We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Alcala De Henares, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We found a good rate for this hotel and were'nt very sure of what we will find.
It's in a fantastic location, we walked everywhere! Complimentary coffee and wifi worked perfectly.
The room was clean and cozy. We even had a microwave and a small freezer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,316
    899
    191
    60
    34
See reviews for
638
1,425
223
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The husband and I generally stay at the Swissotel on our bi-annual trips to Chicago (and we still love them) but we were so very impressed with the Acme Hotel. Booked our room using Hot Rooms (as the majority of Chicago rooms were popping up in the $300 range) - we were in Chicago for our wedding anniversary. Received a nightly rate of $185. Check in was with Sondra who was incredibly friendly and personable (she provided several great recommendations to us over the course of our stay)! The vibe of the hotel is boutique and funky. Loved the records on the elevator wall. It took us a few trips up and down to realize that that the albums on the wall were the artists playing over the elevator muzak. The rooms were fairly comparable to room sizes of the the hotels we have stayed in San Francisco or London. Since we were not traveling with our child - the smaller size was fine -- we were not in the room for most of the time - so why a big room. Bed was very comfortable. The husband greatly enjoyed the relaxing shower. Loved the chalk board on the door. However if you write any sort of funny Walking Dead reference (Don't Open Dead Inside) -- your housekeeper will not come and clean the room (or provide towels) HA! The knock and drop coffee is really a super awesome bit of customer service. I LOVE THIS SERVICE. Plus the coffee was pretty all right too. Oh we faced the alley (not the street) and yes - it was dark - but you know what - it did not really bother us in the slightest.

Love this hotel and will be recommending it to all of our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello, Durandrea!

It's wonderful to hear that the ACME made your favorites list. Thank you for telling us what you loved about your stay. A note on the elevators just for your information: all of the albums displayed come from the owner's personal collection. Isn't that neat?

I'm glad you were able to get creative with the chalk board on the door. I must admit, I chuckled at your Walking Dead comment. Great reference!

Lastly, I'm so glad you were able to enjoy our Morning Joe service as it is something we're very proud to offer.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd absolutely love to have you back next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I chose the hotel based upon its convenient location and good rates. My room was quite a decent size (by Chicago standards). Rooms appeared newly refurbished and well equipped. My 17" laptop did not fit into the safe but anything smaller certainly would. I wasnt fussed by the style of the decor but it wasnt so outlandish as to be a bother. The complimentary bathroom products were lovely. Views are only of the parking lot across the way so unfortunately nothing special. Staff were friendly and helpful. My room was by the elevator and there was some noise audible from there but I only noticed it when I was already awake. I would stay here again in the future,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a great time in this little boutique find that used to be a Comfort Inn. We got a good weeknight deal through their website for a king room - the decor is new, feels lofty, and they definitely try to make things more fun and hip at this hotel. Check in was smooth and friendly, our room and bathroom were a good size with a built in table and booth seating as well. Free wifi and morning thermos of coffee (you let them know the night before when you want it delivered) were also good. Our room didn't have a closet, which wasn't a big deal for us, but might be if your stay is a longer one. The gym was small but well equipped, and we didn't get to use the hot tub or sauna in the basement. Location can't be beat. Overall a great little stay and I'd definitely recommend this cute hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a quieter room, so we got one facing an inner courtyard rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi, d_p_richards!

Thanks for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the ACME. It's great to hear that you'd recommend us to others, and we certainly appreciate it! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the location (so close to everything except the Museums), but fell in love with the fun decor. We had our granddaughter with us and she loved it! It is only about half of a mile from the American Girl doll store. Pizza Uno and Due are just a block or two away, as well as Potrillos (the Chicago Hot Dog). My granddaughter's favorite restaurant was the Rainforest Cafe (2 blocks away), and just around the corner is the Hard Rock. There is also a Trader Joe's a block away. I had a little trouble with the woman at the front desk when we first checked in (English was not her first language), but Captain Carl came to our rescue and saved us. He stored our luggage until we could go to our room and gave us instructions on how to use the adjoining parking garage. The beds are super comfortable. All the apple plugs and free WiFi. Because we had our granddaughter, we opted for a room with 2 Queen beds instead of the normal single King. Our room cost about 30 more, but we had a seating area and a wet bar with a microwave and fridge. Well worth it. Don't forget to look for the trapeeze performers in the courtyard while you are there! Also, don't forget about the free thermos of coffee delivered to your door each morning - it was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skbroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Several of my college friends and I had a girls weekend trip to Chicago this past spring and stayed at the ACME. What a delight! This hotel could not be in a better location. Just blocks for the Magnificent Mile, we walked to most sites we visited throughout the trip! Literally one block from RPM Italian for any of you Guliana and Bill fans! The free breakfast was HUGE and filling. The hotels decor is quirky and fun. We had ZERO noise issues. Another perk: they let us check-in early so we didn't have to lug our suitcases around the city the first day we arrived. The concierge was super helpful as well. I would definitely stay there again when I head to Chi-town! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, higher up. Our room was high, but interior so our view was a parking garage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello, Jamie D!

Thanks for the fantastic review! And thanks for choosing the ACME for your girls trip to Chicago. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so accommodating. Please visit us again next time you're in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for a conference that was held in Chicago, checked in on Saturday and checked out on Wednesday. I booked the hotel well in advance, at least 6-7 months, and from what I can remember the price was very fair. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful right from the start. While we were there the restaurant/bakery addition was not completed so unfortunately we missed out on that. The free wireless came in handy and the room was a perfect size for just one person. Comfortable bed in the room although the lack of closet threw me off a bit but considering the size of the room, I'm not sure where they would put one. I loved the bathroom and the artistic touches, I didn't really care for the shower-head though. You can't move the direction of the water very well and the pressure isn't the greatest. The location was perfect though, walking distance to everything that we needed. I absolutely recommend this hotel, give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuseGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,502 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing