We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was by far one of the BEST meals I have had!”
Review of Mia Figlia

Mia Figlia
Reserve with OpenTable
Mia Figlia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #838 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Machesney Park
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This was by far one of the BEST meals I have had!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a very cozy restaurant and a great date night place (although we attended with a group of 6 friends!) Head Chef Anthony created for us an exquisite meal that we could not resist tasting each others' dishes since they ALL were fantastic! I had the Rigatoni con Zucca e Maiale (pasta with slow cooked pork, roasted butternut squash, sun dried tomato, pancetta, roasted garlic and parmigiano cream sauce with toasted walnuts). It was an absolute PERFECT combination of flavors! Others at the table had the Risotto (cooked PERFECTLY), the Pollo alla Parmigiana, and the Maiale con Rapini e Prosciutto (roasted pancetta pork tenderloin with garlic whipped potatoes, sautéed rapini, fresh tomato, red wine sauce and topped with prosciutto) which was presented so beautifully that it almost felt guilty digging into it! Then we moved to dessert! Chef Anthony presented our table with a combination tray of all the desserts they offer and we quickly grabbed spoons but had the hardest time choosing where to start since it ALL looked sinfully good! The tiramisu was light, exceptionally tasty, and rivals the best of the best! The chocolate lava cake was moist and gooey in the center. I was willing to fight for the delicious espresso creme brulee, sooooo good! But I think my favorite was the SUPER delicious lemon tart! Probably the BEST I have EVER tasted! Our meal was simply fantastic and I can't WAIT to return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reyes4818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The food is really good. It's a great date place or you can bring the whole family! The food and wine is very reasonably priced!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chicago1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A new standby”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our party of four enjoyed every aspect of our meal at Mia Figlia. We found a metered spot on the street out front but later learned that there was free parking around the corner in a church lot. We wanted to try many dishes so each had a salad and one or more appetizers or side dishes. Portions were good and the bean dishes, particularly, were substantial. Vegetables, seafood, meat - all ingredients were fresh and handled with great skill. Wine, bread, coffee - all the accompaniments were excellent as well. I had the mussels which were in a yummy, unusual orangey broth. At dessert time we were full but they had olive oil cake on the menu - I have seen recipes and always wanted to try it so we all shared a serving. It was heavenly: moist, not too sweet, served with interesting garnishes. For a quality restaurant in Chicago the prices seemed reasonable - most or all entrees were under $20; smaller things in the $3-10 range. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Mia Figlia. We had Pizze Toscana,Tilapia and the seafood linguini. They were all very tasty,especially the linguini. The portions were generous, hence there was no room left for dessert! Good service as before. Plenty of parking in the front.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top-notch updated Italian cuisine”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Kudos to Chef John, a nice guy who is hands-on in every way, assuring you are enjoying your visit and meal. Had the pork tenderloin wrapped in pancetta and baked - a total treat, I have never tasted anything like it! Salads, appetizers, pastas, desserts were all excellent.
Going back asap.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mia Figlia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing