We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #58 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Hills, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Found this gem of a property. Stayed over holiday. Loved the location and it was so clean. Check in staff were friendly and very helpful. My room looked right out and over the Chicago River. Amazing views. Staying again next time I go to that great city!

Room Tip: Amazing view of river. Ask for room with views of the Chicago River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    329
    98
    52
    27
See reviews for
126
313
100
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at River Hotel. Christmas trip.
I can't say enough about this hotel. Charming, clean, un-intimadating, well-located.
Loved the excellent staff. Loved the great rooms. Loved the on-site restaurant.
Even loved the parking valets and the Bell staff! To a person, a wonderful and helpful staff.

The rooms were fabulous and decorated nicely. I had a direct view down onto the river.

I feel like I now have a go-to hotel in Chicago.

Oh, and a wonderful lobby, full of computers. This hotel lackes for nothing at all..

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and none were bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Sure the rooms are a little small but for a weekend getaway to the city this is a perfect place.
Reception and their willingness to accomodate are first class at this boutique hotel yet the price is on par with typical chain hotels. Nice restaurant at street level and a bar for a night cap after a night out on the town. Almost every downtown destination, clubs, dining are either within a short walk or a $10.00 cab ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Got a nice room after a mixup at the reception/maintenance. (Spent one night in a very small room, business traveler, 6 nights.) So, after one night I got a room I payed for. After this trouble, I felt, that this hotel is very nice, well situated and the rooms are large enough, well kept, the bathrooms are fine with modern decorating; no tub, though. I love having a fridge in the room, so this was extra-good. For me this hotel is a well situated regular four star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ullakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful stay! Nice room, loved that each room in the suite had its own bathroom. Also, the website said the beds were a queen and a twin/full, and really they were a king and a queen. The water dispenser was a little slow, and the elevator needing the key to get between floors was annoying, but the hotel was safe, so I guess that's a necessary trade off in convenience. The bed was a little hard for my taste, but I slept well. And I would have liked it if the room had more than one window - the layout was long and narrow. Still, it was a great stay, lovely spot on the river. Easy walk to the Hyatt where our conference was, and the Corner Bakery and Cafe was excellent for breakfast each day.

Very good service, always with a smile and a "how are you today". I ate in the restaurant one night and while it wasn't anything special, it was perfectly fine and good.

Room Tip: we had a two room suite; if you get this, ask if there's one that's not in a long, narrow la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NC2NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I want to applaude the service I received from the front desk. Hillary was more than helpful in switching out my room and accomodating me with the switch. Her attitude was fantastic which means alot to a traveler. I would recommend this hotel to others based on my experience with Hillary alone.
Patrick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I travelled to Chicago on business and spent 7 nights at this hotel. I was initially put in a poor room with constant outside noise. After speaking with a member of staff called Karina at reception this changed quickly. I was moved to another room where I did not suffer from the external noise from the hotel which was great as the time difference made sleeping difficult enough already. Corrine also placed food orders for me on two occasions given that my accent was fairly difficult for the locals to understand which made things very easy on an evening to eat so I could get on with work.
Given Corrine's excellent service and the staff in general being pleasant I would definitely return to the Club Quarters, East Wacker Dr, in the future whether it was on business or with my friends or as a couple.
The hotel is also situated very well for shopping, bars and sports venues such as Soldier Field are within walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of good standard, but if you are here on business try not to be where the dumpster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#72 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing