We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip hotel near Mag Mile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hip hotel near Mag Mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel has a great location - close to Millennium Park and Mag Mile, pretty much walking distance to most of the sights you'd want to cover. The decor and overall feel of the hotel is very modern and contemporary. I got a room with two queen beds and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. The room was well appointed with all the essential needs covered - internet was included in my rate, so that was great. I'd recommend staying at ACME for a quick trip to Chicago. The bakery in the lobby is convenient and the Berkshire Room was popular on Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NTS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hi, NTS_2011,

Thanks for your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the ACME. I'm glad you were pleased with your accommodations and that you were able to try the West Town Bakery. We hope to see you again next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,005
    791
    158
    51
    25
See reviews for
534
1,255
193
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

After some lengthy searching, I picked ACME for me and a small group of friends to stay at for my 40th birthday. Jennifer in the reservations area was very helpful and set up a small block of rooms for the trip. Even though the rate we were given wasn't much better than the online booking rate we figured it was worth it for the location and style.
A couple days prior to the trip I received an email allowing advanced check in and took full advantage. In hind site it may not have been the best option. As with anything online, it takes away from the personal aspect. Especially for getting anything special. But it did make for quickly getting to the room after arriving close to midnight. And since I was given options on where I would prefer to have my room and choosing a higher floor, up to the 11th floor we went. Unfortunately we were right next to the elevator, the ice machine and the staff's supply closet. So when 8 am arrived the next two mornings we were awoken by the sounds of cleaning peoples conversations, bustling of supplies and carts and the elevator. Not what we had in mind for a long weekend in Chicago to celebrate. These particular points keep this from being an amazing hotel to stay in.
But the hotel is very cool! Loved the music themed elevators and the overall "factory/NYC loft" decor. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but trendy, with very comfortable beds. Highly recommend the West End bakery in the lobby as well as the Birkshire Room lounge. Try the maple bacon filled doughnut at West End!! Although we didn't spend lots of time in the Birkshire Room, the few drinks we did have were very good and the bartenders fairly attentive. If you want a more laid back spot for drinks try Watershed across the street.
The absolute best features of the hotel are location, location, location!! A couple blocks from Michigan Ave, tons of great restaurants and bars and the train to get you to Wrigley!!
When I visit Chicago again I'll consider ACME for sure, but it just misses being amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi, Josh T,

Thanks for the review. We appreciate you trying our new online check in option, and while you missed out on some personal interaction with the front desk, it's great to hear feedback on the experience. I'm sorry to hear that you encountered some noise issues. Upon your next booking, please request a quiet room and we'll do our absolute best to create a more restful experience for you.

Overall, it's great to hear everything that you loved about your stay and that our staff were so helpful and friendly. We really hope you'll choose us again next time you're in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Very themed, very comfortable, great value. The bar is very comfortable. The only small disappointing factor was that the gym was, like so many hotel gyms, very basic with poor gear. Well located hotel, very comfortable, highly rated

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank oldredjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hi, oldredjag,

Thanks for your great review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and The Berkshire Room. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked this hotel because it's rate was very reasonable for that particular date. I knew going in that the room would be tiny, but it was also very dark with an alley view, and it felt claustrophobic. On the good side: Excellent, speedy wireless, great large TV, nice shower (although there is only half a door and there will be water on the floor), very comfy bed. The elevators were fast but small. The lounge looked nice but we didn't go in--glasses of wine were $11 and up, which is high even for Chicago. In the room, there are 4 cans of snacks on an electronically sensored tray. After my sister and daughter each separately picked up the cans, they noticed a sign saying that you would be charged once you moved the snacks. I asked the front desk to please not charge us for these, and they pleasantly agreed, and a worker offered to remove the snacks from the room. When I got the bill, I saw that I was charged for all 4 cans of snacks! To me, this was a needless aggravation and it seems like it would be a hassle for both guests and front desk workers. Change the system please! All in all, it was an OK hotel, but I left feeling like it really wasn't that great of a deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi, Ellen A,

Thanks for your review! It seems our tiny inventory robots need to be looked at! We'll make sure we address that so it doesn't happen in the future. However, I am so glad our staff were able to assist you in this matter. I'm glad you were able to enjoy some amenities of the room. Thanks for the feedback and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Acme Hotel is one of the hottest hotels in Chicago ... When we arrived on June 3rd, 2014, it happened to be my birthday, so I asked the girl at the desk if there was any possible upgrade available to a room with a view of the city, not only did she bump us up but put us in a King Suite with a view of the city ... the room was so big and spacious !!! The bed was extra comfy also, and the knock and drop coffee delivery was just an awesome touch --- The food at the bakery was also great. I suggest also to go into the Birkshire Bar downstairs, we didn't hit it up until our last night and it was one of the more interestingly fun bars we hit in Chicago. We were able to catch a Cubs game, and basically you walk around the corner and hit the subway which takes you straight to Wrigleyfield for about $4.00 roundtrip. Also a restaurant called Quartino's around the corner was so amazing we had to go back twice ... Italian tapas !! the most amazing meatballs, and you can even get half orders of the small plates, so you can really sample so many different items on the menu, at such a reasonable price! Drinks and wine at happy hour were incredibly cheap for such a nice place. So if you are considering the Acme, think no more!! Go, stay, enjoy ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks, Christine K, for such a fantastic review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration here at the ACME. It's great to hear that your trip was such a success. We hope to see you again next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letts, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was in Chicago with some friends on a girls weekend when we stayed here. Excellent location! Close to shopping and dining. The staff was friendly, helpful and just pretty awesome. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bar is actually a pretty happening place on the weekend. Had so much fun here. This is definitely where I will be staying for my future trips to Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks, HeidiS36, for such a fantastic review! I'm so glad you chose ACME for your girls weekend and loved it! It's great to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that you were able to enjoy Berkshire. I hope we can look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have average level, suitable for your proposal. The room has a very good size. However, the lack of wardrobes was a problem for storing clothes and shopping. The location is fantastic, next to Eataly, a complex of Italian restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi, Carlos P

Thanks for your feedback. It's good to hear that you had a good experience at our hotel. Next time you stay, request a closet and we'll be happy to accommodate! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing