We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A year later, my kids STILL talk about this place.”

Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe
Ranked #2 of 109 Coffee & Tea in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A year later, my kids STILL talk about this place.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

By far, the BEST breakfast we've had in a long time. Over a year later and my finicky children (ages 5 and 8) are still raving about the pancakes. The wildberry bliss panckaes are to DIE for, and the Mexican skillet could've fed an army (I ate the whole thing and passed on lunch that day). I'd suggest getting there very early (close to opening) as our familiy did. There was no wait; however when we left, there was a huge line out the door.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyrodtrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,275
    785
    200
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Long wait on Saturday Morning”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Four of us went to Wildberry on a Saturday morning. At 10:00 we had to wait almost an hour for a table. The breakfast portions are large and there are lots of choices. I had the chicken salad and strawberry bread. The chicken salad was very disappointing. There was way too much mayonnaise compared to the small tidbits of chicken. I would recommend trying the breakfast skillets or the pancakes instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!!! Best Breakfast and a meal for half the day!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I visited Chicago and found Wildberry very convenient to my hotel (just a couple of blocks south of the Hyatt Regency on Wacker. Therefore, my family and I ate there every day of the 4 days we were in town. There are so many positive things to say about Wildberry pancakes but do proceed with caution a few minor things. 1) It’s popular, therefore it does get crowded. You MUST plan accordingly. The first morning we woke up late and ended up there at 10am on a Monday – this restaurant within an office building, therefore you have the building’s employees coming in between 8 – 10am. I was advised by my waitress to try to come before 8:30, otherwise, there will be a wait. The next 2 days I got there between 8:30-9 and had a 10-15 minute wait. 2) This is not Denny’s and you will not pay $3-4 for a grand slam meal with everything… expect to pay approx. $10 per person. The children’s menu is a little limiting and portions a little too small, so we ended up ordering off the regular menu. For our family of 4 - 2 adults, 2 kids, coffee and oj for the kids – we were spending about $55-$60 a day on breakfast. The flip side is that the food was so good and hearty (but never felt weighed down) that we ended up skipping lunch each day, so we got 2 meals for the price of one. 3) Best value (in my opinion) is the egg plates with a side of pancakes in lieu of toast. This way you can have the best of both – protein with 2 pancakes (their specialty pancakes are $2 more). This is so much better than getting a stack of 5-6 pancakes alone. The best pancakes we had Cinnamon Roll and Berry Bliss (their specialty) see photos. My son LOVED the Waffles with glazed cinnamon apples. My 7 yr. son is a little picky and he DEVOURED these waffles; I have never seen him enjoy a meal as much as this one. The service each day was great, the food came out in a timely manner and was hot upon arrival. If I go back to Chicago, I would definitely start my day out here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mmmm.... so good!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

How can breakfast be this good!? Not your run-of-the-mill breakfast spot. The selections will satisfy the hungry. I enjoyed the garden skillet.....filling and delicious.....yes, vegetables for breakfast! We went for breakfast on two different occasions. Both times we were extremely happy with our tasty meal. I really wished we had tried their lunch. The mid morning wait can be 30 min. on the weekend. Whereas a weekday seating is entirely different. The staff is attentive, polite and happy. Nothing like starting our day with a happy experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willowrun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food is really good. Butcher block sizzlin skillet was the best breakfast I've had in a long time.
Visited at 9am midweek, the place was busy, but still had free tables. Service was good. Staff friendly. Restaurant is easy to find.
Would visit again, if we get back to Chicago

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastkingHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing