We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, delicious food”
Review of Vincent

Vincent
Ranked #887 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Clark St
Transit: Berwyn stop on the L Red Line
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly service, delicious food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This BYO restaurant features friendly servers and tasty food. The waiter actually remembered us from a visit four or five months before, and remarked on several things we discussed at our earlier visit. The admosphere is lively, but still enough for good conversation. The fish meals have been excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great gin”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Vincent is a neighborhood gem. I probably went in with a negative attitude, as I was still mourning the previous restaurant in that space. It is a Dutch restaurant, so the food tends to be heavy. I have always been pleased with the selection and quality of the dishes. The selection of gins is impressive, and the bartenders really know how to show off the qualities of the different gins.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AharonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Going back”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Finally made it to Vincent - and finally got a table after several tries over the past year. A hipster twins vibe which can or cannot be fun depending on your mood. On a Friday we got a table without reservations at 9:30. There is a small area to wait by the bar.The bartender and staff are hipster cool and know their thing... is service their #1 concern... not sure but my partner and I had a nice dinner. The beet salad is amazing... thinly sliced beet with crunchy walnuts, creme faiche and lettuces. The lamb burger - I ordered without a bun - was meaty and tasty. I would ask for mine to be a little bit more well done but most people would like it medium. The burger comes with the best frites every. McDonalds gone gourmet... with a nice aioli dipping sauce. I would go back for both salad and entree. Alas, my dining partner is thin as a rail and does not like dessert. I suspect that dessert would be good. Drinks are strong. The homemade glog was interesting but not for dinner.... after dinner with cookies or dried fruit and nuts, yes. Prices were what to expect in Chicago... drinks might be a little high. I will be back despite the noise and sometimes crowded room. Good decorations and ambiance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wittenbergbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wow. Talk about shooting yourself in the culinary foot. A ncie space in a great location, decent food, all completely undermined by the worst service I have experienced in years. Long wait for the menu, longer wait to order, even longer wait for food. Tried to order a second glass of wine. Forget it! It was almost a joke. And it was painfully obvious that this was all due to a painfully understaffed establishment. The owner is trying to save money on labor, and his restaurant is dying because of it. The food could have been better, and since it arrived cold, it could have been hotter. Cold Eggs Benedict!! Ha! Good bye and good luck.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy european style bistro.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

No longer a truly Dutch-inspired menu, with the exception of some drinks, Vincent now presents a not-unappetizing but definitely weirdly chaotic collection of cuisines - from Belgian mussels, to a lamb burger, to starters inspired by farm-to-table. Unfortunately, the chaotic nature of the service was not nearly as easy to overlook. The Dutch drink of genever was served with pickled herring repeatedly scooped out of a jar bare-handed by a fellow who appeared to be a manager. Eww!! Our waiter would look at our tiny table piled with mussel debris and not bother to get it cleared. More than once we had to grab the food runner as she tried to give our food to others. Basically, they seem to work hard but lack common sense. The 'very good' review is mostly because of the hard-to-find golden coziness of this tiny place. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trippinlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincent also viewed

 

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing