We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Great Location”
Review of Longman & Eagle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longman & Eagle
Ranked #8 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights last week.

The room was clean and comfortable--good value for your money, and, while you could hear people from the bar and eating dinner outside, it didn't keep us awake.

We ate breakfast there both mornings and it was delicious.

The bar was fun, and we got reservations for dinner our second night--we had great food.

The location of L & E is right by the Blue Line--very convenient, and L & E is in Logan Square so it is close to Revolution Brewery, Scofflaws, and other good places to eat and drink.

We'd definitely stay at Longman & Eagle again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11nancy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I still feel a little guilty at staying here for the price. The rooms were stylishly furnished, extremely comfortable and so, so cheap. We're not used to ultra-hip places that are also accommodating, comfortable and affordable. You need to stay here before the yuppies drive the prices up. Some reviewers have noted noise concerns. We were in the cheapest room, quite close to the bar/restaurant area. We noticed some noise, but it certainly didn't affect us - and my partner is a very light sleeper. Also - this is a great location for travellers as it's right near a train station that goes direct to both the city centre and airport.

Oh and there's lotsa whisky downstairs...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I couldn't WAIT to get home and write a review! Everything about L&E was so completely amazing! My husband and I stayed in room #4 which was the perfect size for us and not directly above the bar. (No matter which room you choose, if noise bothers you, this is probably not the right place for you. We loved it though!) The decor is quirky with an urban/green feel - the room was also very clean. The location is perfect - right across the street from the Logan Square stop off the Blue Line El. The staff was SO friendly - all smiles - completely helpful! Deerok, the bartender, is probably the best in the city and could start a sober man drinking again with his quirky cocktails. The brunch is to die for! As long as there's a room available, this will be my Chicago stay place. LOVE!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeAnne-O-Rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a find. so easy to get to downtown chicago on the El/subway.
The rooms were very clean and nice and sparse. had everything we needed and then some. Lots of snacks and liquors for purchase in the room. Interesting fun decor.
We had dinner one night at the restaurant below and had heard the food was good. an understatment. the food was fabulous. and the place is packed, but when you're staying in one of the 6 hotel rooms, you get a reservation (no one else can make reservations!!!) so we had a great table and wonderful food. The next morning we again had a pleasant dining experience before we left. Breakfast was yummy and filling. The place does a booming business and there's a reason for that. very good, would stay there again and eat there again if ever back in chicago.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The place is very nice and clean. We love Logan Square so its a bonus to be able to stay there instead of in a downtown hotel / neighborhood. We stayed on a Wednesday and the noise from the bar was not too loud at all but you can hear it so if thats a concern it might be better to stay elsewhere. Also there is no real staff to serve you. You have to go to the bar downstairs if you want say, an extra pillow so if you are looking for that kind of service it might benefit you to be in a bigger hotel. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagotraveler077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a fantastic evening at this casual whiskey bar in Logan Square. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but that's part of it's charm! Inside it's dark, warm and rustic with a lively atmosphere. We are beer drinkers and they have an extensive list of excellent beers on draft. After we ordered our beers we were very happy and feeling that as long as the food was decent we would be content.
When the food came it blew our socks off!! All four of us were delighted with our meals - inventive but not weird, well prepared and extremely tasty! We were all particularly in awe of my husband's Pork Shank, which looked like something the Flintstone's would be eating, a huge bone upright on the plate with a lot of delicious meat!
Love this place and wish we lived in Chicago so we could frequent it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattlered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First of all, this is well worth the trip out of the loop. This place is a gem, in the Logan Square neighborhood full of great restaurants. This place has a Michelin star, and you can't say that about many of the pricey restaurants in the loop. The food is truly gourmet and high-quality. The plates are thought-out to the last detail, the ingredients are fresh, local and creative and you can try some cuts of meat you might not normally try or make at home. The menu is always changing. If you are in a hurry, you should come another time, b/c there are no reservations and the wait can be easily over an hour. It is small, and has a great European vibe, can be noisy. The tables for two are very close, you will not have a lot of privacy if that is a concern. The drink list is fantastic, and you can also eat at the bar where you can see the endless bottles of whisky - another thing they are famous for. I've been for brunch and dinner, everytime I'm in Chicago I go here. I

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey Hall
The Robey Hall
#109 of 192 in Chicago
80 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rogers Park
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 60 in Chicago
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longman & Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longman & Eagle

Address: 2657 N Kedzie Ave, Chicago, IL 60647-1607
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longman & Eagle has six rooms available for overnight stay, casual yet considered offerings that seasoned travelers will appreciate when looking to immerse and initiate themselves within the fabric of a bustling, vibrant urban enclave. Our rooms vary in both price and proportion, but aesthetics, comfort and function are manifest throughout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing