We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for breakfast”
Review of Avenue M

Avenue M
Ranked #1,757 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: Reflecting its fashionable surroundings inside The Allerton Hotel Chicago, M Avenue is a stylish dining spot open for breakfast and lunch, with daily lunch specials, in downtown Chicago. Sophisticated and chic, it's the perfect place to meet for creative seasonal cuisine and cool ambiance.Enjoy savory, progressive American fare complemented by contemporary design featuring shades of gray and silver, subtle splashes of color, and a fireplace in the center. For a private gathering, groups of up to 12 guests can enjoy their meal in a secluded dining area.Looking for a little evening libation? Located adjacent to our restaurant, M Avenue Lounge features comfortable seating and complimentary WiFi. Order your favorite cocktail and get some work done, or meet with friends for some lively conversation by the fireplace.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good for breakfast”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Liked:
- Warm and friendly wait staff.
- Good food.

Disliked:
- A bit on the slow side to get coffee refills.
- Table wasn't cleaned prior to seating us.
- Cost

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank busyworkingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting since my prior stay - bad”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed once before and the room that one as given this time was not up to standards.

The room was narrow and a little bit smaller than the regular rooms so watch it if you get a room ending in 18.

The bathroom especially was bad. The towel ends were frayed. The sink area was not properly caulked. I thought it was going to fall apart. Even one small of the wall paper had yellow stains.

This was bad. At least that particular room.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Find another place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had breakfast there because we were staying at the Allerton and just needed a bite before the Shamrock Shuffle. Okay, you can't mess up oatmeal too badly, but the continental buffet was underwhelming. Fine. But then we went back for lunch and were sorely disappointed. It was difficult for the hostess to flag down a server, and then we were forgotten at our table. Finally another server took care of us, but the service was snail paced and somehow a steak salad turned into a steak sandwich, but still charged the same on the ticket. We found the food to be of average quality for the (high) price and there's lots of room for improvement in service here. With plenty of better eating options nearby, take your business elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place should be much better given its prices and location on Chicago's Mag Mile. The food was tasteless (lobster bisque was particularly disappointing); coffee was weak and cold. There was one wait staff for the whole dining room, so service was slow. We had to ask for water refills. When we sat down the busboy removed all the cups and saucers (???) and had to bring them back when I ordered coffee. Definitely would not recommend this place, especially given the nearby great competition.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“M Avenue Lounge at the Allerton Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The breakfast and lunch restaurant are alright for the price but there are many exceptional restaurants in this area for about the same price..easily reached by public transportation (always be alert with your belongings) --to Ohio/Ontario or walk a short distance to Rush. the mistake we made was to decide after a busy day of traveling to eat supper in the M Avenue Lounge....you are not allowed to eat in the acutal diningroom area. This area is closed off after lunch. The menu posted on the Allerton site on-line does not match the food on the menu...this was disappointing as we decided to eat here based upon the on line menu for dinner at the Allerton Hotel website. Once there, we were seated on high stools. The service was so-so, the food (we had ordered the highest priced entree) was nothing to exclaim about. The steak was tough. We were not even given salt and peppper on the table to season the food. The one positive event was the lounge was a good place to sit and talk-during the week they have low priced appetizers. We were excited about coming from out of town and eating here due to the history of the hotel. In the area we ate -on the high benches--the area had been modernized and little was left of the historical value. Over all --we will choose somewhere else next time. Please also note if you are out after 4 pm--petty crime is alive and well in the MIchigan Avenue area **as it is with other large cities throughout the world **. Don't let anyone- try to shine your shoes or drop something in front of you to distract your attention.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue M also viewed

 

Been to Avenue M? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing