We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great addition to Chicago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great addition to Chicago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago in a suite. So many great little features that really made it special. Very clean and modern. The location is fantastic. We walked to everything. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone coming to Chicago and looking for a fun, modern place to stay in River North.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    665
    130
    38
    24
See reviews for
441
991
151
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times under the Comfort Inn & Suites franchise. The ACME is a great new design concept: a vintage hotel building, but interiors with clean modern lines very nice amenities and huge flat screen TVs. This is a big step up, and it shows in a good way. There is still some transition going on, such as a new restaurant/bar and re-designed front desk layout. These yet-to-come features can only improve an already nice experience. The location is superb, just off Michigan Avenue, but close to all shopping restaurants and the Loop. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Suite, with living room, bedroom and bath. Really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi davidreece, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We are just now finishing the new front desk location and should be operational in the next week or so. The restaurant is scheduled to open this fall and we hope the Free Continental Breakfast in the interim helps while we don't have our restaurant. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Chicago visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here on business just a week after this place had converted over from a Comfort Inn, and boy was it converted.

Rooms: The room is definitely not what you're used to. No closet, probably for space, just some hangers on a rack on the wall. Not a problem for me. The shower is a waterfall shower, and the bathroom is nicely renovated as a whole. Perhaps the weirdest part of the room is a giant set of lips on the bathroom mirror that glow bright red when the light is off. Quite a unique night light. The bed is very comfortable, and the TV leaves nothing to be desired.

Service: Top-notch all the way. We had to arrive early in the morning, and they were more than happy to keep our bags for us while we spent the day exploring Chicago, ready for us when we got back to check-in in the afternoon. Same upon checkout. Front desk was incredibly friendly and more than happy to help with anything.

Breakfast: Breakfast at this point is just a place-holder for a restaurant to come later, but for the moment it's a free continental spread with pastries, fruits, and cereal. No hot items to speak of, but it's free.

Location: Only a block away from the Grand station on the Red Line. Quick access from there to either ballpark, and all up and down the Magnificent Mile. Only 4 blocks from Portillo's, Al's, and Gino's East. Perfect as far as I'm concerned.

Summary: Stay here.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor and had a view of just a brick wall. I'm told that from floor 15 you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sestevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi sestevens, thanks for sharing your experience with us and your title hits the nail on the head for what we are trying to accomplish here. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the closets are different with the open facing closet design. Thanks for noticing our service as we believe that is what makes a hotel truly great. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you need a Chicago Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just got home from a fun trip! First time to see Chicago and booked 2 nights at a great price, included breakfast. Rooms were clean, 42" plasma TV, comfy beds. Staff was awesome!! Location wonderful! Decorations so different only challenge was the size of room,but doable for a few days.

Room Tip: Check all web site for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmnkno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi nmnkno, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your experience here with us. The Free Breakfast is our way of accommodating our guests until the restaurant opens this fall, and I am happy you enjoyed it. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Chicago visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Unlike the other reviews I had a great experience. I had a huge room with a 42 inch plasma hd tv. The location is the best. One block away from Rush Street and the best bars. The Loews movie theater is 2 blocks away. No complaint what so ever. The price was right.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apbjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Apbjap, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and the 46" LED Internet Ready TV in your room. If you are ever back in Chicago we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I am a group leader and we needed to find a hotel fast (20 rooms for nine weeks!)as a hotel we previously booked fell through. Our booker suggested the Comfort Inn and Suites, soon to become the ACME. From the minute I spoke with the Sales Director, I knew our group would feel welcome. We checked in in April when it was still a Comfort, but they were very considerate of where and when they did construction. The rooms we got were already converted to the ACME Brand, and they are GREAT! Clean, very nicely decorated, and some pretty cool little extras!! The staff is very courteous and always ready to help. And the breakfast room on the second floor can't be beat!!!
Oh- and if that isn't enough, the area is perfect. Nordstrom and Bloomingdales home within a block!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Doug R, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we are so thrilled we were able to be your home away from home for your group. We do have a great location in the heart of River North surrounded by entertainment options and dinning options. Thanks again and we look forward to the next time you have a group here in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keego Harbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

When I arrived in Chicago, I was just a bit apprehensive about staying at the ACME. When I booked my room more than a month in advance, it was called the "Comfort Inn and Suites". When my family and i arrived it was literally in transition to the ACME Hotel.

I LOVED IT!!! My Family LOVED it. it was a different look and much different feel than the Comfort Inn and Suites. The new look reminded me of a very nice boutique, the colors are warm and trendy, the furninshing is comfortable and inviting. It looks amazing, The room was impeccable. bedding was first class, soft as mink, and a struggle to leave every morning.

There were few concerns when we first arrived in our room... "it was being painted", Management was made aware of the error and was able to obtain another great room for us.
I have learned in life that everything is based upon your decisions and your attitude. If both are good, you cant go wrong. ACME was the best decision for us. whatever concern we had, staffing, that included Eddie, Carl, Paven, two young ladies that were sweet and very kind were making our visit the best possible, I must have asked Paven a thousand and one questions. He remained peaceful, professional and was able to process our concerns. and elevate them when necessary.

The Manager of ACME, Bill, heard of our inconvenience, and called me personally Sunday morning to make sure any and every concern was addressed and resolved.

Because of their kindness, professionalisim, and compassion, we will visit ACME, often. I have fallen in love with Chicago ( this was my first visit), as well as the ACME. I had access to everything my family wanted to do.

Our reaon for visiting Chicago was to celebrate my daughters sixteenth birthday. She had an absolute ball, everyday was filled with excitement. Her joy cup is still running over. To return to the hotel of comfort and peace after a very very long day of sightseeing, shopping, a lot of laughter and oodles of fun and be able to walk to the Magnificent Mile, or across the street to Bloomindales home, or around the corner to Eggsperience for breakfast was the best choice of hotel for my family.

Thank you ACME for the memories. I am more than sure my family will never forget what a great time we had in Chicago , and the awesome staff that made our stay in Chicago five staff quality.

G.J.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geninice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Geninice J, thank you for your wonderful comments and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Chicago visit to help make some more Chicago memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#15 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
The James Chicago
#34 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing