We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but Crowded”

Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 346 Coffee & Tea in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
GLENMOORE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but Crowded”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Expect a crowd regardless of when you go. Large menu with good food. Service was quick and friendly. A little noisy but not so that it ruins your experience. For a city restaurant, prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,202
    759
    189
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go During the Week If You Can to Avoid the Crowd”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our hotel was very close so we decided to try the Wildberry Cafe. I had read that it was very good and had added to to the list of 5 places to go for breakfast (which was not included at our hotel). We went on a Saturday, waited in line with dozens of others, and returned two more times. The service is fast and friendly. The food is hot and tasty. The coffee is poured liberally. What more could you ask for in a breakfast meal. I tried the spinach Bennie and recommend the hollandaise sauce on the side. It was a LOT and very rich. Good thing I asked for the fruit and not the potatoes. I also had plain poached eggs one morning and the waffles on another day. Everything was good. Of course, I didn't need lunch!!!

On our second and third trip (Monday and Tuesday) there was no line-up and we were seated immediately. If you can, go during the week so that you can linger over your coffee and maps without feeling guilty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevieveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My hubby and I had breakfast here during our anniversary trip to Chicago and had heard great things. We were not disappointed. I had the cinnamon apple waffles which were delicious and my hubby had the berry bliss waffles which were so much better. The atmosphere is great, a clean and casual setting. The service was good and we left very stuffed. It wasn't very expensive either. I would definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNewlyWedFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Only downside to this place is that you will almost certainly have to queue for a table. The food is incredible. If you are in Chicago more than one day you will want to keep coming back here day after day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hearty pancakes:)”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I thought the pancakes were awesome, service is good, there is a long but organized line since it is a very busy place, at least when I went:)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgems_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing