We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An okay stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #63 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An okay stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is great and the rooms very clean. The things that I didn't like were that rooms are a bit small and room service is not very efficient. I call 4 times the same day to get an extra pillow and face cloth, which my boyfriend finally got when he decided to go directly to the front desk at 10PM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    364
    105
    55
    29
See reviews for
143
351
108
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

While not smack dab in the middle of the Michigan Street action, this hotel is pretty centrally located right on the river. The river walk is a minute walk away and there are plenty of restaurants and attractions within a mile radius. Hotel is clean and updated with some rooms offering a full kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, two burner stove, and dishes. They offer complimentary wi-fi, gym facilities, printing services, and can even have fitness equipment and a yoga mat delivered to your room. They also over purified water filling stations in the hall and advertise loaner iPads. There isn't much of a concierge space so it can seem a bit self-service, but every member of staff we ran into was very helpful. There is a reasonably priced brekkie place attached and the parking garage daily rat is $24/day which is relatively cheap in comparison to some other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My new wife and I recently stayed at the River Hotel, also known as Club Quarters, on our wedding nite. We got married on Chicago's Little Lady cruise boat on the Chicago river which was almost right accross the street from the hotel. First, let me say that you will not find a more helpfull staff in the entire city. I wanted something special for our wedding nite and unfortunately waited to the last minute to try and find it. After checking several of the larger hotels in the area and coming up empty handed I came upon the little River Hotel. The minute I walked in the door I knew this was what I was looking for. I explained to Monika at the front desk about our wedding coming up in a couple weeks and after a few questions she said she had just what I was looking for, a suite in the tower. This room was the only one on the floor and had an almost 360 degree view of the city . . . at forty floors up! I can't say enough about Monika, she was so helpful and knowledgeable, truely a gem. As for hotel itself, its location is perfect, the room was immaculate, staff was incredibly helpful and not a hotel in the area came close to the reasonable price. If your looking for a great little romantic hotel in the heart of downtown Chicago don't pass this place up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boondogglellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a typical decent hotel, its clean and you show up to sleep there, ok fine.

But there were two parameters I specifically wanted in a hotel that this place lied about:
1. I wanted a suite with separate rooms : LIE. It was one big room with beds on opposite sides partially covered by little walls. That is not a suite.
2. I wanted a parking garage where I could come and go as I pleased. LIE: After parking there, I was told I would have to pay a $25 fee every time the vehicle re-entered the garage.

After bringing both of these issues up to the front desk, they smiled like drugged out fools and told me there was nothing they could do. Uhh, you can't just push the freaking button and let me out of the garage instead of making me pay each time?

This place isn't bad or anything, but the Best Western is right down the street, much nicer, cheaper, and you can come and go as you please with the parking. Way better, so this place has no excuse (would have gone to Best Western this weekend but it was booked).

Also the Tvs in the room are like 20 inches or something, pretty much the smallest TV you can buy, not really even watchable from bed.

Room Tip: Stay at the best western. Better location, value, staff. .. just better overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The staff are the BEST that we have ever encountered. They were extremely helpful and courteous. The best location in the loop, just around the corner from Magnificent mile and a short walk from the Navy pier, on the Chicago River, near restaurants, theater district, and subway stops. Wendella boat tour leaves a block away, as well as the Chicago Trolley Double Decker tours pickup and stop is less than a block away. GREAT value. Plus complimentary filtered water in the hall. WIFI connection in the room. Niece loved the 2nd floor with the complimentary snacks and drinks. Will stay here again if we make it back to Chicago.

Room Tip: If you are staying with your family, you cannot go wrong with the 2 room suite. Basically three sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Clearly one if the best locations in the loop, just around the corner from Magnificent mile and a short walk from the Navy pier

Huge plus (especially in summer a complimentary water in the hall)
Good wifi connection in the room

Unfortunately, no late checkout without additional fee, but they do have luggage storage and a nice lobby with computers so it was fine

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olya_Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The River Hotel's location is one of the best in Chicago. It is near all the main attractions downtown and very close to restaurants. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself has very good service and extra;s like a lounge with free coffee, fruit and breakfast bars. The rooms are small and it could not find a power outlet in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing