We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An even better experience than last time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #29 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An even better experience than last time!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over last December and really enjoyed it. We decided to visit downtown Chicago again and chose the ACME once again. It was even better!

This time, we chose the more economic Standard King room. This room did not have a City View (like our first visit), and to be honest, I think I preferred this. I didn't choose this hotel because I could look at buildings from our room but because it is downtown and in the middle of a great district, with many places to shop and eat within easy walking. Also, because this did not overlook the streets, the room was much quieter, with much less street noise.

The bed was very comfortable with 4 large and fluffy pillows. The workstation is a perfect place to enjoy a breakfast or take care of some business.

The rooms (both this one and our first) are small, but not confining. The rooms (both) were very clean and well kept. The shower features a large showerhead on the ceiling and hot water! (That sounds trivial, but I have stayed in places where the shower never got really warm.) The toiletries are from Lather.com (the shampoo was Mint-Thyme with Bamboo-Lemongrass body wash. Really refreshing.

A few new features since we were last here: They now have a bakery with excellent cupcakes and other pastries, and opening just a few days after we left is what looks to be a wonderful cocktail bar (The Berkshire Room). I can't wait until our next trip to explore that!

We did not use the fitness center, whirlpool or sauna, but they are available, and as is everything else, are clean and well-kept.

The Knock and Drop coffee service is excellent (free coffee delivered when you want it and the coffee is really good!)

Take a ride in both elevators, which are decorated with LP covers. How many do you have? (We own nine of the LPs.)

Room Tip: Choose a standard room (no city view) for a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello, Trevor L!

Thanks for the fantastic review. Even more importantly, thanks for choosing us again! I'm so glad we could make your stay even more enjoyable the second time around. It's great that you were able to try West Town Bakery. Isn't it delicious?! The Berkshire Lounge finally opens this Friday, so I hope you'll stay with us again soon and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,226
    877
    183
    59
    33
See reviews for
606
1,374
217
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room itself was very small but clean and comfortable. The décor was cool. HOWEVER, the view out of the window was terrible (see shared picture below.) I was on the 11th floor and looking at an abandoned building with broken windows. They also overcharged my debit card by charging it for 4 nights instead of 1. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeedback7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
TravelFeedback7,

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the room and décor during your stay, despite your lack of a view. I think the City View Queen would have been a better fit for you. The room is situated at the front of the hotel overlooking Ohio Street.

I do apologize that your debit card was overcharged and for the inconvenience. I hope that when you alerted our front desk staff of the error, they resolved the issue immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Just loved the Acme Hotel. Arrived in June 2013 while in Chicago for a conference. Checkin was easy and efficient, room was nice and clean, staff was professional and corteous.

My only word of caution is that you must have a good sense of humor. This isn't your traditional hotel. It is an old property, has a
hipster vibe, and the rooms are a typical size for an older property. If your looking for the Ritz Carlton, this isn't your place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
AZFoodCritic,

Thanks for staying with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated everything the ACME is all about. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff is amazing and they are very accommodating. The rooms are great, especially the suites. They have everything you need, but are as simple and funky as possible. I love the decor! Every time i came downstairs, they staff knew who i was and helped me with anything and everything i had for them. The whiskey bar and bakery will be unbelievable additions. They weren't even open when I stayed at the Acme and I can only imagine what it will be like when i go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi, EmmaHHH!

Many thanks for the wonderful review! It's awesome to hear that our staff was so accommodating. We love to meet and get to know our guests. We're still anxiously awaiting the Berkshire Lounge (due to open next week), but West Town Bakery has opened and, let me tell you, it's scrumptious! You must visit us again soon and experience it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very good location, friendly staff and a innovative decoration.
I really would stay here again. Rooms are clean, large, confy beds, breakfast nice and it's located closer to the Mag Mile. The prices are a little bit high, but do not expect to pay less in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First, in full disclosure, my nephew works at ACME, but I would have been floored anyhow! What a great room! Two giant flat screens, a great king bed, a rainfall shower, and a view to die for. This place is amazing! The bad part is, I don't wanna leave!!!

If you have plans to stay in the city, the ACME won't disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great bathroom and extremely comfortable bed - and it was very clean. The room was a bit dark, but we didn't spend much time in there during the day. Loved the big flatscreen TV at the end of the bed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JacsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#54 of 189 in Chicago
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing