We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky & Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #26 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Funky & Functional”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 night stay at Acme. We too had read the reviews and they were spot on. The location is perfect especially if you like the combination of access to great food, bars and shopping. The room is a perfect size, granted smallish but no issue given the delights Chicago has on offer. The cool design, quirky info guides, massive TV and wifi all combined to make the stay so enjoyable. The only issue we experienced was the hallway can be a little noisy if your room runs along it, but it was a very minor issue. Near North really comes. to life at night and Acme means a 5 minute walk to lots of attractions. Although touristy we had a great night at Howl at the Moon a few blocks away likewise House of Blues - be sure to check in advance their upcoming line ups (eg Kings of Leon were playing when we visited but it was a sell out). The Mag mile is a few blocks away and it is a very easy 15 walk to the Loop and Theatre district. We have no hesitation in recommending Acme - it is simply the perfect base for time in the Windy City.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,394
    917
    196
    63
    34
See reviews for
665
1,462
231
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I went to Chicago for my bachelorette party and we had a great time at this hotel. Rooms are very modern and different, they were clean and we recieved a very good service.
Location was excelent we could go almost anywhere walking or find a cab really fast. Facilities are just fine but don´t expect anything fancy. There is free coffee and tea a the entrance.
Is a great hotel to go with friends and enjoy the great city of Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_AL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect for the long weekend my boyfriend and I spent in Chicago.

Although we arrived early and our room wasn't ready, the staff was really speedy about getting our luggage stowed away so that we could go out and explore the city. When it was time to check in, we barely had to wait at all and were able to jaunt right up to our room.

I will admit that the difference between "Very Good" and "Excellent" for me was the view from our window. We didn't want to stare at the grey, sunless side of a building, so we just shut the curtain and that was that. Also, as others mentioned, it's pretty dark in the hallways and rooms. If you want to be positive about it, at least the sun doesn't wake you up at the crack of dawn! For me at least, those were both pretty small detractions since we weren't planning on sitting around the hotel room much anyway.

The decor is definitely not for the faint of heart, but I loved it. Our room had black walls with a zipper painted up it, and a red glowing kissy mark on the mirror. My favorite features of the room were the little table and booth-style seat. This area was perfect for our magazines, books, maps, and also eating breakfast and snacks in the room. The bed was also super cozy with a ton of pillows. I got sick one day while we were there, and since I was in the room it was nice to have a giant TV.

The location is great and very close to Grand station on the Red Line, so we were able to get around the city very easily. I plan on coming back to Chicago and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're picky about your view, definitely spring for one of the City View rooms. They overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Like the attitude of the staff very much, great little bakery in lobby. Location was wonderful. Television was unusually amazing. Will stay again. We didn't use the bar but it looked quite fun. They offer free coffee at your door each morning.

Room Tip: Be sure to order knock and drop ( free) coffee at night otherwise it takes a very long time to arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is located right in the middle of the city. We were able to walk to just about everything!
The rooms were small- but who cares. We had plenty of space to put our bags and clothes.
The beds were VERY comfortable! The hotel was "swanky" and lots of fun. The bar downstairs was super cool- and I loved that fresh coffee was delivered in a thermos to our door every morning. (you just have tell the front desk what time you want it.) Also- the windows had blackout shades so we could sleep in!!

Seriously- FANTASTIC experience.
Within 2 blocks there are 2 great restaurants. EGGSPERIENCE was on Deerborn and Ontario (I think) AWESOME Breakfast when you're a little hungover! Huge menu- and they serve breakfast all day.
Giordano's Deep Dish pizza was maybe 3 blocks away on Rush street. It's an hour wait- BUT SO WORTH IT!!! (make sure you pre-order your pizza when you check in- then it's ready as soon as you are seated.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMR_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Location was perfect for us! The room was on the small side, however, it is a boutique hotel and we only slept there. The rooms are trendy and hotel is clean.There was fresh coffee in the lobby when we arrived. The parking was convenient. I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the ACME Hotel for a Trade show in Chicago. It has a nice atmosphere Pleasant staff and rooms were very comfortable. Free coffee delivered in the morning and close to many places to eat. Bar in the lobby was friendly. I would recommend a stay at the Acme anytime.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,521 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing