We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Urban Industrial Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #30 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the location (so close to everything except the Museums), but fell in love with the fun decor. We had our granddaughter with us and she loved it! It is only about half of a mile from the American Girl doll store. Pizza Uno and Due are just a block or two away, as well as Potrillos (the Chicago Hot Dog). My granddaughter's favorite restaurant was the Rainforest Cafe (2 blocks away), and just around the corner is the Hard Rock. There is also a Trader Joe's a block away. I had a little trouble with the woman at the front desk when we first checked in (English was not her first language), but Captain Carl came to our rescue and saved us. He stored our luggage until we could go to our room and gave us instructions on how to use the adjoining parking garage. The beds are super comfortable. All the apple plugs and free WiFi. Because we had our granddaughter, we opted for a room with 2 Queen beds instead of the normal single King. Our room cost about 30 more, but we had a seating area and a wet bar with a microwave and fridge. Well worth it. Don't forget to look for the trapeeze performers in the courtyard while you are there! Also, don't forget about the free thermos of coffee delivered to your door each morning - it was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skbroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,319 - 3,325 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Several of my college friends and I had a girls weekend trip to Chicago this past spring and stayed at the ACME. What a delight! This hotel could not be in a better location. Just blocks for the Magnificent Mile, we walked to most sites we visited throughout the trip! Literally one block from RPM Italian for any of you Guliana and Bill fans! The free breakfast was HUGE and filling. The hotels decor is quirky and fun. We had ZERO noise issues. Another perk: they let us check-in early so we didn't have to lug our suitcases around the city the first day we arrived. The concierge was super helpful as well. I would definitely stay there again when I head to Chi-town! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, higher up. Our room was high, but interior so our view was a parking garage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hello, Jamie D!

Thanks for the fantastic review! And thanks for choosing the ACME for your girls trip to Chicago. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so accommodating. Please visit us again next time you're in the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for a conference that was held in Chicago, checked in on Saturday and checked out on Wednesday. I booked the hotel well in advance, at least 6-7 months, and from what I can remember the price was very fair. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful right from the start. While we were there the restaurant/bakery addition was not completed so unfortunately we missed out on that. The free wireless came in handy and the room was a perfect size for just one person. Comfortable bed in the room although the lack of closet threw me off a bit but considering the size of the room, I'm not sure where they would put one. I loved the bathroom and the artistic touches, I didn't really care for the shower-head though. You can't move the direction of the water very well and the pressure isn't the greatest. The location was perfect though, walking distance to everything that we needed. I absolutely recommend this hotel, give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuseGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a vacation. The hotel is centrally located, most of the places are within walking distance. Lots of restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. The room was small but adequate for our needs as we returned to the hotel late at night. The hotel has undergone renovation and our room was well furnished and the bathroom had upgraded plumbing. We were on the third floor overlooking Ohio street so there is some noise from the street, however it did not bother us. There is free morning coffee service called the Morning Joe delivered to your doorstep with a knock on the door. One day they missed the delivery but a phone call to the reception corrected the situation. There is Berkshire Room, a bar that seemed to be quite busy in the evening but we did not try it. There is also a breakfast service from the bakery on location which will deliver baked goods to your room, however we did not try it. There is a supermarket 50 yds from the hotel and also a Starbucks. All he staff were very helpful and friendly especially Captain Carl. He helped to book the Architectural river cruise which was very enjoyable. We recommend this place for anyone who plans to visit Chicago for sightseeing and needs a basic room at a central location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karibu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks, Karibu13, for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy your stay at the ACME. I'll be sure to pass along your great comments to Captain Karl; I'm sure he'll appreciate them! We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were in Chicago for a wedding on Labor Day weekend....Captain Carl andthe entire staff v wa s very helpful in getting us situated in our room and helping us with weekend plans...The hotel itself is just a cool edgy experience enjoyed the unique decor, had friends over to enjoy the atmoshere created in a great hotel....we had all the amenities, bed was super comfy the space is small but well used Perfect location in the midst of everywhere we wanted to be enjoyed the early morning coffee

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Acme. It was very well located for central Chicago, about a 10 minute walk from Millennium Park and only 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile.

We initially booked their cheapest room but then upgraded when we saw quite how small it was. For one night I think it would have been fine but we were in town for four nights so decided to spend more on one of their double-double rooms. The second room was pretty big with a decent sized bathroom and closet. The only downside about the room is that it was very dark - one side looked onto a car park and the other onto a dark courtyard.

The bedroom was very clean and the beds very comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

In short, I'd stay again if I returned to Chicago.

Room Tip: Double-double room is worth it for the extra space. Try to get one overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yeah, yeah, magnificent mile - whatever. Okay so maybe your town doesn't have a Zara, a Cartier and an Abercrombie, but those and their ilk in high density do not a cultural destination make. This is why you need Acme - it's a little oasis of cool. Thoughtful, lighthearted design, little attitude, smart touches here and there - and knock & drop free coffee at your door in the morning is just genius. And across the street is Pop's Champagne bar, two blocks farther is G&T Fish and Oyster, so really, you can keep your Mile! Acme staff were very pleasant, the room (we booked a suite because it came with a $50 Amex card) was clean, comfortable, well appointed (nice wet bar that is, as they say, not a profit centre but meant for convenience - $5 a beer) and the shower goodies are nice too. We really enjoyed our stay - was a great room to come back to, relax in and plan from. And come on, trapeze art in the 'courtyard' - that's just a smart use of a nothing space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKTO416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

DavidKTO416, thanks for the awesome review! It really was refreshing to read your perspective on the ACME. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we'll be seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,576 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing