We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return”

III Forks Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
III Forks Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #699 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Benton Place
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great return”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit. I went against the grain and opted for scallops rather than a signature steak. I was not disappointed. I shared the III Forks salad which was more than enough for two of us. I added asparagus as a side. 5 Large scallops were excellent. my friends loved their lamb chops. Our waiter was like family. He made us feel at home and took great care of us. Another plus was their extensive bourbon list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    36
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Group Meal Pulled Off Well”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Dining in a private room with a sizeable group and limited menu is usually not the best way to experience a restaurant, but III Forks pulled it off beautifully.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only About a Fork and a Half”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Decidedly average for a supposedly upscale steak house in downtown Chicago. Limited menu, slightly overpriced, but excellent service. The walleye on the menu (not a special) was not available. My rack of lamb ordered medium came rare and wasn't very tender. Pepper steak was good, but the seafood dishes were mushy. Maybe we just hit it on a bad night. Also, if you're driving, use the valet parking since it's about half the price of the garage below and the restaurant doesn't validate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Salde49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were pampered a this restaurant. Our waitress Dilyana, is worth asking for. She made great recommendations and treated us like family. Extensive but affordable wine list. My wife loved the steak and I went for the lobster. Both were cooked to perfection. A definite if you are in the city.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ernierad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner for 20”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The service at III Forks was excellent. The staff was attentive and very polite especially for a group of 20 people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacey970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed III Forks Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to III Forks Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing