We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The place is a little hard to find. We would have given it 5 stars, but when we called for directions, the person on the phone couldn't tell us where they were (they are on one side of a street that splits into two separate streets?!). We finally asked someone on the street for help.

Otherwise the place was great - in nice shape, cheap parking ($25 less than anywhere else in the area) and a nice room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsj8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    359
    103
    55
    29
See reviews for
140
346
108
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Do to a booking error on my part, I found myself, and 2 friends in Chicago on St Patrick's day weekend without a reservation. Tania Lynn, Guest service Manager, went above and beyond to ensure that we had a room. Even corporate office stated there were no rooms available, Tania was able to find a suitable room for us, and at a fair rate. Only issue I had was the computer system was quite slow. Tania did persevere This at a time when the lobby was bustling with people checking in, or trying to get a last minute room. She obviously could have charged a much higher price, due to the (lack of) availability of rooms through out the Loop.. This hotel is a perfect location for shopping, restaurants and bars. Walk across Wacker, and there's the river dyed green for the holiday. Easy to get a taxi anywhere. Staff were superb. Friendly, professional. rooms are clean. We did end up with a room with a kitchenette, so it was definitely big enough for what we needed. I understand the 2 person rooms are quite small, but, seriously, I don't need a lot of room to put mu suitcase and sleep! Also, the onsite italian restauarant is quite good, and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Call the hotel for accurate directions. phone GPS cannot differentiate between Upper and Lower Wack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay. The check in and check out process was easy and fast. The room was clean and quite comfortable. It did take a while for the room to warm up a little although it did not reach the temperature desired. Great location near the water and makes for an enjoyable stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank YseniaGallegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Hills, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Back in my favorite city, and again stayed at the River Hotel. Just love it there. This time ate at the restaurant connected to the lobby and it was delish!! I love the valet guys and the desk clerks, and still love the free coffee and 30 second walk to breakfast at the Corner Bakery. Must stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night passing through. We loved it. Room was nice and comfy! Great river view. Just ask for it. It's located in the heart of downtown so traffic is chaotic. Busy town. Parking is expensive. Self park is $24 in the public parking w/ validation around the corner from the hotel. Valid parking is $43. Everything is in walking distance so park the car and just walk. No point in driving. Ever been to Paris? Kind of like that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PickNeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downstate Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The room was small quite clean the staff very helpful. I would stay here again as the location is wonderful, the price is reasonable and room adequate. I don't spend much time in a hotel room so the lack of space was not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side would be fun view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Based in the other reviews that we read, expectations were low. We totally loved this hotel! The front lobby staff are great fun and professional. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing