unnecessarily rude is absolutely UNacceptable . I mean seriously .

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing