We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanastic Location!!”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Chicago back in June 2012 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel was on E Wacker Drive, with our room over looking the river - fantastic view! The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times.

It was so central, and meant we could easily walk up North Michigan Avenue to the shops or Hancock centre etc or venture south of the river to the touristy spots like the aquarium, planetarium and Soldier Field. The room at the hotel was as expected - had all the amenities with water available at a dispenser near the lifts. We had breakfast at a little bakery close by and were never disappointed! Regards getting to the hotel, we decided to catch the train from (and back to) the airport and found it all to be very straight forward - you have to buy a ticket or can get a top-up card, which means you don't have to worry if you don't have exact change as the residual amount will just wait til you next use the train. Getting from the station to the hotel was only about 10-15mins walk which was good though you may choose to use a cab if you have lots of luggage.

In terms of things to do in the city, there is so much! I strongly recommend the Soldier Field tour - the guide was amazing, with so much knowledge of the stadium and franchise. We also headed up to Wrigley Field and, although we couldn't go in, looked pretty impress from the road side. There's also some pretty authentic diners close by for those looking for an American feel! We did both John Hancock and the Willis Tower (Sears). Given the chance again, we would leave the Hancock tour as it wasn't as good, but then again we did this at night so that may have impacted things. We also took the train out to Oak Park, which was fantastic for a bit of a tour of different architect styles - don't expect anything to be open pre-11.00am though!!!

Hope you have a wonderful trip to the amazing Windy City and that my review has helped. There is so much to do and see and the River Hotel (we found) was a perfect base for helping us maximise our stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

First of all I would like to thank Hillary and Sara

The welcome that they showed was well appreciated... They explained to me everything i needed to know about the hotel and the surrounding area. I asked them about restaurants and Hillary was there with answers. The room was better then what i read on the reviews. For one person it is great .... its not the Hilton.... but for the price it is good. Location is great............ shopping and shopping is unreal. The place is well maintained. The ladies that look after the rooms are unbelieveable.
I will stay here again anytiime.

Thanks again for making your place feel like home.

Peter

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Putting aside all the reviews that say the rooms are tiny (they are) and the location is good (it is), the real issue is that service is awful here. Room service does not exist--it should, they promise it--but after 27 minutes of being on hold I'm still waiting. And please Lord, explain why housekeeping knocks on my door at 8:36 am to clean my room? If there had been any other available rooms in Chicago other than the Four Seasons, I would never have stayed here. Frankly, I'd be less annoyed if I had chosen to stay by O'Hare and gotten good service and taken a cab or the el into the city this morning. Never again, River Hotel. Never again.

Room Tip: Best tip: do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have stayed at the River Hotel twice this year and have been very satisfied each time. It is attached to Club Quarters, its sister hotel, which is normally for public travelers leaving the River Hotel rooms for corporate guests; however, as an individual, I have had one stay in each. They are virtually the same. The club size rooms are small, but modern, clean and sufficient. Bottled water is complimentary as is coffee or tea on a second floor lounge. Access is controlled by using to room key to operate the elevator and they have a doorman as well. The hotel location is two blocks to the 'El' and walking distance to many popular sights within the loop. A great hotel for a moderate price, plus repeat guest discounts. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a view of the Chicago river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FadedGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I never would have known about this great spot if it weren't for a three-day meeting at the same location. I'm usually tethered to places where I have frequent travel status, but couldn't turn down the opportunity to co-locate with my meetings. I stayed in a studio, which worked out great. The shower was a bit small, but they were smart and used shower curtains rather than doors, which provided a bit of extra elbow room. The room decor I can only describe as
Ikea-meets-art-deco. I particularly liked the artwork, especially since it was nothing close to the usual depressing "hotel art". The bed was a queen and deliciously comfortable (read as "firm"). Each floor has filtered water stations with accompanying refillable water bottles. I loved this feature. I didn't get a chance to try the gym, but you also have the option of having exercise equipment delivered to your room. Wow! They also loan out iPads. As a road warrior, I greatly appreciated the complimentary self serve laundry facility with appliances that actually worked. Hotels that consider themselves geared towards business travelers could learn a few things from the River. The staff was excellent, checkin was fast, and the hotel was very clean. The additional bonus was Bacino's restaurant with great food and service.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank RoadWarriorWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I got a special ($179) rate on this hotel from Southwest Airlines, this got me a very small room that I thought of as a "turret" room because it seemed like it was tucked into the end of the corridor. With tax it was slightly over $200.I had a nice view of the river. It is on E Wacker Drive which is a different street that W Wacker Drive and also different than Lower Wacker Drive! Less than 5 minute walk from the L state at State and Lake, recommend taking the L if you come into Midway (orange line) - very easy. Hotel is between Wabash and Michigan.

Only downside was very small TV, not much bigger than my laptop screen and mounted over the desk in the room quite far from the bed. Staff was very nice; Corner Bakery next door nice plan for a reasonable lunch, also around the corner from Hard Rock Cafe.

Walking distance (3 blocks) to Millenium Park, worth going to see the "Bean".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WebTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel in the center of everything in Chicago. The room was on the small side but very comfortable and pleasant. Our view of the Chicago River was spectacular. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#97 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 192 in Chicago
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $75 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing