We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quirky hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #27 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The ACME Hotel is definitely a trendy boutique type hotel which is exactly why we enjoyed it. Yes, the rooms are on the smaller side but are well laid out. We were king room on the 7th floor which had bed, two night stands, small table with bench and 2 stools, mini fridge and a large TV mounted on the wall. The modern décor was fun and we liked the red lips on the bathroom mirror. There was no view from the room. You looked out onto walls but the strategically placed trapeze artist (sculptures) in between them. Each room has a chalk board on the door that can be used to communicate with housekeepers when service is needed.

We arrived at 9:00 am and despite the hotel being sold out for days prior to our arrival and after we were able to check in immediately. What an unexpected bonus. The front desk personnel and the concierge were extremely friendly and eager to help.

The location was perfect. A few short minutes walk to Michigan Avenue, numerous restaurants, several jazz and blues clubs and about a 10 minute walk to Millennium Park. The L train (red line) is only a block away if needed.

It was also very easy to reach from the airport. We took the CTA (blue line from the airport) to Lake St and walked up State Street about 7 or 8 blocks to Ohio St. We took a taxi ($6) back to the blue line on our return trip to the airport.

The only negative thing was that our coffee wasn’t delivered one morning and we were using that as our wake up call. By the way the coffee is great.

Overall great place and great experience for a great price.

If you are a laid-back traveler you will love this place

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hi, ubish!

I am thrilled that you loved your stay at the ACME. I am so glad our staff was so helpful to you and that you were able to have an early check in. I am sorry, however, to hear that we missed your coffee delivery! My apologies, and I hope it didn't delay your day too much. Please come back again and let us make up to you! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,700)
There are newer reviews for ACME Hotel Company Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,171 - 3,177 of 3,700 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Relatively inexpensive for downtown Chicago (around $159/night) located 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile, a 10 minute walk from Millennium Park, and a 20 minute walk from the Navy Pier ,this hotel knows what it is and doesn't pretend to be anything else. While our room was on the small side, it was big enough to have a king size bed and small table coming out of the wall. It also boasted a 40" flat screen tv on the wall. The best part was the modern decor. You felt less like you were in a hotel room and more like you were in your own room at your house. The only negatives I can say about the hotel is that during our stay one of the 2 elevators was out of service, but its not a very large hotel and it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. And the view from the non deluxe rooms is of a rooftop generator, surrounded by walls However, they do have an interesting trapeze artist sculpture right in the middle of it all. However, I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. From the excellent location to the helpful staff to the unique, hip decor this place exceeded our expectations. I definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello, NJMatty!

Thanks so much for the fantastic review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the ACME as much as you did. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the out-of-service elevator. Luckily, it sounds like it didn't stop you from having a blast! Please come again next time you're in the city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were delighted, had a suite, it was perfect, all modern furniture and very trendy decor.
Did not expect a suite, paid for hotel room. Bonus.
Loved "diving figures" outside our bedroom window in the alley.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Little sort of coffee bakery shop attached to hotel.
Handy location at both ends of the street, heaps of eating places in area.
Couple who travelled with us got a room, it was just as good.
We were facing the street about 4 floors up, no noise from street.
They were doing a new reception area and it did not affect the niceness of the hotel, probably finished now.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed in this little hotel with plenty to offer. We will go back again. Not only is it a fun place to stay, but it is close to everything. You can walk, taxi, or take the subway, or hop on, off bus. My daughters, teen, & preteen granddaughters thought I was the hip mom, grandma for booking there. Loved the decor. Kind of klitzy, record albums in the elevator, canvas hand prints for headboards, backlit mirror in bathroom with lips as night light,so cool. Very comfortable room.Fridge, microwave, sitting area,huge smart t.v. Free wifi. Very friendly and helpful. Front desk on the ball. Housekeeping excelant. Karl & Alejandra were wonderful. Many places to eat around there. Plus bakery & bar in hotel. We had a wonderful trip. So glad I found this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, we did hear fire trucks & sirens. Didn't bother me.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank City G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks, City G, for the fantastic review! I'm so glad that you and your family loved your stay at the ACME! I'll let Karl and Alejandra know of your compliment. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Not my typical hotel choice, but the hotel was offering great rates and it appeared to be a perfect location for everything we had planned to do. Once we arrived, we knew that we had made the right choice—the guest services manager was extremely helpful.

Location: Right around the corner from the red line subway stop, a CTA bus stop, and the free trolley to the Navy Pier; not to mention a convenient walk to the riverfront and several local bars and restaurants. Very safe area, super convenient!

Rooms/Hotel: This place has CHARACTER! The elevators are covered with vinyl record covers and the music that plays is only from the records. Each room has a chalk board on the door that can be used to communicate with housekeepers when service is needed; or to be funny. The television screen was huge--I could probably have seen the picture without my contacts. The hotel did a wonderful job renovating an older building, and the rooms were very clean--you could not tell the true age of the building. The staff was wonderful--accommodating in every way and very genuine. After staying, I am so happy that we went "outside of the box" and tried something new!


Next time I go back to Chicago, I will stay at ACME Hotel Company!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBontheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi, LBontheBeach!

Thanks for the great review! I'm also glad you took a chance on us and loved it! We'd love to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

when you find an hotel room at a low price in a big city you often think there must be something really wrong with the set-up....except for Acme hotel in Chicago. Suberb and friendly service, beautiful room, perfect location....walking distance to everything....in the middle of an area that offers plenty of restaurant choices! Overall I would give it a 5 star if not for the noise from the construction of the new restaurant and the lack of breakfast option. This will all be settled as they were renovating their 2 floor for a new restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaBizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi, ElaBizz!

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the noise you experienced from the construction. However, I'm glad to say that both our West Town Bakery and Berkshire Room are both finished and worth the wait! Please visit again soon and let us know what you think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

When we realized that this hotel was located around the corner from the red line subway stop, 3 blocks from the Magnificent mile and within walking distance of everything, we knew this would be an awesome weekend in Chicago.
Yeah, the rooms are small, but totally practical. They make the most of the limited space and don't congest it with furniture. There's a bed, two nightstands, two lamps, a loaded fridge (for a price - will get to the in a bit), two stools to prop up your suitcases, wall hooks to hang clothes and, in this case, a small table and seating that was just perfect to plan our days. The bathroom - again on the small side - had a great shower and perfect water pressure. The TV was big and had all the channels any TV watcher would be pleased with. The view? Well, it looked onto a brick wall, but the best was the shadow of a woman's legs that came from the suspended mannequins. Quirky, but we loved it! Oh, and the bathrobes are sooo comfy - we regret not having purchased them when we left...
There are snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the room, but they were kinda pricey. The trick is to walk one block west to the grocery store and stock up. Aside from the coffee and optional breakfasts ordered at the front desk ahead of time, there wasn't room service. BUT, the Berkshire Room is a quick jaunt to the 1st floor. They make the BEST dirty vodka martinis I ever had and have a great tapas menu. It was great to stop in for a drink after a day of walking and exploring and before an amazing feast at one of the many good Zagat-rated restaurants - again, within walking distance.
If you are a laid-back traveler and don't mind a few hiccups (ex. they forgot our coffee on our last morning), you will love this place. If you are looking for something central, accessible either on foot or by subway, the ACME is perfect.

Room Tip: They have larger rooms fully equipped with a fridge and microwave. If you're staying longer tha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi, Canadian30!

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so glad you were able to enjoy your ACME experience! It's good to hear that you loved the mannequins outside the windows; that's our artistic way of livening up a dull view.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Berkshire room. You might be glad to know that soon they will be contributing to our Knock-and-Drop service by providing room service! Please visit again soon so you can tell us how it is (and we promise not to forget your Morning Joe again!)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 191 in Chicago
2,542 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing