We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager is disgustingly rude!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #30 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Don't let this seemingly cute boutique hotel fool you-- behind the Rock n' Rollish theme is hotel being managed by a complete idiot. Booked three hotel rooms for a wedding. Rooms were small, a little dirty--paint peeling. Elevator wait was at times more than 15 minutes. When I asked the manager for an hour later check out due to the time spent waiting for his broken elevators he responded to me by telling me "if I do that for you, I will have to do that for everyone". It is obvious he doesn't care about his guests or their needs. The only saving grace this hotel has is a gem of an employee named, Carl. He was an amazing help to us when he realized how the manager treated us. I would not recommend this hotel- and I will definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer51578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,149 - 3,155 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

My beau and I stayed here while in town for comicon in April 2013. Fantastic location, short walk to the navy pier and beach, and right near a train station to easily travel to other neighbourhoods. The staff were all friendly and helpful, we were upgraded to a penthouse suite, free coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the main lobby, with a fitness centre and hot tub in the basement, as well as a guest computer. The decor is awesome (it's what drew me to the place), bed was super comfy, and the prices for the snacks/drinks totally reasonable. A little more than I would normally spend on accommodations, but worth it for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thanks, Stefani W, for the fantastic review! I'm so glad that you loved the hotel staff and all the decor. I hope you had a wonderful time at C2E2. Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We lived here for one week while we were on a classtrip. The beds were sooo good sleeping in. They didnt have any breakfast exept a little cafe downstairs you god buy som breakfast. But you could say in the reception that you wanted fresh coffe when ever you wanted in the morning. The staff was nice and helpful with recomending resturants ect. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1evis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi, K1evis,

Thanks for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a great place 1!! The rooms were clean and recently up-dated- very nice. PLus , there's great food very close by @ the Weber grille...which opens @ 6 thirty every morning for br eakfast- excellent bufffet in the a.m. ....If i ever come back to Chicago, and it sure as heck won't be to go on the 'Mathis " show again-he makes a mockery of our justice system, big time- i'd stay at this place again for sure !! Good job ACME !!

Room Tip: The Berkshire room -a club @ entry level- ... is rockin' to the wee hours of the mornin'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFFJcapitalistpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hello there JEFFJcapitalistpig! Thank you for the excellent review! So nice of you to point out the great things we have here in the hotel and the cool things near us.
Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We've stayed here three times in less than two years:

Oct 2012: First time ever in Chicago. Got upgraded from a standard room to a King Suite. We are forever spoiled for this set-up. Tons of room, helpful staff and the comfiest bed this side of the Kauai Sheraton (and that is saying something, trust me)!

July 2013: Fun in the sun for 4th of July! Had amazing weather and an even more amazing stay at Acme. Easy, peasy to hop on train to Wrigley. WIthin walking/biking distance of everything; Rush St. restaurants, Oak St. Beach, shops, etc. Can't think of a reason not to stay here, unless we're given a free room at The RItz!

Feb. 2014: During a big snowstorm we got stuck in Denver one night (NO fun at ALL) and then one night in Chicago. We kept thinking, why couldn't we get stuck in Chicago for 2 nights? We LOVE this city and this hotel. Unfortunately, we got in at 4:00pm and our flight out of O'Hare was at 5:45 am (curses, Spirit Airlines). Upon arrival, we literally threw our bags in the room and went straight out into the city to enjoy it for 4 hours before we had to hit the sack for our 3:00am wake-up call. FYI, kudos to the lovely door person who got us a cab at this ungodly, freezing cold hour.

We have another trip planned this December for Christmas shopping. Can;t wait to see Chicago in all it's holiday glory!

Room Tip: King Suites are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hey Hey gail245! Thank you so very much for the trio of great reviews! We love hearing from guests that stay with us regularly and i'm so glad to hear that your three stays with us topped all of your expectations. See you in December!
P.S.- The city is gorgeous that time of year with all the decorations so i'm positive you'll love it!
Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The ACME Hotel is located in a fantastic area just a couple of blocsk from Miracle Mile and walking distance from the river. The staff was friendly and the complimentary morning coffee was awesome. Rooms are clean and the hotel itself was lovely. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hello Azy03. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We have a great little location here and it's awesome that you were able to take in all the sights! Thanks again and hopefully catch on your next trip to Chi-Town!
Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our first introduction to the Acme Hotel was meeting one of its employees on the subway from Midway. Patrick must have thought we looked lost and asked if we needed help as it turns out we were staying at his place of work! He guided us to hotel. It was very kind of him! Check in was super easy. The room was spacious and clean. The only turn off was when we asked for some help and John who was at the front desk came off condescending and not very helpful. Overall the rest of the staff was helpful and nice.We really enjoyed Chicago and the Acme hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hey there Vanny L! You never know who your going to bump into on our cities "L" trains. So cool Patrick was able to give you a hand over to the property and i'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time your in Chicago!
Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,576 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing