We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #26 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm so impressed with this small, cool boutique hotel. It's in just the right spot for shopping, night life, visiting Chicago attractions. You can walk everywhere. The service provided by the staff is great plus the bakery associated with Acme has DELICIOUS pasties and other food items. I have yet to have a treat which I didn't enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breadcrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
There are newer reviews for ACME Hotel Company Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,121 - 3,127 of 3,694 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

So cool just like everyone else has said.
And we are in our 50s.
Brilliantly located, two blocks of Michigan (the Magnificent Mile of shops starts or ends here) and a couple more blocks from the river and then Millenium Park.
Staff were very helpful.
Morning Joe was actually very good – we generally don’t like drip or percolated coffee.
Clever use of space meant that there was room for clothes to hang, bags to store, a good sized comfortable bed and lovely bathroom (good toiletries) with high rose head shower.
Elevators, lips on bathroom mirror, blackboards on doors – all so cool.
Loved it.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Quiet room at the back
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeHappyM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Accommodation was good and the staff helpful. We liked the boutique style decor. The hotel was in a great location within easy walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, navy pier, lake and river. Great restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice change from huge all rooms in all cities look the same hotels. My check in was easy, the room was not as small as I feared, it was clean, quiet and I enjoyed the decor. The location is ideal, expecially if riding the El - one block from the Grand Red Line stop. So many options as far as restaurants and shopping nearby. Don't hesitate to stay there. I was concerned that the shade screen wouldn't allow enough privacy, but they had a fantastic blackout screen behind it and I was able to sleep past the crack of dawn.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got it. Looking out the window, the only view was of a block wall, and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Clean hotel in a good location with a friendly staff and a few quirks. They have the delightful coffee service, but it is inconsistent: you have to remember to order it every day, and we had difficulty getting both our regular and decaf thermoses without calling in the morning. There were several non-working items in the room (the safe, the fridge, and later the toilet), but the staff was quick to get them fixed. The location was excellent and the restaurant is surrounded by some good restaurants and not far from excellent transit. I'd recommend it for the price and the location, but don't expect perfection.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_Holiday_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hello, On_Holiday_154,

Thanks for taking the time to give us some helpful feedback. I'm sorry to hear that some items in your room were not working. However, I'm so glad that our staff was so prompt in resolving those issues. I hope you'll visit us again soon for a much smoother stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here about 10 years ago when this was still a Comfort Inn and liked the hotel a lot then. Now when this has become the ACME hotel I love it! One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Very friendly staff, lots of cool details in the lobby, the hallways and the rooms. The free morning Joe delivered to your room at the time you decide is great. West Town bakery next door to the lobby has organic sandwiches, scones etc which is great. Beds were really comfortable and everything was very clean. And wifi is free! The hotel is also very close to Michigan Avenue, State street and lots of restaurants. Unfortunately we could only stay here one of the three nights we spent in Chicago because it was already fully booked the other nights. For upcoming Chicago trips this hotel will always be my number one choice! Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsmom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hello, williamsmom08!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the ACME so much. I hope next time you come to Chicago, you'll be able to stay with us a little longer! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Self-parking garage right next door on Ohio, Acme is perfect for getting around on foot - House of Blues, all the great theaters Goodman, Chicago Oriental, Bank of America, Cadillac et al within a few blocks - Michigan Ave, Rush Street, Gold Coast, River North - great restaurants/bars all around, Berkshire Room bar at the Acme is very cool. Discreet knock at the designated time in the morning left a carafe of good, hot coffee outside the door (only enough for 2 cups, would have been nicer to have a bit more). Highly recommend the Acme - we stay in Chicago whenever we attend a concert or play, so glad we've discovered the Acme, it's now my favorite overnight place in the city at the value/price that's perfect for us.

Room Tip: Though Ohio street is pretty quiet late at night/early morning, the street noise can be heard from t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
2,540 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $115 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing