We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Comfortable Place to Stay in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #26 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, Comfortable Place to Stay in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Visited Chicago for four days, three nights in mid-July, and found a good deal for this hotel through Travelocity. That said, even without the deal, the price is great for a hotel right in the heart of the city.

We stayed in one of the standard king rooms (non-City View, so had a nice view of the parking garage next door, haha). Room was plenty big for two adults, in particular the bed (we both noted that it felt like we each had our own bed). No big frills, but none are needed - everything you need to be comfortable for an extended stay. Rooms were very clean, which was a great treat given some prior hotel stays on family vacations. We both noted we loved the hardwood floors vs. a more traditional but potentially less-clean carpeting. Wish there was more 'hanging' space, but unless you're doing an extended stay (more than 4-5 days) there's plenty there for you to use, including hangars, an ironing board and iron, and a few drawers. One nice perk was the thermostat in-room, which we were able to adjust to our personal preference (good in the heat of July).

The hotel definitely had a lot of 'quirk' factor, which is great if you're into that; gave the hotel a lot of character. Hotel staff (both front-desk and not) were incredibly friendly and helpful, from the moment we checked in to a post-stay call regarding some billing issues. I'm not sure if it is just a case-by-case basis, but of the five or six front-desk staff we met, all of them were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Can't say I agree with the negative reviews of the staff; either they're a bit more sensitive than we are, or the staff have cleaned up their act a lot since then.

The hotel is in a great location, one block from a red-line metro stop, and about three blocks from the Magnificent Mile, right in the heart of a lot of restaurants and jazz clubs. Grant/Millenium park is just a short train ride (or somewhat-short walk) away. Made for a great home base for our vacation and tourism, and easy to return to by bus or train.

We didn't make use all of the hotel's amenities, but we toured the hotel a bit on our first night and saw the gym (small, but effective), spa (really nice feature for a hotel in the heart of the city, given no pool), and lounges (one of which is temporarily serving a delicious free continental breakfast, soon to be replaced with a unique room service set-up). Same amenities of any traditional hotel (your Westin, Holiday Inn, etc.) but scaled down to the point that it's not overbearing.

Also, should note the huge TVs in the rooms - we didn't make use of ours once, since most of our time was out of the room, but it's there and chock-full of channels for you if you're into that. Includes Apple and HDMI connections as well for the more tech-savvy traveler.

In short, if you're looking for an affordable, comfortable place to sleep and act as a home base for you while visiting Chicago, ACME Hotel Company is a great place to make your stay. There are plenty of features for those who want to make use of them, but even if you don't (as we didn't) it's a comfortable place to stay with great access and at an affordable price. By no means a 'luxury' hotel, but if you're looking for that in the city, there are places with much higher price tags that I'm sure will better suit your tastes. For the rest, this is a great, affordable, comfortable place to stay on your visit to the city, and I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor, and noted that it was very quiet despite being full of travelers here f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,114
    831
    166
    55
    28
See reviews for
579
1,306
208
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Acme during the grand opening. Our room was exactly as pictured on the website and extremely tiny. The giant hand and lips were novel, but we were already tired of looking at them by the time we arrived. We booked a 'city view' room and got a view of the courtyard, making it always seem dark outside. The hallways were musty and in need of refreshing, but our room was very clean and the bathroom was nice. The location was great, but we considered it a one time only hotel. Worth checking out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Right now, Acme is a great hotel because it is affordable! It's in a great location for walking around Chicago: Magnificent Mile shopping, Navy Pier, river, etc. with easy access to transportation. The decor is really fun, which makes you forget about the small roomsize and view of a brick wall. I loved the morning jo delivery and the complimentary breakfast buffet. All staff were friendly and helpful.
A real negative is the in-room fridge that is not for guest use. It's stocked with expensive things to buy. If you have anything to refridgerate, you have to give it to the front desk. What an annoyance!
Overall, I give Acme a very high recommendation, as long as it continues to offer affordable rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Really different decor, very cool. Small hotel. Very clean. All the staff were extremely nice. It was also very quite,our floor was full but there was no noise from other guests at all. Only two or three blocks away from Michigan Ave. There is a full grocery store just a half block away, and a Starbucks and breakfast place very close. We did get a free breakfast with our stay, because of the construction (we didn't see any going on), they are adding a restaurant/bar in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor - very quite even though all rooms were full. Our bedroom window (we were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was in town for a conference but couldn't get the conference rate at that hotel. Found this gem and could not have been happier. Booked through hotels.com and paid less than I would have at the conference hotel. Room was a little small but very comfortable. Nice view out of the 13th story window of State Street and the Hancock Tower. Bathroom is slightly different with the glowing lips on the mirror, but I loved the shower! Great breakfast got me going. Staff was very helpful, let me check out a little late since the conference went over. I would not hesitate to stay at the Acme again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Have just recently stayed at Acme in one of there studio rooms. Room was amazing very spacious. Staff were very helpful and the location is great. Very happy !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmmdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I love smaller, boutique hotels and had a great experience at this one! I was immediately greeted by extrememly friendly staff before I even got out of the cab. The decor is unique and different....Common areas: great painting behind the front desk, pipes as handrails in the elevator, painted doors, and chalkboards on the room doors (with a piece of chalk in each room to bring out your own creativity!). Rooms: painted zipper on wall, Lips nightlight in the bathroom, hardwood floors and the large handprint above the bed. The bed was super comfy with four large pillows (which made it hard to go to work in the morning!) and the sound system in the living room had great acoustics!

The location is perfect - not only in close proximity to my work meetings, but tons of great restaurants, shopping, the river and lakefront.

The only complaint I would have is the wait for the elevators. There are only two and they seemed to take a while during the busy hours.

I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing